Kings and Emperors: An Alan Lewrie Naval Adventure (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures)

4.25 avg rating
( 305 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781250081063: Kings and Emperors: An Alan Lewrie Naval Adventure (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

“Great naval action and deep historical detail in the vein of O’Brian and Forester.” ―Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

In Dewey Lambdin's Kings and Emperors, Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, is still in Gibraltar, his raids along the coast of southern Spain shot to a halt. He is reduced to commanding a clutch of harbor defense gunboats in the bay while his ship, HMS Sapphire, slowly grounds herself on a reef of beef bones! Until Napoleon Bonaparte’s invasion of Portugal and his march into Spain change everything, freeing Sapphire to roam against the king’s enemies once more!

As kings are overthrown and popular uprisings break out across Spain, Lewrie’s right back in the action, ferrying weapons to arm Spanish patriots, scouting the impregnable fort of Ceuta, escorting the advance units of British expeditionary armies to aid the Spanish, and even going ashore to witness the first battles between Sir Arthur Wellesley, later the Duke of Wellington, and Napoleon’s best marshals, as the long Peninsular War that broke Imperial France begins to unfold.

From Cádiz to La Coruña, Lewrie and Sapphire will be there as history explodes!

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Dewey Lambdin is the author of twenty previous Alan Lewrie novels. A member of the U.S. Naval Institute and a Friend of the National Maritime Museum in Greenwich, England, he spends his free time working and sailing. He makes his home in Nashville, Tennessee, but would much prefer Margaritaville or Murrells Inlet.

Review:

“Great naval action and deep historical detail in the vein of O'Brian and Forester.” ―Kirkus Reviews (starred)

“You could get addicted to this series. Easily.” ―The New York Times Book Review

“The best naval adventure series since C. S. Forester.” ―Library Journal

“Check the log, shipmate: Dewey Lambdin has left Alexander Kent and C.S. Forester hull-down in an ocean of words and is closing on Patrick O'Brian as the most prolific historical novelist to celebrate a Royal Navy mariner during the age of sail.” ―Washington Times

“Lambdin succeeds with high-seas action, bravado, and Lewrie's characteristic antics, putting himself in good company with Julian Stockwin and Seth Hunter as worthy successors to the popular 18th- and 19th-century naval adventures of Forester, Kent, and Pope. ... Lewrie is a delightfully randy and irreverent character, the perfect man to walk the quarterdeck of a Royal Navy frigate.” ―Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A hugely entertaining naval adventure (á la Forester and O'Brian) with a different kind of protagonist.... Not merely a worthy entry in the very popular Lewrie series but a top-of-the-line naval adventure that can be thoroughly enjoyed by readers who've never met Captain Lewrie until now.” ―Booklist

“The brilliantly stylish American master of salty-tongued British naval tales.” ―Kirkus Reviews

“Lewrie is a marvelous creation, resourceful and bold.” ―James L. Nelson, author of the Revolution at Sea Saga

“Stunning naval adventure, reeking of powder and mayhem. I wish I had written this series.” ―Bernard Cornwell

“Naval adventures in the time of wooden ships and iron men form a distinct literary genre. Nashville novelist Dewey Lambdin has mastered it.” ―Chapter 16

“Lewrie is a delightfully randy and irreverent character, the perfect man to walk the quarterdeck of a Royal Navy frigate.” ―Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 18.99
US$ 6.99

Convert currency

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781250030061: Kings and Emperors: An Alan Lewrie Naval Adventure (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1250030064 ISBN 13:  9781250030061
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books, 2015
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Lambdin, Dewey
Published by St. Martin's Griffin 2016-01-05 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1250081068 ISBN 13: 9781250081063
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Griffin 2016-01-05, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Seller Inventory # 9781250081063B

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Lambdin, Dewey
Published by St Martins Pr (2016)
ISBN 10: 1250081068 ISBN 13: 9781250081063
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St Martins Pr, 2016. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # VV-9781250081063

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.65
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Lambdin, Dewey
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
ISBN 10: 1250081068 ISBN 13: 9781250081063
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Griffin. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1250081068 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Seller Inventory # NATARAJB1FI1283466

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.41
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Dewey Lambdin
Published by St. Martin s Griffin (2016)
ISBN 10: 1250081068 ISBN 13: 9781250081063
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin s Griffin, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Great naval action and deep historical detail in the vein of O Brian and Forester. --Kirkus Reviews (starred review) In Dewey Lambdin s Kings and Emperors, Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, is still in Gibraltar, his raids along the coast of southern Spain shot to a halt. He is reduced to commanding a clutch of harbor defense gunboats in the bay while his ship, HMS Sapphire, slowly grounds herself on a reef of beef bones! Until Napoleon Bonaparte s invasion of Portugal and his march into Spain change everything, freeing Sapphire to roam against the king s enemies once more! As kings are overthrown and popular uprisings break out across Spain, Lewrie s right back in the action, ferrying weapons to arm Spanish patriots, scouting the impregnable fort of Ceuta, escorting the advance units of British expeditionary armies to aid the Spanish, and even going ashore to witness the first battles between Sir Arthur Wellesley, later the Duke of Wellington, and Napoleon s best marshals, as the long Peninsular War that broke Imperial France begins to unfold. From Cadiz to La Coruna, Lewrie and Sapphire will be there as history explodes!. Seller Inventory # BTE9781250081063

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Lambdin, Dewey
Published by St. Martin's Griffin (2016)
ISBN 10: 1250081068 ISBN 13: 9781250081063
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Griffin, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # 1250081068

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.41
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Dewey Lambdin
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
ISBN 10: 1250081068 ISBN 13: 9781250081063
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Griffin. Paperback. Condition: New. 368 pages. In Kings and Emperors, the twenty-first book in Dewey Lambdins beloved Alan Lewrie series, Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, is still in Gibraltar, his schemes for raids along the coast of southern Spain shot to a halt. He is reduced to commanding a clutch of harbor defense gunboats in the bay while his ship, HMS Sapphire, slowly grounds herself on a reef of beef bones! Until Napoleon Bonapartes invasion of peaceful Portugal and his so-called collaborative march into Spain change everything, freeing Sapphire to roam against the Kings enemies once more!As kings are overthrown and popular uprisings break out all across Spain, Lewries right back in the action, ferrying weapons to arm Spanish patriots, scouting within close gun range of the impregnable fort of Ceuta, escorting the advance units of British expeditionary armies to aid the Spanish, and even going ashore to witness the first battles between Sir Arthur Wellesley, later the Duke of Wellington, and Napoleons best Marshals, as the long Peninsular War that broke Imperial France begins to unfold. From Cadiz to La Coruna, Lewrie and Sapphire will be there as history explodes! This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Seller Inventory # 9781250081063

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Dewey Lambdin
Published by Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures ( (2016)
ISBN 10: 1250081068 ISBN 13: 9781250081063
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (, 2016. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # TV9781250081063

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.83
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.20
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Dewey Lambdin
ISBN 10: 1250081068 ISBN 13: 9781250081063
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 368 pages. 0.318. Seller Inventory # 9781250081063

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 22.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Dewey Lambdin
Published by St. Martin's Griffin (2016)
ISBN 10: 1250081068 ISBN 13: 9781250081063
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Griffin, 2016. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1250081068

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 23.33
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Lambdin, Dewey
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
ISBN 10: 1250081068 ISBN 13: 9781250081063
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Griffin. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1250081068 Special order direct from the distributor. Seller Inventory # ING9781250081063

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.94
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book