Gravity Games: A Nathan Sherlock Foodie Thriller (Nate The Nose) (Volume 1)

4.31 avg rating
( 26 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780993754838: Gravity Games: A Nathan Sherlock Foodie Thriller (Nate The Nose) (Volume 1)

Fans of Sherlock Holmes and Harry Potter will appreciate the dark and delicious world of Nathan Sherlock. Known to adoring followers as “Nate The Nose,” the celebrity chef and sommelier’s preternatural sense of smell is behind his near magical culinary abilities. His dishes delight the palate but that's just for starters. His dining magic gives aged couples a hormone blast from the past, making them act and feel like randy teenagers. Unknown to all but his confidante Bonnie, his olfactory powers reach far beyond the kitchen – he can smell murder. When a group of activists threatens to use stolen anti-gravity technology to destroy energy markets and rain icebergs on cities, a special Canada-U.S. task force discovers only Nathan and Bonnie can help them sniff down the terrorists. What follows is a sizzling adventure that gives new meaning to genre blurring with a recipe that includes a dash of sci-fi, a cup of international terrorism, a sprinkling of superheroes, a pinch of horror, and side dishes that include a business thriller, foodie adventure and a cupcake of humor. If all this sounds a bit much in 84,000 words, here's what some top reviewers had to say: "John Matsui’s Gravity Games is an innovative novel, way out of the box - it’s not your run-of-the-mill thriller. The characterization is extraordinary. The supporting cast of characters – a mad scientist, evil psychopath, young do-gooders, and those with extreme sensory powers - bring depth and suspense to the unique storyline. The plot weaves in and out, up and down, backwards and forward, creating several riveting, spiraling illusive sub-plots. The science of 'negative gravity,' the hidden agendas, all the underlying lurid details portray a mind-boggling narrative." Five Stars – Cheryl E. Rodriguez for ReadersFavorite.com --- "The first thing to note about Gravity Games: A Nathan Sherlock Foodie Thriller is its attention to descriptive detail, which takes the finer music of depth and tunes it to a new level recommended not for mystery readers who want quick and casual descriptions, but for those who appreciate detail. Can Nathan smell not only food, but murder? And what does this special ability hold for new circumstances that tweak not just his olfactory senses, but his ability to solve crimes? Readers are about to find out; in the process learning of one investigator's strange ability and how it led him to a life of crime problem-solving that operates on a different level than most detectives. Delightfully different in its approach, even Nathan's nose for trouble is challenged in Gravity Games, which winds science into the mix and invites mystery fans to investigate realms that usually lie outside the typical genre read. It would have been all too possible for such a talent to turn one's life upside down, but Nathan has a formula for keeping his personal world on track, and it's never failed him before - until now. He's a famous food and wine personality and his skills in this arena compliment his other unique abilities. Everything is about to change, all spiced with an unexpected dose of humor throughout to provide a comic relief not usually seen in murder mysteries. As far as the case itself, suffice it to say that one scientist's discovery could change the world; so when he's kidnapped, Nathan is tapped to use his special skills to save him. Terrorism and food usually don't mix; but here they are explored in exquisite passages that keep readers guessing and involved. The hallmark of a solid mystery read is its ability to captivate even the most avid of genre readers: Gravity Games doesn't just involve; it immerses readers in the finer details of the story. Highly recommended for any mystery fan who also happens to cultivate an affection for food and special problem-solving abilities. Five stars – By Diane C. Donovan for Midwest Book Review

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

John Matsui is an award-winning journalist and the author of the courtroom/horror thriller, Late Bite, and its upcoming sequel, Lycanthrope Rising. John is a Canadian entrepreneur who uses his business background as inspiration for his novels, screenplays, and short stories. Gravity Games, his second novel, weaves a paranormal tale about a world-class chef with a nose for great food and murder. John leads a very non-paranormal life with his wife Judy in London, Ontario.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Matsui, John R.
ISBN 10: 099375483X ISBN 13: 9780993754838
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2015. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IQ-9780993754838

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Matsui, John R
Published by Poison Pine Books (2017)
ISBN 10: 099375483X ISBN 13: 9780993754838
New Paperback Quantity Available: 16
Print on Demand
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Poison Pine Books, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Bookseller Inventory # 099375483X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

John R Matsui
Published by Poison Pine Books, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 099375483X ISBN 13: 9780993754838
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Poison Pine Books, United States, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. Gravity Games, a dark and delicious thriller. Nathan Sherlock is the world s most renowned celebrity chef and wine expert. His fans know him as Nate the Nose, a culinary artist whose incredible sense of smell helps him create dining experiences that jolt the mojo transforming aged couples into hormone raging lovers. But Nathan has a dark secret. Best friend Bonnie has helped him hide the true extent of his olfactory powers. He can literally smell murder. U.S. Homeland Security and CSIS, the Canadian anti-terrorism agency, go into panic mode when a scientist disappears along with all traces of his anti-gravity research. The joint FBI-CSIS task force needs Nathan to sniff down the terrorists before they drop an iceberg the size of Manhattan on New York City. What the advance reviews say: Terrorism and food usually don t mix; but here they are explored in exquisite passages that keep readers guessing and involved. - Diane Donovan, Editor, California Bookwatch Gravity Games was a joy to read. The action packed novel was a thrilling ride. - Rabia Tanveer for Readers Favorite. Bookseller Inventory # APC9780993754838

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

John R Matsui
Published by Poison Pine Books, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 099375483X ISBN 13: 9780993754838
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Poison Pine Books, United States, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.Gravity Games, a dark and delicious thriller. Nathan Sherlock is the world s most renowned celebrity chef and wine expert. His fans know him as Nate the Nose, a culinary artist whose incredible sense of smell helps him create dining experiences that jolt the mojo transforming aged couples into hormone raging lovers. But Nathan has a dark secret. Best friend Bonnie has helped him hide the true extent of his olfactory powers. He can literally smell murder. U.S. Homeland Security and CSIS, the Canadian anti-terrorism agency, go into panic mode when a scientist disappears along with all traces of his anti-gravity research. The joint FBI-CSIS task force needs Nathan to sniff down the terrorists before they drop an iceberg the size of Manhattan on New York City. What the advance reviews say: Terrorism and food usually don t mix; but here they are explored in exquisite passages that keep readers guessing and involved. - Diane Donovan, Editor, California Bookwatch Gravity Games was a joy to read. The action packed novel was a thrilling ride. - Rabia Tanveer for Readers Favorite. Bookseller Inventory # APC9780993754838

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Matsui, John R.
ISBN 10: 099375483X ISBN 13: 9780993754838
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2015. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 3 to 5 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IQ-9780993754838

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 12.05
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

John R Matsui
Published by Poison Pine Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 099375483X ISBN 13: 9780993754838
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Poison Pine Books, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M099375483X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 26.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds