Tassie and the Black Baron

3.5 avg rating
( 10 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781405242318: Tassie and the Black Baron

Brutus, the dastardly Black Baron, has challenged his wimpy cousin to a duel—a duel to the death! But all poor Prince Billy really wants to do is marry Lady Violetzka, and maybe write some badly rhyming poems. “Be proud my pounding heart, my knocking knees knock less. Stand firm my armour! (And my underpants and vest!) . . .” Enter Tassie Ripley, who travels back in time with a cunning plan to save the Prince. Her plan involves the hokey pokey, a talking horse, and a wax candle stuck to her head. With Tassie’s help, medieval history will read BRAVO FOR BILLY! and BASHINGS FOR BRUTUS! Readers will love the mad Ripley family—Tassie’s father ends up with his bottom stuck in a medieval toilet, and the diabolical Twins wreak havoc to save the day.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Katie Roy was a reporter for the British Forces Television.

From School Library Journal:

Grade 4–7—Huffington Castle may never recover from the attack—oops—visit of the Ripley family. They are loud, obnoxious, oblivious, self-centered, and childish—and that's just the parents. The Twins, Sam and Lil, are even worse. Eleven-year-old Tassie seems to be the most functional member of the group, which may be why Gramma, the time-traveling secret agent/elderly neighbor they've brought with them, sends her back to the early days of the castle, hopefully to stop 15-year-old Prince Billy from being destroyed by his cousin Brutus the Black Baron. Tassie comes up with a plan involving hay fever, overeating, and the odd song and dance number, and enlists the help of Billy's fiancée, along with the servants and local peasants. Unfortunately, Tassie's family has also traveled through time, wreaking havoc on both sides of the battle. Ultimately the Twins' form of evil genius is put to good use. This is super-silly slapstick of a particularly British nature, which may be confusing to American readers. Think Roald Dahl meets Captain Underpants and recommend accordingly.—Mara Alpert, Los Angeles Public Library
(c) Copyright 2011.  Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Roy, Katie
Published by Egmont
ISBN 10: 1405242310 ISBN 13: 9781405242318
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Egmont. Book Condition: New. 2010. Paperback. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # KIN0015414

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Roy, Katie
Published by Egmont (2010)
ISBN 10: 1405242310 ISBN 13: 9781405242318
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Rating
[?]

Book Description Egmont, 2010. Book Condition: New. 2010. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # KIN0015414

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Katie Roy
Published by .
ISBN 10: 1405242310 ISBN 13: 9781405242318
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
History Bookshop
(Bourton on the Water, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description . Paperback. Book Condition: NEW. Very light use, very minor shelf wear. Bookseller Inventory # HBS-00085912-B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.73
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Katie Roy
Published by Egmont UK Ltd, United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 1405242310 ISBN 13: 9781405242318
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Egmont UK Ltd, United Kingdom, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A medieval romp with a cast of bonkers characters in the vein of Blackadder and Horrible Histories. Be proud my pounding heart, my knocking knees knock less. Stand firm my armour! (And my underpants and vest!) . Brutus, the dastardly Black Baron, has challenged his wimpy cousin to a duel. A duel to the death! Poor Prince Billy .all he really wants to do is marry Lady Violetzka, and maybe write some badly rhyming poems. Enter Tassie Ripley - she travels back in time with a cunning plan to save the Prince. It involves the hokey kokey, a talking horse, and a wax candle stuck to her head. With Tassie s help, medieval history will read BRAVO FOR BILLY! and BASHINGS FOR BRUTUS! Tassie and the Black Baron is an off-the-wall, time-travelling adventure story that children can t get enough of. Bookseller Inventory # FLT9781405242318

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Katie Roy
Published by Egmont UK Ltd, United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 1405242310 ISBN 13: 9781405242318
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Egmont UK Ltd, United Kingdom, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A medieval romp with a cast of bonkers characters in the vein of Blackadder and Horrible Histories. Be proud my pounding heart, my knocking knees knock less. Stand firm my armour! (And my underpants and vest!) . Brutus, the dastardly Black Baron, has challenged his wimpy cousin to a duel. A duel to the death! Poor Prince Billy .all he really wants to do is marry Lady Violetzka, and maybe write some badly rhyming poems. Enter Tassie Ripley - she travels back in time with a cunning plan to save the Prince. It involves the hokey kokey, a talking horse, and a wax candle stuck to her head. With Tassie s help, medieval history will read BRAVO FOR BILLY! and BASHINGS FOR BRUTUS! Tassie and the Black Baron is an off-the-wall, time-travelling adventure story that children can t get enough of. Bookseller Inventory # FLT9781405242318

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Katie Roy
Published by Egmont Books Ltd (2010)
ISBN 10: 1405242310 ISBN 13: 9781405242318
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Learnearly Books
(Doncaster, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Egmont Books Ltd, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand new, Dispatched from UK within 3 working days by Royal Mail, will also post worldwide Rapidly dispatched worldwide from our clean, automated UK warehouse within 1-2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # K308

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.97
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Katie Roy
Published by Egmont UK (2010)
ISBN 10: 1405242310 ISBN 13: 9781405242318
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Egmont UK, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX1405242310

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Katie Roy
Published by Egmont UK (2010)
ISBN 10: 1405242310 ISBN 13: 9781405242318
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Egmont UK, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M1405242310

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds