8.12 Michael Morpurgo Why the Whales Came

ISBN 13: 9781405229258

Why the Whales Came

3.9 avg rating
( 2,377 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781405229258: Why the Whales Came

Gracie and her friend Daniel have always been warned to stay away from the Birdman and his side of the island. But then they find a message in the sand and discover the Birdman is not who they thought. They build up a lovely friendship with him, but when the children get stranded on Samson Island they don’t know whether to believe the birdman’s story that the island is cursed. Set against the backdrop of World War I, in the tradition of Friend or Foe and Private Peaceful Michael Morpurgo brings the emotional reality of conflict to life in a way that is accessible to younger readers.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Michael Morpurgo is the author of more than 100 titles, including War Horse and Kensuke's Kingdom. His books have won many prizes, and he was the UK Children's Laureate from 2003-2005.

Review:

"The Scilly Islands off the English coast provide the setting for this well-written historical novel . . . good readers will find this a memorable adventure, no less immediate for its setting in the past." —Booklist

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Michael Morpurgo
ISBN 10: 140522925X ISBN 13: 9781405229258
New Quantity Available: 7
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97814052292580000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Morpurgo, Michael
Published by Egmont UK
ISBN 10: 140522925X ISBN 13: 9781405229258
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Sunshine Book Store
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Egmont UK. Book Condition: New. 140522925X Brand New, Choose Expedited shipping for GUARANTEED delivery within 4-5 business days. Standard Delivery within 6-14 business days. We may not ship to PO Box, APO , FPO Address, please contact us. Customer satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # EO_9781405229258

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Morpurgo Michael
Published by Egmont Books Limited
ISBN 10: 140522925X ISBN 13: 9781405229258
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Egmont Books Limited. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 3451371

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 2.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.08
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Michael Morpurgo
Published by Egmont Books Ltd (2007)
ISBN 10: 140522925X ISBN 13: 9781405229258
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Egmont Books Ltd, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000346526

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.56
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Michael Morpurgo
Published by Egmont Books Ltd 2007-02-05 (2007)
ISBN 10: 140522925X ISBN 13: 9781405229258
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Egmont Books Ltd 2007-02-05, 2007. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-BER-00198032

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.85
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Michael Morpurgo
Published by Egmont Books Ltd 2007-02-05 (2007)
ISBN 10: 140522925X ISBN 13: 9781405229258
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Egmont Books Ltd 2007-02-05, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-00600319

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.85
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Morpurgo, Michael
Published by Egmont (2011)
ISBN 10: 140522925X ISBN 13: 9781405229258
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
cbs distribution ltd
(Brecon, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Egmont, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000036585

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.43
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Michael Morpurgo
Published by Egmont UK Ltd 2017-03-09, London (2017)
ISBN 10: 140522925X ISBN 13: 9781405229258
New paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Egmont UK Ltd 2017-03-09, London, 2017. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9781405229258

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.86
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Michael Morpurgo
Published by Egmont (2017)
ISBN 10: 140522925X ISBN 13: 9781405229258
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Egmont, 2017. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # A205B9781405229258

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.51
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Morpurgo, Michael
Published by Egmont
ISBN 10: 140522925X ISBN 13: 9781405229258
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Egmont. Book Condition: New. 2007. New Ed. Paperback. Gracie and her friend have always been warned to stay away from the Birdman and his side of the island. But then, they discover the Birdman is not who they thought. They build up friendship with him, but when the children get stranded on Samson Island they don't know whether to believe the birdman's story that the island is cursed. Num Pages: 192 pages. BIC Classification: 5AH; YFC. Category: (JC) Children's (6-12). Dimension: 199 x 130 x 13. Weight in Grams: 138. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9781405229258

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book