Emerge: The Awakening (Volume 1)

4.1 avg rating
( 541 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780990981992: Emerge: The Awakening (Volume 1)

Fans of The Mortal Instruments will enjoy Emerge: The Awakening, Book 1 of the Urban Fantasy, Emerge series. 
-- "An unhurried but engrossing start for a potentially riveting paranormal series." - Kirkus Reviews
-- "This series is one to keep your eye on!" -YA Books Central
-- "An absolute must read for fans of Jennifer Armentrout, Lauren Kate, Josephine Angelini and Brigid Kremerer." -NetGalley Reviewer

Allie Carmichael has always believed life is simple.
You're born. You live. You die.
She has no cause to believe those rules don't apply to her.
All her life, Allie has suffered in silence as those around her shrink from her touch, too intimidated to take the time to get to know her. It's left her feeling like a pariah for fifteen years.
When an unexpected move to Kelleys Island brings Aidan McBrien crashing into her life, Allie is thrown by his reaction. He isn't affected by her touch. He doesn't stutter or make a quick exit. He smiles and welcomes her into his circle of friends.
For the first time ever, Allie knows what true friendship means. Finally, she has a real shot at normal--until "normal" crashes and burns when she wakes in agony on her sixteenth birthday. Aidan calls it her Awakening, a rite of passage he and their friends have all faced. Allie struggles in ignorance through the experience, uncertain of what is real and what isn't. When she emerges, she is different. She has always been different, but even among her extraordinary friends, she and Aidan are special.
As Allie struggles to maintain her tenuous grasp on the power that threatens to overwhelm her, she worries she will lose herself in this strange new world of ancient Immortal beings.
A dangerous world where she will have to fight tooth and nail to defend the power and freedom that is her birthright.
Join Allie and Aidan in this coming of age, urban fantasy set within our own world.
Emerge Awards:
2015 Dante Rossetti YA Awards Finalist 
USA Best Book Awards Finalist 
International Book Awards Finalist
Top 50 Indie Books of 2015

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Author:

Emerge is a product of years of work and a strong desire to create realistic, relatable characters. I am an avid reader of all things fantasy and I have a special love for the Young Adult genre in particular. BUT ... there aren't enough good examples of strong young woman in YA. That was one of my main motivations for writing Allie's story. 
As a reader, I grew frustrated with female leads who were either incredibly weak without their male counterparts, or they were the complete opposite as strong, frustratingly stubborn and jaded girls with their love interests trailing along behind them as a liability, offering little to the story.
I wondered where was the balance? Where was the example of equality and respect? Where was the actual-for-real girl power? So I wrote Emerge. Allie's story has morphed over the years, but that message of equality, strength and respect has always remained the same.

From the Inside Flap:

2015 Dante Rossetti YA Award Finalist 2015 International Book Award Finalist 2015 USA Best Book Award Finalist

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy Used View Book
List Price: US$ 12.99
US$ 121.10

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Craven, Melissa A.
Published by Midnight Hour Studio
ISBN 10: 0990981991 ISBN 13: 9780990981992
Used PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Midnight Hour Studio. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: Fair. 0990981991 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # POXM-0990981991

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 121.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Craven, Melissa A.
Published by Midnight Hour Studio (2015)
ISBN 10: 0990981991 ISBN 13: 9780990981992
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Midnight Hour Studio, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. Great condition with minimal wear, aging, or shelf wear. Bookseller Inventory # P020990981991

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 192.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds