Grim Death and Bill the Electrocuted Criminal

3.62 avg rating
( 164 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781250077684: Grim Death and Bill the Electrocuted Criminal
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

An uneasiness festers upon the city streets, threatening the peace and safety of law-abiding citizens. A war is escalating, and it seems as though the good and righteous are being crushed beneath the unholy weight of evil’s onslaught. Organized crime is spreading in an unchecked reign of terror.

Until a mysterious agent of retribution rises up from the shadows to challenge the villains. A lone figure, clad in a slouch hat and clothes seemingly stitched from the blackest shadows, masked in the guise of a skull-faced death―a Grim Death―emerges with guns blazing. With him, a wronged ex-con clad in the striped costume of his misfortune―Bill the Electrocuted Criminal.

In this beautifully illustrated 1930s-pulp-style novel, two dark new characters by Thomas E. Sniegoski and Mike Mignola take to the street to fight the growing infection of organized crime. Grim Death and Bill the Electrocuted Criminal are not your average heroes, but they want justice.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

MIKE MIGNOLA is the author and illustrator best known as the award-winning creator, writer, and artist of Hellboy. He worked on the Hellboy movies with Guillermo del Toro. He also coauthored several New York Times bestselling books with Christopher Golden. Mignola lives in southern California with his wife, daughter, and cat.

THOMAS E. SNIEGOSKI is a comic book writer and a New York Times bestselling author of more than two dozen novels. His teen fantasy YA series Fallen was adapted into a trilogy of movies by ABC Family. Sniegoski lives in Massachusetts with his wife, LeeAnne, and their dog, Kirby.

From School Library Journal:

Bentley Hawthorne isn't your typical superhero, but he's serving as death's avenger. Wearing a skull face, he enacts justice by putting murderers to death. Like Batman, Bentley was raised by loving and rich parents and relies on a butler. His parents took a risk by trusting an inventor who promised to ensure that their sickly son would live a long life. Deals with the devil (or with new technology) are never without payment, and as a result of his parents' decision, Bentley must avenge ghosts who visit him. In this pulp fiction—style novel, the action is fast and the plot a bit far-fetched (knife-wielding gorillas, mind-controlling mermaids, evil clowns). Bentley is a relatable character who has the exhausting task of assuming the guise of Grim Death. Flashbacks to Bentley's childhood depict his transformation, and funny quips and moments temper what could have been a dark tale. The book's wide trim size and the occasional, bland black-and-white illustrations give it a unique look. VERDICT A solid horror addition for high school libraries—perfect for readers who enjoyed Neal Shusterman's Scythe or Gina Damico's Croak but also for fans of paranormal mysteries or superhero comics.—Sarah Hill, Lake Land College, Mattoon, IL

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Mignola Mike
Published by MacMillan Publishers
ISBN 10: 1250077680 ISBN 13: 9781250077684
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description MacMillan Publishers. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 1250077680

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Mignola, Mike; Sniegoski, Thomas E.
Published by St. Martin's Press
ISBN 10: 1250077680 ISBN 13: 9781250077684
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1250077680. Seller Inventory # Z1250077680ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Mignola, Mike; Sniegoski, Thomas E.
Published by St. Martin's Press
ISBN 10: 1250077680 ISBN 13: 9781250077684
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1250077680. Seller Inventory # Z1250077680ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Mignola, Mike; Sniegoski, Thomas E.
Published by St. Martin's Press
ISBN 10: 1250077680 ISBN 13: 9781250077684
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1250077680. Seller Inventory # Z1250077680ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Mignola, Mike; Sniegoski, Thomas E.
Published by St. Martin's Press
ISBN 10: 1250077680 ISBN 13: 9781250077684
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1250077680. Seller Inventory # Z1250077680ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Mignola, Mike; Sniegoski, Thomas E.
Published by St. Martin's Press
ISBN 10: 1250077680 ISBN 13: 9781250077684
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1250077680. Seller Inventory # Z1250077680ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Mignola, Mike; Sniegoski, Thomas E.
Published by St. Martin's Press
ISBN 10: 1250077680 ISBN 13: 9781250077684
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1250077680 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Seller Inventory # NATARAJB1FI1317167

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.69
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Mignola, Mike
Published by St. Martin's Press (2017)
ISBN 10: 1250077680 ISBN 13: 9781250077684
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Press, 2017. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # 1250077680

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.02
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Mignola, Mike/ Sniegoski, Thomas E.
ISBN 10: 1250077680 ISBN 13: 9781250077684
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 5639235

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.26
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Mignola, Mike
ISBN 10: 1250077680 ISBN 13: 9781250077684
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2017. HRD. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IB-9781250077684

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.69
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book