Crash Course: The American Automobile Industry's Road from Glory to Disaster

3.89 avg rating
( 471 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781400068630: Crash Course: The American Automobile Industry's Road from Glory to Disaster
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

This is the epic saga of the American automobile industry's rise and demise, a compelling story of hubris, denial, missed opportunities, and self-inflicted wounds that culminates with the president of the United States ushering two of Detroit's Big Three car companies—once proud symbols of prosperity—through bankruptcy. The cost to American taxpayers topped $100 billion—enough to buy every car and truck sold in America in the first half of 2009. With unprecedented access, Pulitzer Prize winner Paul Ingrassia takes us from factory floors to small-town dealerships to Detroit's boardrooms to the inner sanctums of the White House. He reveals why President Barack Obama personally decided to save Chrysler when many of his advisors opposed the idea. Ingrassia provides the dramatic story behind Obama's dismissal of General Motors CEO Rick Wagoner and the angry reaction from GM's board—the same people who had watched idly while the company plunged into penury.

    In Crash Course, Ingrassia answers the big questions: Was Detroit's self-destruction inevitable? What were the key turning points? Why did Japanese automakers manage American workers better than the American companies themselves did? He also describes dysfunctional corporate cultures (even as GM's market share plunged, the company continued business as usual) and Detroit's perverse system of "inverse layoffs" (which allowed union members to invoke seniority to avoid work). Along the way we meet Detroit's frustrated reformers and witness the wrenching decisions that Ford executives had to make to avoid GM's fate.
Informed by Ingrassia's twenty-five years of experience covering the auto industry for The Wall Street Journal, and showing an appreciation for Detroit's profound influence on our country's society and culture, Crash Course is a uniquely American and deeply instructive story, one not to be missed.
 

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

In the tradition of James Stewart's Disney War and Michael Lewis's Liar's Poker comes journalist Paul Ingrassia with the inside track on the meltdown of the American automobile industry.

About the Author:

Paul Ingrassia is the former Detroit bureau chief for The Wall Street Journal. Winner of the Pulitzer Prize in 1993 (with Joseph B. White) for reporting on management crises at General Motors, Ingrassia has chronicled the auto industry for more than twenty-five years. He is co-author, with White, of Comeback: The Fall and Rise of the American Automobile Industry, and has made numerous media appearances on ABC TV's World News Tonight and Good Morning America, NPR's Morning Edition, and other programs.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780812980752: Crash Course: The American Automobile Industry's Road to Bankruptcy and Bailout-and Beyond

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0812980751 ISBN 13:  9780812980752
Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks, 2011
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Ingrassia, Paul
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 1400068630 ISBN 13: 9781400068630
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1400068630 Ships promptly from Texas. Seller Inventory # Z1400068630ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Ingrassia, Paul
Published by Random House (2010)
ISBN 10: 1400068630 ISBN 13: 9781400068630
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Letusbegin
(Ossining, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2010. Hardcover. Condition: New. Brand New Hardcover! Pristine unmarked pages, no remainder marks, great buy straight from warehouse, sealed in plastic, exact artwork as listed, Seller Inventory # 012171207033

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.97
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Paul Ingrassia
Published by Random House (2010)
ISBN 10: 1400068630 ISBN 13: 9781400068630
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2010. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1. Seller Inventory # DADAX1400068630

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Paul Ingrassia
Published by Random House (2010)
ISBN 10: 1400068630 ISBN 13: 9781400068630
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2010. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1400068630

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Ingrassia, Paul
Published by Random House (2010)
ISBN 10: 1400068630 ISBN 13: 9781400068630
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2010. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P111400068630

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 57.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Paul Ingrassia
ISBN 10: 1400068630 ISBN 13: 9781400068630
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # STRM-1400068630

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 78.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Paul Ingrassia
Published by Random House (2010)
ISBN 10: 1400068630 ISBN 13: 9781400068630
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2010. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 1400068630n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 89.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds