Her Heart in Ruins (First Kiss Mystery Book 2)

4.13 avg rating
( 15 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780996507110: Her Heart in Ruins (First Kiss Mystery Book 2)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

For fans of Neil Gaiman, Jonathan Carroll and Philip K. Dick comes this tale of a woman born to be sacrificed because of her great love.

The perfect human sacrifice?

Fernanda certainly didn't think of herself that way. But that's what the drugged shaman gleefully pronounced as they sat at the campfire, high in the Andes. Fernanda wondered if she had made a mistake in convincing her husband to hike with her the Inca Trail in search of the missing boy. The boy they feared had been taken by an ancient tribe to be sacrificed to the mountain gods. She forced herself to think of the boy, and ignore her growing unease.

Else's fiction has been broadcast by the BBC World Service, published by Galley Beggar Press, included in a literary review published by the Sorbonne in Paris, and shortlisted for the Shakespeare & Company Novella Prize.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Author:

Author One-on-one interview: Reine Arcache Melvin, author of "A Normal Life" and "Love and Water" and Ray Else, author "All that we touch" and "Our Only Chance"

Reine: I'm impressed with how you have published and marketed your books. 
Ray: I finally accepted the fact that my novel writing did not fit what agents and publishers were looking for, so with help from Amazon's CreateSpace & KDP for publishing and AuthorBuzz for marketing, I am selling books and getting good reviews. And most importantly I'm connecting, through my writing, with readers around the world.
Reine: Have you done any public readings?
Ray: Like you did at Shakespeare & Company a few years back? I wish, but no. All I have done so far is a video reading from my next book "Our Only Chance." Do you remember the question I asked of you at your reading?
Reine: I remember the reading, but not your question.
Ray: The performance of you reading your own work that night was better than any play I have ever attended. Afterwards, during the Q&A, I asked if you considered writing to be dangerous. Because to write really well you have to expose your soul.
Reine: Any attempt at good writing means going to those places in your heart and mind and soul that are frightening and shuttered. But you can write your heart out and face the darkest, most frightening and most charged elements inside you, and while all that is essential to good writing, it isn't sufficient. You can write from the heart and be a bad writer. I think part of the danger in these attempts to be a writer is that we all know people who have nothing to say but who say it very well, and others who have a great deal to say but can't write well enough. Someone can have the soul and sensibility of an artist, but not the talent. That's my take on the dangers of writing. Do you think good writing is dangerous?
Ray: I think talking with you is dangerous...good conversation can be dangerous.
Reine: Yes. And magical. Talk to me about magic, what that means for you.
Ray: I read somewhere once about 'the soft edge of words.' That soft edge, where understanding happens, where the hand-off occurs between the writer and the reader - that place is magical. Where something can be, and not be, at the same time. One of my readers said "All that we touch" struck her as a bittersweet book. Bitter and sweet. That reader's comment made me think that I got it right. That I got the magic of contradiction into the story.

Note - you can access Ray Else's reading from Our Only Chance at vimeo.com/175453623

About the Author:

Ray Else's fiction has been broadcast by the BBC World Service, published by Galley Beggar Press, and short-listed for a Shakespeare & Company prize. Ray has a B.S. in Computer Science and an M.A. in Technical Instruction/Film History. He speaks English, Spanish and French, and besides the states he has lived in Mexico and France. Ray has worked several jobs, from store clerk, to switcher at a television station, to software engineer for IBM. He is happily married with 4 grown kids and 11 grandkids. He enjoys traveling the world to visit friends and find new stories, occasionally rock-hounding, as shared on his website, rayelse.com.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 11.99
US$ 15.65

Convert Currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Else
Published by Else, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0996507116 ISBN 13: 9780996507110
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Else, United States, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. tremendous talent - Sam Jordison, Galley Beggar PressSnippet from the book: Fernanda kneels. Uses her arms to wipe snow from the lump, fearing what she will find. Perhaps she will find her own body curled in a fetal position, experiencing the final hallucinations that precede death by freezing. She breaks away a crust of ice around the body, noticing the bruised color of her own hands, the deep cracks in the skin of her fingers. She discovers dyed cloth and skin like a turkey s, plucked and frozen. She dislodges more snow, uncovering a dark plump face, a deep frozen, mummified face, with large eyes long frozen shut. Fernanda pulls back with a start. She recognizes this frozen lump of Incan girl. She is the same girl standing next to Fernanda. In this, the second volume of the Else First Kiss Mystery Series, Fernanda persuades her husband Randy, an IBM consultant on assignment in Cuzco, Peru, to go hiking in the Andes in search of his customer s missing child. They are accompanied by Fernanda s ex-husband Chance, by a sickly undercover FBI agent named Ed, by Kalene, a new friend of Fernanda s who claims, in a past life, to have bedded an entire army, and by a shaman who divines that Fernanda would make the perfect human sacrifice. This divination by the shaman provokes serious consequences as they hike the high mountain Inca Trail where local tribes still practice the ancient art. Books in the Else First Kiss Mystery Series: BATHING WITH THE DEAD (#1)HER HEART IN RUINS (#2)ALL THAT WE TOUCH (#3) 2016 Else s fiction has been broadcast by the BBC World Service, included in a literary review published by the Sorbonne in Paris, and shortlisted for the Shakespeare Company Novella Prize. Seller Inventory # APC9780996507110

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Else
Published by Else (2015)
ISBN 10: 0996507116 ISBN 13: 9780996507110
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Else, 2015. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9780996507110

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Ray Else
ISBN 10: 0996507116 ISBN 13: 9780996507110
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
ReadWhiz
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # ria9780996507110_ing

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Else
Published by Else, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0996507116 ISBN 13: 9780996507110
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Else, United States, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. tremendous talent - Sam Jordison, Galley Beggar PressSnippet from the book: Fernanda kneels. Uses her arms to wipe snow from the lump, fearing what she will find. Perhaps she will find her own body curled in a fetal position, experiencing the final hallucinations that precede death by freezing. She breaks away a crust of ice around the body, noticing the bruised color of her own hands, the deep cracks in the skin of her fingers. She discovers dyed cloth and skin like a turkey s, plucked and frozen. She dislodges more snow, uncovering a dark plump face, a deep frozen, mummified face, with large eyes long frozen shut. Fernanda pulls back with a start. She recognizes this frozen lump of Incan girl. She is the same girl standing next to Fernanda. In this, the second volume of the Else First Kiss Mystery Series, Fernanda persuades her husband Randy, an IBM consultant on assignment in Cuzco, Peru, to go hiking in the Andes in search of his customer s missing child. They are accompanied by Fernanda s ex-husband Chance, by a sickly undercover FBI agent named Ed, by Kalene, a new friend of Fernanda s who claims, in a past life, to have bedded an entire army, and by a shaman who divines that Fernanda would make the perfect human sacrifice. This divination by the shaman provokes serious consequences as they hike the high mountain Inca Trail where local tribes still practice the ancient art. Books in the Else First Kiss Mystery Series: BATHING WITH THE DEAD (#1)HER HEART IN RUINS (#2)ALL THAT WE TOUCH (#3) 2016 Else s fiction has been broadcast by the BBC World Service, included in a literary review published by the Sorbonne in Paris, and shortlisted for the Shakespeare Company Novella Prize. Seller Inventory # APC9780996507110

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Else
ISBN 10: 0996507116 ISBN 13: 9780996507110
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2015. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 3 to 5 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9780996507110

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 12.04
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Ray Else
Published by ELSE (2015)
ISBN 10: 0996507116 ISBN 13: 9780996507110
New Softcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ELSE, 2015. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0996507116

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 24.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Else, Ray
Published by ELSE (2017)
ISBN 10: 0996507116 ISBN 13: 9780996507110
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Print on Demand
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ELSE, 2017. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Seller Inventory # P110996507116

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 35.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds