Sorrow Floats: A Novel (GroVont series)

3.98 avg rating
( 1,032 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781402241734: Sorrow Floats: A Novel (GroVont series)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

"Tim Sandlin's stuff is as tight and funny as anyone doing this comedy novel thing." -Christopher Moore

Maurey has hit rock bottom, with a bottle of whiskey and an infamous reputation, she'll do anything to get out of town. Even drive two ex-drunks cross-country hauling a trailer full of illegal beer.

Everyone in GroVont, Wyoming, knows everybody else's business, but Maurey Pierce Talbot is practically famous around town.

Sunk low since her father died, whiskey - specifically Yukon Jack - is her best friend. When she makes the mistake of a lifetime, Maurey finds herself looking up from rock bottom.

So when two bumbling ex-drunks need to get cross-country with a trailer full of illegal beer, Maurey takes the wheel. Sometimes you just need to get out of town. And sometimes you need to get lost in order to get found.

The dark comedy and heartfelt revelations will appeal to fans of Jack Kerouac, Tom Robbins, Larry McMurtry, Joseph Heller, John Irving, Kurt Vonnegut, and Carl Hiaasen.

Other books in Tim Sandlin's GroVant Trilogy:
Skipped Parts, Book 1
Sorrow Floats, Book 2
Social Blunders, Book 3
Lydia, Book 4

What readers are saying about Sorrow Floats:

"I've never cheered harder for a fictional character."

"Maurey is an appealing character; her voice is strong and clear even if her path forward isn't."

"Being a huge fan of ROAD TRIPS AND RAUNCHINESS, I absolutely loved this book."

"Sandlin really allows you to feel her anger, pain, confusion and tenderness."

"Funny, kind of wise and sentimental at the end."

"It's required reading for women, alcoholics, tortured writers"

"Maurey Pierce is a flawed, broken, beautiful character... it's a NOVEL ABOUT BEING ALIVE."

"cathartic and deep"

"Favorite. Book. Ever."

What reviewers are saying about Sorrow Floats:

"Able storytelling and an engaging cast of dysfunctional modern American pilgrims..." -Publishers Weekly (STARRED REVIEW)

"A rousing piece of Americana...rowdy, raunchy...A TOTAL DELIGHT." -Library Journal

"Tim Sandlin's fiction packs a punch. The writer's fictional Wyoming town is a grungier version of Garrison Keillor's Lake Wobegon." -Denver Post

"A zany road trip across America" -Cosmopolitan"Sandlin understands that black comedy is only a tiny slip away from despair, and he handles this walk without a misstep." -Dallas Morning News

What everyone is saying about Tim Sandlin:

"Tim Sandlin's stuff is as tight and funny as anyone doing this comedy novel thing." -Christopher Moore

"His prose, his characters, all amazing."

"A story of grand faux pas and dazzling dysfunction...a wildly satirical look at the absurdities of modern life." -The New York Times Book Review

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap:

the small town of GroVont, Wyoming, knew everybody else's business -- kind of like the Watergate stuff that was flooding the airwaves. But twenty-two-year-old Maurey Pierce Talbot had her own problems. Sunk low since her father died, she was still writing postcards to him in San Fran. Whiskey was her best friend. But the kicker was misplacing her baby boy on the roof of her Bronco -- which sent her life into a downward spiral where the only way clear was getting out of state . . .

About the Author:

Tim Sandlin has published eight novels. Two of his screenplays have been made into movies. He turned forty with no phone, TV, or flush toilet and spent more time talking to the characters in his head than the people around him. He now has seven phone lines, four TVs he doesn't watch, three flush toilets, and a two-headed shower. He lives happily (indoors) with his family in Jackson, Wyoming.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Sandlin, Tim
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark
ISBN 10: 1402241739 ISBN 13: 9781402241734
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sourcebooks Landmark. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1402241739. Seller Inventory # Z1402241739ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Sandlin, Tim
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark
ISBN 10: 1402241739 ISBN 13: 9781402241734
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sourcebooks Landmark. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1402241739. Seller Inventory # Z1402241739ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Sandlin, Tim
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark
ISBN 10: 1402241739 ISBN 13: 9781402241734
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sourcebooks Landmark. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1402241739. Seller Inventory # Z1402241739ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Sandlin, Tim
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark 2010-09-01 (2010)
ISBN 10: 1402241739 ISBN 13: 9781402241734
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sourcebooks Landmark 2010-09-01, 2010. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. 1402241739. Seller Inventory # Z1402241739ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Sandlin, Tim
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark
ISBN 10: 1402241739 ISBN 13: 9781402241734
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sourcebooks Landmark. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1402241739. Seller Inventory # Z1402241739ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Sandlin, Tim
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark
ISBN 10: 1402241739 ISBN 13: 9781402241734
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sourcebooks Landmark. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1402241739. Seller Inventory # Z1402241739ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Tim Sandlin
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark (2010)
ISBN 10: 1402241739 ISBN 13: 9781402241734
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sourcebooks Landmark, 2010. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1402241739

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Tim Sandlin
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark (2010)
ISBN 10: 1402241739 ISBN 13: 9781402241734
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sourcebooks Landmark, 2010. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Seller Inventory # DADAX1402241739

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Sandlin, Tim
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark (2010)
ISBN 10: 1402241739 ISBN 13: 9781402241734
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sourcebooks Landmark, 2010. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P111402241739

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 41.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Sandlin, Tim
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark
ISBN 10: 1402241739 ISBN 13: 9781402241734
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sourcebooks Landmark. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1402241739 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.0575273

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 69.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book