David Felder Chasm

ISBN 13: 9780988186316

Chasm

3.51 avg rating
( 37 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780988186316: Chasm

Michael Potter wasn’t born bad. If he lacked faith, it was because there was no one to teach it to him. As the child inexorably grew into a monster, an unsuspecting world became his playground. A phone call interrupts the Franklins peaceful Sunday afternoon. Jerry has to go to work to fix a problem with a cargo rocket, scheduled for launch that evening. Jerry’s wife, Sheryl, complains to no avail, while his son Dustin is disappointed to lose dad for the day. A lonely waitress entices a handsome stranger, Michael Potter, to a nearby spot in the desert: a rarely used missile launch area. She doesn’t suspect that Potter is a dangerous sociopath. At the launch site, Jerry doesn’t see the stranger sneaking up behind him. Potter attacks. They fight and the unconscious Jerry is locked in the cargo rocket as it is launched into space. Stealing Jerry’s car, Potter finds a picture of Sheryl. She reminds him of his first love and Potter decides he must have Sheryl at any cost. Meanwhile, Jerry, assumed dead by his family and coworkers, wakes up in the cargo rocket and wonders if he can survive. After weeks of stalking Sheryl, Potter realizes her son is going to interfere with his plan to possess her and decides he must kill the boy. Potter follows mother and son to a thrilling climax on the edge of the Grand Canyon. CHASM is a psychological thriller that would appeal to fans of Michael Crichton or Arthur C. Clarke. A little sci-fi, a lot of character and story, wrapped up in a fast-moving narrative that draws you in.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

David Felder was born and raised in New Jersey. CHASM is his first novel. He picked up his father's 8mm movie camera in 1970 at the age of 12 and began writing and making his own movies. The interests in film making and story writing grew through his teenage years and early adulthood. A graduate of Rutgers University, David started working in the broadcast news field, while continuing his writing. After a few years, he was hired to build a training video department for a large computer company. As head of the Video Production department at TRW, a multinational conglomerate, David wrote and/or produced almost 180 training videos with a staff of two technicians over the next ten years. The turning point in his corporate career came in 1987, when David was promoted out of the Video Production Department into a staff management position. Although he was still responsible for video production, a large number of additional management duties began to occupy his time and he felt himself growing further and further away from the creative work he enjoyed. In 1991, David left TRW and started his own company, Ryan Video Productions, where he could focus on writing and producing programs. When he's not writing or working, David enjoys traveling, reading and spending time in the company of the important people in his life. David is an avid scuba diver and can often be found in the Atlantic Ocean, somewhere off the coast of New Jersey, exploring shipwrecks, appreciating the beauty of the seas, or catching lobsters.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 12.99
US$ 19.55

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 8.00
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

David Felder
Published by David Felder (2012)
ISBN 10: 0988186314 ISBN 13: 9780988186316
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description David Felder, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 370 pages. 9.00x0.93x6.00 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0988186314

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.00
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds