Deadly Jewels: A Novel

3.69 avg rating
( 91 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781250045409: Deadly Jewels: A Novel
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

When Martine LeDuc, publicity director for the city of Montréal, is summoned into the mayor’s office, she’s pleasantly surprised to find the city is due for a PR coup: A doctoral researcher at McGill University claims to have found proof that the British crown jewels were stored in Montréal during World War II.

Martine is thrilled to be part of the excavation project―until it turns out that the dig’s discoveries include the skeleton of a man with diamonds in his rib cage and a hole in his skull. Is this decades-old murder leading her too far into the dangerous world of Canada’s neo-Nazi networks, or is there something going on that makes the jewels themselves deadly? Is history ever really completely buried?

With pressing personal issues crowding into her professional life, Martine needs to solve not only the puzzle of the jewels, but some more recent crimes―including another murder, a kidnapping, and the operation of an ancient cult in Montréal―and do it before the past reaches out to silence her for good.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

JEANNETTE DE BEAUVOIR is an award-winning novelist and poet whose work has been translated into 12 languages and has appeared in 15 countries. She finds that the past always has some hold on the present, and writes mysteries and historical fiction that reflect that resonance.

Review:

Praise for Deadly Jewels:
"[A] fascinating premise. An intriguing choice for readers of James Houston's The Blood Flag and Jon Land's The Last Prophecy." ―Library Journal

"Readers will enjoy the lurid, high-gloss history and the appealingly sardonic narration."―Publishers Weekly

"The riveting mystery moves back and forth from very fascinating WWII flashbacks to the present day, where LeDuc’s personal life adds to her stress level. Give this one to Steve Berry readers."―Booklist

"Cleverly weaves real events into a mystery/thriller whose flashbacks contain the clues to solve the puzzle."―Kirkus Reviews

"Seamlessly weaving the historical and the modern, De Beauvoir crafts a mystery that gives her engaging protagonist...a strong return. De Beauvoir's voice and character development are stellar."―RT Book Reviews(Top Pick)

"Jeannette de Beauvoir’s second in the Martine LeDuc series is a perfect sequel to Asylum. It has the crown jewels, a murder, an elegant policeman and a ton of inside-Montreal historical bons mots. In short, it’s good. This one is clever as a sack of monkeys and just plain fun."―The Globe and Mail

"Deadly Jewels is another riveting read from the pen of author Jeannette de Beauvoir and continues to demonstrate her total mastery of the mystery/suspense genre...highly recommended...a particularly well crafted novel"―Midwest Book Review

Praise for Asylum:
"De Beauvoir has delivered a harrowing, addictive read that will keep you up late into the night and your mind lingering long after you've closed the book. Asylum is riveting and disturbing, and charming amateur sleuth Martine Leduc is an indomitable and courageous heroine you'll be rooting for from page one." ― Linda Castillo, New York Times bestselling author of the Kate Burkholder Amish mystery series

"Martine LeDuc, the publicity director for the city of Montreal and a wonderfully likable narrator, partners with offbeat police detective Julian Fletcher in this absorbing mystery. De Beauvoir does a fine job of evoking the ambiance of Montreal, with its fascinating neighborhoods, bilingualism, and political tensions." ― Publisher's Weekly

“Convincing and disturbing.” ―Toronto Star

“[The] plot has real forward-moving energy, making Asylum a quick and satisfying read. Martine LeDuc-a troubled Catholic, an uncomfortable stepmother, and committed to her job and city-makes for an engaging lead character, and I hope de Beauvoir writes her again.” ―National Post

“What is truly impressive about de Beauvoir's writing is that she is able to smoothly weave fiction with true events bringing the past to life with evocative settings and passionate characters whom we care deeply as they capture the memories of this dreadful dark era of Québec's past.” ―Bookpleasures

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 25.99
US$ 4.99

Convert currency

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

De Beauvoir, Jeannette
Published by Minotaur Books 2016-03-08 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1250045401 ISBN 13: 9781250045409
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Minotaur Books 2016-03-08, 2016. Hardcover. Condition: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Seller Inventory # 9781250045409B

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Jeannette de Beauvoir
Published by Minotaur Books (2016)
ISBN 10: 1250045401 ISBN 13: 9781250045409
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Minotaur Books, 2016. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1250045401

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 22.40
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Jeannette de Beauvoir
Published by Minotaur Books (2016)
ISBN 10: 1250045401 ISBN 13: 9781250045409
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Minotaur Books, 2016. Hardcover. Condition: New. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 1250045401n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 92.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds