Debra Borden Lucky Me: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9781400082223

Lucky Me: A Novel

3.27 avg rating
( 74 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781400082223: Lucky Me: A Novel

Julie Berman seems to have it all: a beautiful home in suburban New Jersey, a loving husband, a budding career as a freelance journalist, and two great kids. Little do the neighbors know that behind the façade, Julie is beginning to feel like her world is falling apart.

Among her worries is a nagging fear that she’s turning into her mother—just as neurotic, just as crazy, and just as consumed by appearances. Then there’s the handsome, charming, single, and very tempting editor at the local newspaper who has definitely taken a shine to her. Add to that her moody, monosyllabic teenage son, who may or may not be having sex with a new girlfriend. But the final blow to her sanity comes in the form of a phone call from her daughter, who informs Julie of her plans to run off with her new boyfriend . . . who’s also her college professor.

Lucky Me is a journey into the year when Julie realizes that there are some things beyond her control, especially the people she loves. Wise, irreverent, tender, and funny, Lucky Me is for every woman who has ever felt—despite her most valiant efforts—less than perfect.

Look for the Reader’s Group Guide at the back of this book.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap:

"Lucky Me is that rare book that captures--in the vein of Elinor Lipman and Elizabeth Berg--what it really means to be a modern woman.
Julie Berman seems to have it all: a beautiful home in suburban New Jersey, a loving husband, a budding career as a freelance journalist, and two great kids. To the outside world, her life is perfect--little do they know that behind the faade, Julie is beginning to feel like her world is falling apart.
Among her worries is a nagging fear that she's turning into her mother--just as neurotic, just as crazy, and just as consumed by appearances. Then there's the handsome, charming, and quite single editor at the local newspaper who has definitely taken a liking to her . . . which wouldn't be a problem if he wasn't so tempting. Add to that her moody, monosyllabic teenage son, who may or may not be having sex with a new girlfriend (whom Julie's not sure she approves of, sex or not). But the final blow to her sanity comes in the form of a phone call from her daughter, who informs Julie of her plans to run off with her boyfriend . . . who's also her college professor.
"Lucky Me is a journey into the year when everything seems to come to a head in Julie's life--and when she realizes that there are some things you can't control, especially the people you love. Wise, irreverent, tender, and funny, "Lucky Me is for every woman who has ever felt--despite her most valiant efforts--less than perfect.

"From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author:

Debra Feldman Borden grew up in Great Neck, New York. Though she now writes full time, she is a licensed clinical social worker in New Jersey, where she lives with her family. Lucky Me is her first novel. Visit her at debraborden.com.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Debra Borden
Published by Broadway (2006)
ISBN 10: 1400082226 ISBN 13: 9781400082223
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Broadway, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 1. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX1400082226

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Borden, Debra
Published by Broadway Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 1400082226 ISBN 13: 9781400082223
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Broadway Books, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P111400082226

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 36.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Borden, Debra
Published by Broadway Books
ISBN 10: 1400082226 ISBN 13: 9781400082223
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Broadway Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1400082226 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.1520310

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds