HUSK - Husk

ISBN 13: 9781405914260

Husk

4.17 avg rating
( 148 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781405914260: Husk
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

From award-winning author J. Kent Messum, a serial killer thriller for fans of The Straw Men and The Shining Girls. LIFE GOES ON For a lucky few, death is merely an inconvenience. With the help of technology the mind can survive long after a body has been laid to rest. This afterlife, however, is far from paradise...MAKING A LIVING Rhodes is a 'Husk'. It's an illegal, controversial and highly lucrative job - renting out control of his body and mind to the highest bidder. It's a sure way to gain a better life, but some clients go too far. Sometimes, he wakes up with scars. MAKING A KILLING Then the visions start - terrible sights that haunt his waking hours. They could be dreams, or they could be something far worse - they just might be memories...Praise for J. Kent Messum: 'Raw, visceral, powerful ...may just make you question what it is to be human' Nick Cutter 'Pacy and surprising, Husk is a showcase for a wild and frightening imagination' Andrew Pyper 'Disturbing, pulse-pounding and utterly surprising' Megan Abbott, Edgar Award-winning author of Dare Me 'The stakes could be no higher in this crisply written, fast-paced novel that examines the shifting line between right and wrong, good and evil . ..Will keep readers turning pages late into the night' Lori Roy, Edgar-Award-winning author of Bent Road and Until She Comes Home 'A powerhouse debut ...A mesmerizing, one-sitting read' Steve Ulfelder, Edgar-Award finalist author of Purgatory Chasm and The Whole Lie

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

J. Kent Messum is a British-Canadian writer living in Toronto. Husk is his second novel, the follow-up to the award-winning Bait.

Review:

Raw, visceral, powerful ... may just make you question what it is to be human -- Nick Cutter Pacy and surprising, Husk is a showcase for a wild and frightening imagination -- Andrew Pyper Reading J. Kent Messum's Bait is like taking a high dive into black water. What you find in its murky depths is disturbing, pulse-pounding and utterly surprising. An exhilarating debut Megan Abbott, author of Dare Me The stakes could be no higher in this crisply written, fast-paced novel that examines the shifting line between right and wrong, good and evil. Bait will keep readers turning pages late into the night. Lori Roy, author of Bent Road and Until She Comes Home Jaws meets Lord of the Flies meets Drugstore Cowboy! A powerhouse debut. Steve Ulfelder, author of Purgatory Chasm and The Whole Lie

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

J. Kent Messum
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 1405914262 ISBN 13: 9781405914260
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. From award-winning author J. Kent Messum, a serial killer thriller for fans of The Straw Men and The Shining Girls.LIFE GOES ONFor a lucky few, death is merely an inconvenience. With the help of technology the mind can survive long after a body has been laid to rest. This afterlife, however, is far from paradise. MAKING A LIVING Rhodes is a Husk . It s an illegal, controversial and highly lucrative job - renting out control of his body and mind to the highest bidder. It s a sure way to gain a better life, but some clients go too far. Sometimes, he wakes up with scars. MAKING A KILLINGThen the visions start - terrible sights that haunt his waking hours. They could be dreams, or they could be something far worse - they just might be memories. Praise for J. Kent Messum: Raw, visceral, powerful . may just make you question what it is to be human Nick Cutter Pacy and surprising, Husk is a showcase for a wild and frightening imagination Andrew Pyper Disturbing, pulse-pounding and utterly surprising Megan Abbott, Edgar Award-winning author of Dare Me The stakes could be no higher in this crisply written, fast-paced novel that examines the shifting line between right and wrong, good and evil . Will keep readers turning pages late into the night Lori Roy, Edgar-Award-winning author of Bent Road and Until She Comes Home A powerhouse debut . A mesmerizing, one-sitting read Steve Ulfelder, Edgar-Award finalist author of Purgatory Chasm and The Whole Lie. Seller Inventory # AAU9781405914260

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

HUSK -
Published by Penguin Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 1405914262 ISBN 13: 9781405914260
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 2015. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # EH9781405914260

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

J. Kent Messum
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 1405914262 ISBN 13: 9781405914260
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. From award-winning author J. Kent Messum, a serial killer thriller for fans of The Straw Men and The Shining Girls.LIFE GOES ONFor a lucky few, death is merely an inconvenience. With the help of technology the mind can survive long after a body has been laid to rest. This afterlife, however, is far from paradise. MAKING A LIVING Rhodes is a Husk . It s an illegal, controversial and highly lucrative job - renting out control of his body and mind to the highest bidder. It s a sure way to gain a better life, but some clients go too far. Sometimes, he wakes up with scars. MAKING A KILLINGThen the visions start - terrible sights that haunt his waking hours. They could be dreams, or they could be something far worse - they just might be memories. Praise for J. Kent Messum: Raw, visceral, powerful . may just make you question what it is to be human Nick Cutter Pacy and surprising, Husk is a showcase for a wild and frightening imagination Andrew Pyper Disturbing, pulse-pounding and utterly surprising Megan Abbott, Edgar Award-winning author of Dare Me The stakes could be no higher in this crisply written, fast-paced novel that examines the shifting line between right and wrong, good and evil . Will keep readers turning pages late into the night Lori Roy, Edgar-Award-winning author of Bent Road and Until She Comes Home A powerhouse debut . A mesmerizing, one-sitting read Steve Ulfelder, Edgar-Award finalist author of Purgatory Chasm and The Whole Lie. Seller Inventory # AAU9781405914260

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Messum, J. Kent
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (2015)
ISBN 10: 1405914262 ISBN 13: 9781405914260
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, 2015. Condition: New. Rhodes is a 'Husk'. It's an illegal, controversial and highly lucrative job - renting out control of his body and mind to the highest bidder. It's a sure way to gain a better life, but some clients go too far. Sometimes, he wakes up with scars. Making A Killing. Then the visions start - terrible sights that haunt his waking hours. Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 130 x 197 x 24. Weight in Grams: 258. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9781405914260

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Messum, J. Kent
Published by Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN 10: 1405914262 ISBN 13: 9781405914260
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd. Condition: New. Rhodes is a 'Husk'. It's an illegal, controversial and highly lucrative job - renting out control of his body and mind to the highest bidder. It's a sure way to gain a better life, but some clients go too far. Sometimes, he wakes up with scars. Making A Killing. Then the visions start - terrible sights that haunt his waking hours. Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 130 x 197 x 24. Weight in Grams: 258. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9781405914260

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

J. Kent Messum
ISBN 10: 1405914262 ISBN 13: 9781405914260
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Not Signed; From award-winning author J. Kent Messum, a serial killer thriller for fans of The Straw Men and The Shining Girls. LIFE GOES ON For a lucky few, death is merely an inconvenience. With the help of technology the mind can survive long after a body has been laid to rest. This afterlife, however, is. book. Seller Inventory # ria9781405914260_rkm

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.17
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Messum, J. Kent
Published by Penguin UK
ISBN 10: 1405914262 ISBN 13: 9781405914260
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
WFL
(Holtsville, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin UK. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1405914262 Brand New ,Original Book , Direct from Source , Express 6-8 business days worldwide delivery. Seller Inventory # RB#BD56470

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.90
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

J. Kent Messum
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (2015)
ISBN 10: 1405914262 ISBN 13: 9781405914260
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, 2015. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # BB-9781405914260

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 12.03
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Messum, J. Kent
Published by Penguin (2015)
ISBN 10: 1405914262 ISBN 13: 9781405914260
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin, 2015. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 368 pages. 8.43x5.85x0.73 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __1405914262

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.02
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

HUSK -
Published by Penguin UK (2015)
ISBN 10: 1405914262 ISBN 13: 9781405914260
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin UK, 2015. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1405914262

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 24.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book