All that we touch (First Kiss Mystery)

3.8 avg rating
( 46 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780996507127: All that we touch (First Kiss Mystery)

For fans of Neil Gaiman, Jonathan Carroll, Philip K. Dick and Tom Robbins comes this female wolf in sheep's skin tale of a woman born to be sacrificed, or born to kill us all.

Betrayed by her husband on a trip to Paris, crowned with sorrow, Fernanda is stolen away by Turkish thugs on a train across Europe. A taciturn FBI agent, along with his new acquaintance C.I. Phoebe Mullins of the London police, who happened to be in town investigating stolen Holy Thorns from the Crown of Thorns, get pulled into the pursuit.

Thrown into a prison for the criminally insane, Fernanda is put on trial before the Patrons of the Sacred Trust for being a dangerous heretic, a kind of human weapon of mass destruction. Unjustly accused, she must make a decision that could impact not only her baby but all mankind.

"Delightfully irreverent...mixes the magical-real with the Noir tradition." - Elly Millar, Galley Beggar Press

"Lovely writing...sparkling wit...a dreamy mystery with everyday magic." - NetGalley (5 stars)

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Author:

Author One-on-one interview: Reine Arcache Melvin, author of "A Normal Life" and "Love and Water" and Ray Else, author "All that we touch" and "Our Only Chance"

Reine: I'm impressed with how you have published and marketed your books. 
Ray: I finally accepted the fact that my novel writing did not fit what agents and publishers were looking for, so with help from Amazon's CreateSpace & KDP for publishing and AuthorBuzz for marketing, I am selling books and getting good reviews. And most importantly I'm connecting, through my writing, with readers around the world.
Reine: Have you done any public readings?
Ray: Like you did at Shakespeare & Company a few years back? I wish, but no. All I have done so far is a video reading from my next book "Our Only Chance." Do you remember the question I asked of you at your reading?
Reine: I remember the reading, but not your question.
Ray: The performance of you reading your own work that night was better than any play I have ever attended. Afterwards, during the Q&A, I asked if you considered writing to be dangerous. Because to write really well you have to expose your soul.
Reine: Any attempt at good writing means going to those places in your heart and mind and soul that are frightening and shuttered. But you can write your heart out and face the darkest, most frightening and most charged elements inside you, and while all that is essential to good writing, it isn't sufficient. You can write from the heart and be a bad writer. I think part of the danger in these attempts to be a writer is that we all know people who have nothing to say but who say it very well, and others who have a great deal to say but can't write well enough. Someone can have the soul and sensibility of an artist, but not the talent. That's my take on the dangers of writing. Do you think good writing is dangerous?
Ray: I think talking with you is dangerous...good conversation can be dangerous.
Reine: Yes. And magical. Talk to me about magic, what that means for you.
Ray: I read somewhere once about 'the soft edge of words.' That soft edge, where understanding happens, where the hand-off occurs between the writer and the reader - that place is magical. Where something can be, and not be, at the same time. One of my readers said "All that we touch" struck her as a bittersweet book. Bitter and sweet. That reader's comment made me think that I got it right. That I got the magic of contradiction into the story.

Note - you can access Ray Else's reading from Our Only Chance at vimeo.com/175453623

About the Author:

Ray Else's fiction has been broadcast by the BBC World Service, published by Galley Beggar Press, and short-listed for a Shakespeare & Company prize. Ray has a B.S. in Computer Science and an M.A. in Technical Instruction / Film History. He speaks English, Spanish and French, and besides the states he has lived in Mexico and France. He has worked several different jobs, from store clerk, to switcher at a television station, to software engineer for IBM. He is married with 4 grown kids and 12 grandkids. He enjoys traveling the world to visit friends and find new stories, occasionally rock-hounding, as shared on his website, rayelse.com.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Else, Ray
Published by Else 1/14/2016 (2016)
ISBN 10: 0996507124 ISBN 13: 9780996507127
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Else 1/14/2016, 2016. Paperback or Softback. Book Condition: New. All That We Touch. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9780996507127

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Else, Ray
Published by ELSE (2017)
ISBN 10: 0996507124 ISBN 13: 9780996507127
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ELSE, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Bookseller Inventory # 0996507124

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Ray Else
Published by Else, United States (2016)
ISBN 10: 0996507124 ISBN 13: 9780996507127
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Else, United States, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. Stolen religious artifacts, detectives hot on the heels of an innocent women who could possibly be the messiah and everyone wanting to get their hands on the stolen artifact and, in a sense, the main character. This is a story both fun and touching. Bookseller Inventory # APC9780996507127

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Ray Else
Published by Else, United States (2016)
ISBN 10: 0996507124 ISBN 13: 9780996507127
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Else, United States, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.Accused of murders she did not commit, suspected of starting a deadly cult, Fernanda must come to terms with who she really is, and make a decision that could impact not only her daughter but the entire human race. The third book in the First Kiss Mystery Series. Bookseller Inventory # APC9780996507127

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Else, Ray
Published by Else (2016)
ISBN 10: 0996507124 ISBN 13: 9780996507127
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Else, 2016. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IQ-9780996507127

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Else, Ray
Published by ELSE
ISBN 10: 0996507124 ISBN 13: 9780996507127
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ELSE. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0996507124 Special order direct from the distributor. Bookseller Inventory # ING9780996507127

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Else, Ray
ISBN 10: 0996507124 ISBN 13: 9780996507127
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2016. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 3 to 5 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IQ-9780996507127

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 12.00
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Ray Else
Published by ELSE (2016)
ISBN 10: 0996507124 ISBN 13: 9780996507127
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ELSE, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0996507124

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 30.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds