Mr. Tad Simons The Bleeder: Stories

ISBN 13: 9780996111003

The Bleeder: Stories

 
9780996111003: The Bleeder: Stories
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Broken hearts, shattered souls, abandoned ideals, and inescapable fates are just a few of the themes Tad Simons plumbs in The Bleeder, a collection of tragi-comic tales in the tradition of Robertson Davies, T.C. Boyle, and—when the mood is particularly dark and funny—Roald Dahl. A boy who falls in love with the school nurse but can’t understand her shameful secret. A young couple whose relationship is suddenly redefined by a gruesome traffic accident. An office worker who finds himself trapped in a terrifying nightmare of 21st-century capitalism. Their spirits tested by a flawed and often pitiless world, none of these characters survives unscathed. Some don’t survive at all. In these pages you’ll also find several misfits, bullies, and charlatans whose solutions to life’s problems are as misguided as they are hilarious. Simons has a knack for filtering the American experience through a clarifying lens of skepticism and compassion. Balancing tragedy and humor with a sly sense of satire, these wonderfully engrossing tales are not just short stories, they are “armchair entertainment” of the highest order.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Tad Simons in an award-winning writer and journalist whose work has appeared in Mpls/St.Paul magazine, City Pages, Variety, American Theatre, Utne Reader, the Washington Post, and more than a dozen other publications. In addition to a regional Emmy Award from the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, he has won awards of excellence from the Society of Professional Journalists, American Society of Business Press Editors, City Regional Magazine Association, and Minnesota Magazine Publishers Association. He lives in St. Paul, Minnesota.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Simons, Mr. Tad
Published by Pembroke Press
ISBN 10: 099611100X ISBN 13: 9780996111003
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 15
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pembroke Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 099611100X BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER!|0.62. Seller Inventory # OTF-Y-9780996111003

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.91
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Simons, Tad
Published by Pembroke Press 3/17/2015 (2015)
ISBN 10: 099611100X ISBN 13: 9780996111003
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pembroke Press 3/17/2015, 2015. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. The Bleeder: Stories. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780996111003

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Simons, Tad
Published by Pembroke Press (2015)
ISBN 10: 099611100X ISBN 13: 9780996111003
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pembroke Press, 2015. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9780996111003

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.76
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Tad Simons
Published by Pembroke Press (2015)
ISBN 10: 099611100X ISBN 13: 9780996111003
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pembroke Press, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. Broken hearts, shattered souls, abandoned ideals, and inescapable fates are just a few of the themes Tad Simons plumbs in The Bleeder, a collection of tragi-comic tales in the tradition of Robertson Davies, T.C. Boyle, and-when the mood is particularly dark and funny-Roald Dahl. A boy who falls in love with the school nurse but can t understand her shameful secret. A young couple whose relationship is suddenly redefined by a gruesome traffic accident. An office worker who finds himself trapped in a terrifying nightmare of 21st-century capitalism. Their spirits tested by a flawed and often pitiless world, none of these characters survives unscathed. Some don t survive at all. In these pages you ll also find several misfits, bullies, and charlatans whose solutions to life s problems are as misguided as they are hilarious. Simons has a knack for filtering the American experience through a clarifying lens of skepticism and compassion. Balancing tragedy and humor with a sly sense of satire, these wonderfully engrossing tales are not just short stories, they are armchair entertainment of the highest order. Seller Inventory # APC9780996111003

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.36
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Tad Simons
Published by Pembroke Press (2015)
ISBN 10: 099611100X ISBN 13: 9780996111003
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pembroke Press, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.Broken hearts, shattered souls, abandoned ideals, and inescapable fates are just a few of the themes Tad Simons plumbs in The Bleeder, a collection of tragi-comic tales in the tradition of Robertson Davies, T.C. Boyle, and-when the mood is particularly dark and funny-Roald Dahl. A boy who falls in love with the school nurse but can t understand her shameful secret. A young couple whose relationship is suddenly redefined by a gruesome traffic accident. An office worker who finds himself trapped in a terrifying nightmare of 21st-century capitalism. Their spirits tested by a flawed and often pitiless world, none of these characters survives unscathed. Some don t survive at all. In these pages you ll also find several misfits, bullies, and charlatans whose solutions to life s problems are as misguided as they are hilarious. Simons has a knack for filtering the American experience through a clarifying lens of skepticism and compassion. Balancing tragedy and humor with a sly sense of satire, these wonderfully engrossing tales are not just short stories, they are armchair entertainment of the highest order. Seller Inventory # APC9780996111003

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.71
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Simons, Mr. Tad
Published by Pembroke Press (2018)
ISBN 10: 099611100X ISBN 13: 9780996111003
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pembroke Press, 2018. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Seller Inventory # 099611100X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.72
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Tad Simons
Published by Pembroke Press (2015)
ISBN 10: 099611100X ISBN 13: 9780996111003
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pembroke Press, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Broken hearts, shattered souls, abandoned ideals, and inescapable fates are just a few of the themes Tad Simons plumbs in The Bleeder, a collection of tragi-comic tales in the tradition of Robertson Davies, T.C. Boyle, and-when the mood is particularly dark and funny-Roald Dahl. A boy who falls in love with the school nurse but can t understand her shameful secret. A young couple whose relationship is suddenly redefined by a gruesome traffic accident. An office worker who finds himself trapped in a terrifying nightmare of 21st-century capitalism. Their spirits tested by a flawed and often pitiless world, none of these characters survives unscathed. Some don t survive at all. In these pages you ll also find several misfits, bullies, and charlatans whose solutions to life s problems are as misguided as they are hilarious. Simons has a knack for filtering the American experience through a clarifying lens of skepticism and compassion. Balancing tragedy and humor with a sly sense of satire, these wonderfully engrossing tales are not just short stories, they are armchair entertainment of the highest order. Seller Inventory # LIE9780996111003

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.60
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Simons, Tad
Published by Pembroke Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 099611100X ISBN 13: 9780996111003
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Print on Demand
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pembroke Press, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. PRINT ON DEMAND Book; New; Publication Year 2016; Not Signed; Fast Shipping from the UK. No. book. Seller Inventory # ria9780996111003_lsuk

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.34
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.91
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Tad Simons
Published by Pembroke Press (2015)
ISBN 10: 099611100X ISBN 13: 9780996111003
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Print on Demand
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pembroke Press, 2015. Condition: New. This item is printed on demand for shipment within 3 working days. Seller Inventory # GM9780996111003

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.61
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.12
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Simons, Tad
Published by Pembroke Press (2015)
ISBN 10: 099611100X ISBN 13: 9780996111003
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pembroke Press, 2015. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 4 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9780996111003

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.71
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.42
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book