Amita Trasi The Color of our Sky

ISBN 13: 9780986155604

The Color of our Sky

4.13 avg rating
( 1,680 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780986155604: The Color of our Sky

**AWARD WINNING FINALIST - multicultural fiction - INTERNATIONAL BOOK AWARDS** **5 STAR RATING READER'S FAVORITE** "an extremely well written and engaging novel..the writing style is very lyrical, almost poetic at times, with vivid descriptions of people and places. This is the kind of book where the quality of writing shines through and makes it an enjoyable read in itself, and at the same time sends out a strong, positive social message. This is definitely a must-read book." - Gisela Dixon, READERS' FAVORITE reviewer "This is a beautifully written book, with a very believable, hard hitting storyline and well rounded, emotive characters. The pace of the story is just right, swinging between narrators seamlessly and portraying both young women's perspectives. It reminded me very much of Khaled Hosseini's work, with a similar amount of depth to issues being portrayed. Extremely moving read" - Beverly Crofts, Netgalley reviewer "Fans of Khaled Hosseini, Jhumpa Lahiri, and Lisa See will enjoy this first novel from Amita Trasi." Kirkus reviews: "A haunting debut novel about two young women in Mumbai that brings the brutal realities of modern India into focus....The descriptions and dialogue are rich and believable, particularly when Trasi writes from a child s perspective ( my thoughts would race along with the wind, crossing our village, whistling through mountains, between boulders and rocks, ruffling the leaves on trees, flying with the birds ). The story also takes on difficult subject matter, such as child abuse, HIV, and early mortality, with unflinching seriousness. Even Tara s interactions with the police demonstrate how chronic disorganization plagues Indian society, allowing countless youths to vanish into bordellos. The two main characters serve as symbols of the entire caste system, and Mukta s memory of her dreary village consistently reminds readers how rigid and prosaic many ancient traditions can be. Although both main characters must contend with destiny a recurring concept the story makes clear that there may still be hope for their children....A sad, soulful, and revelatory story about a deeply troubled nation in transition."--Kirkus reviews BOOK DESCRIPTION : A sweeping, emotional journey of two childhood friends one struggling to survive the human slave trade and the other on a mission to save her two girls whose lives converge only to change one fateful night in 1993. India, 1986: Mukta, a ten-year-old girl from the lower caste Yellamma cult of temple prostitutes has come of age to fulfill her destiny of becoming a temple prostitute. In an attempt to escape this legacy that binds her, Mukta is transported to a foster family in Bombay. There she discovers a friend in the high spirited eight-year-old Tara, the tomboyish daughter of the family, who helps her recover from the wounds of her past. Tara introduces Mukta to a different world ice cream and sweets, poems and stories, and a friendship the likes of which she has never experienced before. In 1993, Mukta is kidnapped from Tara s room. Eleven years later, Tara who blames herself for what happened, embarks on an emotional journey to search for the kidnapped Mukta only to uncover long buried secrets in her own family. Moving from a remote village in India to the bustling metropolis of Bombay, to Los Angeles and back again, amidst the brutal world of human trafficking, this is a heartbreaking and beautiful portrait of an unlikely friendship a story of love, betrayal, and redemption which ultimately withstands the true test of time.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

FROM A TALENTED NEW VOICE COMES A SWEEPING, EMOTIONAL JOURNEY OF TWO CHILDHOOD FRIENDS IN MUMBAI, INDIA, WHOSE LIVES CONVERGE ONLY TO CHANGE FOREVER ONE FATEFUL NIGHT . . .

India, 1986: Mukta, a ten-year-old village girl from the lower-caste Yellama cult has come of age and must fulfill her destiny of becoming a temple prostitute, as her mother and grandmother did before her. In an attempt to escape her fate, Mukta is sent to be a house girl for an upper-middle-class family in Mumbai. There she discovers a friend in the daughter of the family, high-spirited eight-year-old Tara, who helps her recover from the wounds of her past. Tara introduces Mukta to an entirely different world, and a friendship that soon becomes a sisterhood. 

But one night in 1993, Mukta is kidnapped from Tara’s family home and disappears. Shortly thereafter, Tara and her father move to America. A new life in Los Angeles awaits them but Tara never recovers from the loss of her best friend.

Eleven years later, Tara, now an adult, returns to India determined to find Mukta. As her search takes her into the brutal underground world of human trafficking, Tara begins to uncover long-buried secrets in her own family that might explain what happened to Mukta—and why she came to live with Tara’s family in the first place.

Moving from a traditional Indian village to the bustling modern metropolis of Bombay, to Los Angeles and back again, this is a heartbreaking and beautiful portrait of an unlikely friendship—a story of love, betrayal, and, ultimately redemption.

About the Author:

Amita Trasi was born and raised in Mumbai, India. She has an MBA in Human Resource Management and has worked with various International corporations for seven years. She currently lives in Houston, Texas with her husband and two cats. This is her first novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 12.99
US$ 63.92

Convert Currency

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Amita Trasi
Published by Bloomhill Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 0986155608 ISBN 13: 9780986155604
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomhill Books, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0986155608

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 63.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds