Items related to Farewell To The East End by Jennifer Worth (Paperback)

Farewell To The East End by Jennifer Worth (Paperback) - Softcover

4.29 avg rating
( 17,598 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781407228068: Farewell To The East End by Jennifer Worth (Paperback)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife

When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Jennifer Worth trained as a nurse at the Royal Berk-shire Hospital in Reading, and was later ward sister at the Elizabeth Garrett Anderson Hospital in London, then the Marie Curie Hospital, also in London. Music had always been her passion, and in 1973 she left nursing in order to study music intensively, teaching piano and singing for about twenty-five years. Jennifer died in May 2011 after a short illness, leaving her husband, Philip; two daughters; and three grandchildren. Her books have all been bestsellers in England.

Review:
'A sad farewell but a memorable and satisfying send-off' DAILY EXPRESS 'One would struggle to find a better descrption of a long-gone era and its heartening, forgotten values' SUNDAY BUSINESS POST

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherOrion Publishing Co
  • Publication date2009
  • ISBN 10 1407228064
  • ISBN 13 9781407228068
  • BindingPaperback
  • Rating
    4.29 avg rating
    ( 17,598 ratings by Goodreads )

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780753823064: Farewell to the East End. Jennifer Worth

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  ISBN 13:  9780753823064
Publisher: Phoenix, 2009
Softcover

9780062270061: Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End

Ecco, 2013
Softcover

9780297844655: Farewell to the East End

Weiden..., 2009
Hardcover

9781780224473: Farewell to the East End

Ecco, 2013
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Worth, Jennifer
Published by Orion Publishing Co (2009)
ISBN 10: 1407228064 ISBN 13: 9781407228068
New paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 1407228064-11-29497854

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 11.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Worth, Jennifer
Published by Orion Publishing Co (2009)
ISBN 10: 1407228064 ISBN 13: 9781407228068
New paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Gulf Coast Books
(Memphis, TN, U.S.A.)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 1407228064-11-29570163

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 11.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Worth, Jennifer
Published by Orion Publishing Co (2009)
ISBN 10: 1407228064 ISBN 13: 9781407228068
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Red's Corner LLC
(Brookhaven, GA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. All orders ship by next business day! This is a new paperback book. For USED books, we cannot guarantee supplemental materials such as CDs, DVDs, access codes and other materials. We are a small company and very thankful for your business!. Seller Inventory # 4CNO3H001EC1

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 6.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Worth, Jennifer
Published by Orion Publishing Co (2009)
ISBN 10: 1407228064 ISBN 13: 9781407228068
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GF Books, Inc.
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 1407228064-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 18.19
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Worth, Jennifer
Published by Orion Publishing Co (2009)
ISBN 10: 1407228064 ISBN 13: 9781407228068
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Book Deals
(Tucson, AZ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New! This book is in the same immaculate condition as when it was published. Seller Inventory # 353-1407228064-new

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 18.20
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Jennifer Worth
Published by Orion Publishing Co (2009)
ISBN 10: 1407228064 ISBN 13: 9781407228068
New Paperback Quantity: 5
Seller:
Orbiting Books
(Hereford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Next day dispatch from the UK (Mon-Fri). Please contact us with any queries. Seller Inventory # mon0000583547

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 3.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 15.19
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Jennifer Worth
Published by Orion Publishing Co (2009)
ISBN 10: 1407228064 ISBN 13: 9781407228068
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Bestsellersuk
(Hereford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. No.1 BESTSELLERS - great prices, friendly customer service " all orders are dispatched next working day. Seller Inventory # mon0000807359

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 3.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 15.19
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Jennifer Worth
Published by Orion Publishing Co (2009)
ISBN 10: 1407228064 ISBN 13: 9781407228068
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Learnearly Books
(Doncaster, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Rapidly dispatched worldwide from our clean, automated UK warehouse within 1-2 working days. Seller Inventory # mon0000282060

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 6.48
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 37.98
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds