Janet Lawler A Father's Song

ISBN 13: 9781402725012

A Father's Song

4.03 avg rating
( 33 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781402725012: A Father's Song

In lyrical and charming verse, a father expresses his deep love for his child. With its warm text and lively illustrations that capture a fun day at the park, it's the perfect Father's Day picture book.

I can lift you and roll you and fly all day long,

To bring on your laughter, as sweet as a song.

 

How many ways can dad show his love? He can lift his son high in the air, gather him close for a ride down the slide, make funny faces to ward away tears, and fly him around "like an airplane that swoops." Together, they'll roll in the leaves, go on the swings, and roar like lions. Best of all, the verse offers fathers plenty of opportunities to play as they read--to tussle and hug, and to make silly sounds and expressions. And that means kids will want their dads to share this with them over and over again. What a delightful celebration of the bond between father and child--and a tale to make Father's Day extra special.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From Booklist:

PreS. How many ways can a dad show his love? In this satisfying picture book, a father expresses his feelings in rhyme as he and his son spend a day together in the park. They slide, play tag, read, swing, wade in the water--until, at the end of the day, Dad carries his child home. The warmth in the father's voice is matched by the full-bleed, warmly hued illustrations, in yellows, greens, and blues, that reflect the pair's loving exuberance. The bond between parent and child, framed in everyday activities, is tender but never sappy: "If I gather you close / as we zoom down the slide, / you squeal with delight / as we go on our ride." Perfect for Father's Day. For more books on father-child relationships, see the Read-alikes: "A Day with Dad," in Booklist, June 1 & 15, 2005. Julie Cummins
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved

From School Library Journal:

PreSchool-Grade 1–A father expresses the joy he gets from spending a day in the park with his child, sharing simple experiences such as sliding, wading, and changing tears to giggles. Words and images work together to create a happy package of pleasant memories. The rhyming text is sweet and to the point. Corvinos soft illustrations fairly glow with sun-dappled colors. In the tradition of Sam McBratneys Guess How Much I Love You (Candlewick, 1995) and Nancy Tafuris I Love You, Little One (Scholastic, 1998), this is an excellent book for reading aloud and sharing one-to-one.–Kara Schaff Dean, Needham Public Library, MA
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Janet Lawler
Published by Sterling (2006)
ISBN 10: 1402725019 ISBN 13: 9781402725012
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sterling, 2006. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Lucy Corvino (illustrator). book. Bookseller Inventory # M1402725019

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Lawler, Janet
Published by Sterling (2006)
ISBN 10: 1402725019 ISBN 13: 9781402725012
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sterling, 2006. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P111402725019

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 33.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Lawler, Janet
Published by Sterling
ISBN 10: 1402725019 ISBN 13: 9781402725012
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sterling. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1402725019 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.1522685

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds