China Miéville This Census-Taker

ISBN 13: 9781101967324

This Census-Taker

3.31 avg rating
( 5,073 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781101967324: This Census-Taker
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, David Mitchell, and Karen Russell, This Census-Taker is a stunning, uncanny, and profoundly moving novella from multiple-award-winning and bestselling author China Miéville.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR

In a remote house on a hilltop, a lonely boy witnesses a profoundly traumatic event. He tries—and fails—to flee. Left alone with his increasingly deranged parent, he dreams of safety, of joining the other children in the town below, of escape.

When at last a stranger knocks at his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation might be over.

But by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? What is the purpose behind his questions? Is he friend? Enemy? Or something else altogether?

Filled with beauty, terror, and strangeness, This Census-Taker is a poignant and riveting exploration of memory and identity.

Praise for This Census-Taker

“China Miéville is a magician . . . who can both blow your mind with ideas as big as the universe and break your heart with language so precise and polished, it’s like he’s writing with diamonds.”—NPR

“The book haunts the reader; what actually happened seems always just out of reach, glimpsed in shadow as it rounds a corner ahead of our vision.”—Los Angeles Review of Books

“[Mieville’s] been compared to Karen Russell and George Saunders, and rightfully so.”—The Huffington Post

“Marvellous.”—The Guardian

“Lingers in the mind like an unsettling dream.”Financial Times

“A thought-provoking fairy tale for adults . . . [This Census-Taker] resembles the narrative style, quirkiness, and plotting found in the works of Karen Russell, Aimee Bender, or Steven Millhauser.”Booklist

“Brief and dreamlike . . . a deceptively simple story whose plot could be taken as a symbolic representation of an aspect of humanity as big as an entire society and as small as a single soul.”Kirkus Reviews

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap:

A boy ran down a hill path screaming.This running, screaming boy has witnessed something terrible, something so awful that he cannot even properly articulate it. All he can do is run. His story is investigated, but no evidence is found to support it, and so in the end, he is sent back. Back up that hill path to the site of his terror, to live with the parent who caused it.The boy tries to escape. He flees to a gang of local children but they can’t help him. The town refuses to see his danger. He is alone.Then a stranger arrives. A stranger who claims his job is to ask questions, seek truth. Who can, perhaps, offer safety. Or whose offer may be something altogether different, something safety is no part of.In This Census-Taker, multiple award-winning writer China Miéville offers a story made of secrets and subtle reveals, of tragedy and bravery, of mysteries that shift when they appear to be known. It is a stunning work, full of strangeness and power.

About the Author:

China Miéville is the author of numerous books, including Three Moments of an Explosion, The City & The City, Embassytown, Railsea, and Perdido Street Station. His works have won the World Fantasy Award, the Hugo Award, and the Arthur C. Clarke Award (three times). He lives and works in London.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781101967348: This Census-Taker: A Novel

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  110196734X ISBN 13:  9781101967348
Publisher: Del Rey, 2017
Softcover

9781596067981: This Census-Taker

Subter..., 2016
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

China Miéville
Published by Del Rey (2016)
ISBN 10: 1101967323 ISBN 13: 9781101967324
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Del Rey, 2016. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1101967323

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.74
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

China Mià ville
Published by Del Rey January 2016 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1101967323 ISBN 13: 9781101967324
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Eagle Eye Books
(Decatur, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Del Rey January 2016, 2016. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 485739

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 24.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Miéville, China
Published by Del Rey (2016)
ISBN 10: 1101967323 ISBN 13: 9781101967324
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Del Rey, 2016. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P111101967323

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 33.91
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Miéville, China
Published by U.S.A.: Del Rey (2016)
ISBN 10: 1101967323 ISBN 13: 9781101967324
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
R & B Diversions LLC
(Stratford, WI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description U.S.A.: Del Rey, 2016. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. author signed first print hardcover in mylar protected dust jacket. first US edition. new and unused; no marks, not remaindered, not xlib, not book club, dj price intact, first edition stated with number line down to 1. signed by author on title page. fiction hardcover. Signed by Author(s). Seller Inventory # 9353

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 40.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Miéville, China
Published by Del Rey (2016)
ISBN 10: 1101967323 ISBN 13: 9781101967324
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Dan Pope Books
(West Hartford, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Del Rey, 2016. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. NEW YORK: DEL RAY (2016). First edition, first printing (with full number sequence including the 1). Hardbound. Brand new! Very Fine in a very fine dust jacket. A tight, clean copy, new and unread. Comes with archival-quality mylar dust jacket protector. NOT price clipped. Shipped in well padded box. SIGNED BY AUTHOR on title page, his name only, with no other marks or writing. You cannot find a better copy. Signed by Author(s). Seller Inventory # Signed-Fiction-31

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 48.50
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

China Mià ville
Published by Del Rey (2016)
ISBN 10: 1101967323 ISBN 13: 9781101967324
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Del Rey, 2016. Hardcover. Condition: New. First Edition. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 1101967323n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 88.38
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds