Neil Gaiman Stardust

ISBN 13: 9781401211905

Stardust

4.08 avg rating
( 286,998 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781401211905: Stardust
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Tristran Thorn is compelled to retrieve a fallen star for the woman he loves and crosses through the wondrous gate in the stone wall leading to the world of faerie, where he encounters dangerous rivals for the star.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Stardust is an utterly charming fairy tale in the tradition of The Princess Bride and The Neverending Story. Neil Gaiman, creator of the darkly elegant Sandman comics and author of The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish, tells the story of young Tristran Thorn and his adventures in the land of Faerie. One fateful night, Tristran promises his beloved that he will retrieve a fallen star for her from beyond the Wall that stands between their rural English town (called, appropriately, Wall) and the Faerie realm. No one ever ventures beyond the Wall except to attend an enchanted flea market that is held every nine years (and during which, unbeknownst to him, Tristran was conceived). But Tristran bravely sets out to fetch the fallen star and thus win the hand of his love. His adventures in the magical land will keep you turning pages as fast as you can--he and the star escape evil old witches, deadly clutching trees, goblin press-gangs, and the scheming sons of the dead Lord of Stormhold. The story is by turns thrillingly scary and very funny. You'll love goofy, earnest Tristran and the talking animals, gnomes, magic trees, and other irresistible denizens of Faerie that he encounters in his travels. Stardust is a perfect read-aloud book, a brand-new fairy tale you'll want to share with a kid, or maybe hoard for yourself. (If you read it to kids, watch out for a couple of spicy sex bits and one epithet.) --Therese Littleton

From the Publisher:

American Library Award Winner
Mythopoeic Award Winner
World Fantasy Award Winner - Best Artist

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 39.99
US$ 110.24

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Gaiman, Neil
Published by Vertigo
ISBN 10: 1401211909 ISBN 13: 9781401211905
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vertigo. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1401211909 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Seller Inventory # XM-1401211909

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 110.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Gaiman, Neil
Published by Vertigo (2007)
ISBN 10: 1401211909 ISBN 13: 9781401211905
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vertigo, 2007. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P111401211909

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 117.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Neil Gaiman
Published by Vertigo (2008)
ISBN 10: 1401211909 ISBN 13: 9781401211905
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vertigo, 2008. Hardcover. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1401211909

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 120.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Gaiman, Neil
Published by Vertigo
ISBN 10: 1401211909 ISBN 13: 9781401211905
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vertigo. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1401211909 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.0571658

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 147.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Neil Gaiman, Charles Vess (Illustrator)
Published by Vertigo (2007)
ISBN 10: 1401211909 ISBN 13: 9781401211905
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vertigo, 2007. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX1401211909

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 176.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds