The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike)

3.85 avg rating
( 400,545 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781408703991: The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

This edition of the book is from the UK, where JK Rowling, the author is from! The Cuckoo's Calling is a 2013 crime fiction novel by J. K. Rowling, published under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith. A brilliant mystery in a classic vein: Detective Cormoran Strike investigates a supermodel's suicide. After losing his leg to a land mine in Afghanistan, Cormoran Strike is barely scraping by as a private investigator. Strike is down to one client, and creditors are calling. He has also just broken up with his longtime girlfriend and is living in his office. Then John Bristow walks through his door with an amazing story: His sister, thelegendary supermodel Lula Landry, known to her friends as the Cuckoo, famously fell to her death a few months earlier. The police ruled it a suicide, but John refuses to believe that. The case plunges Strike into the world of multimillionaire beauties, rock-star boyfriends, and desperate designers, and it introduces him to every variety of pleasure, enticement, seduction, and delusion known to man. You may think you know detectives, but you've never met one quite like Strike. You may think you know about the wealthy and famous, but you've never seen them under an investigation like this.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Robert Galbraith is a pseudonym for J.K. Rowling, author of the Harry Potter series and The Casual Vacancy. Cormoran Strike returns in Galbraith's second novel, The Silkworm.

Review:

"Combines a complex and compelling sleuth and an equally well-formed and unlikely assistant with a baffling crime...A stellar debut."―Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Plenty of twists...Totally engrossing...Galbraith's take on contemporary celebrity obsession makes for a grand beach read."―Library Journal, starred review (Mystery Debut of the Month)

"A remarkably assured debut. Robert Galbraith's portrayal of celebrity-obsessed modern London is at once beautifully written and utterly engrossing, his characters so real you could eat dinner with them, his ever-coiling plot guaranteed to keep you up past your bedtime. I couldn't put it down."Owen Laukkanen, author of The Professionals

"a strong and enticing read ... It's a gripping tale set in bustling London, and the author - whether called Galbraith or Rowling - shows superb flair as a mystery writer"―Irish Examiner

"It's really, really good - beautifully written with a terrific plot ... It's a terrific read, gripping, original and funny ... Please, please give us more of Robert Galbraith and Cormoran Strike. I can't wait for the next"―Richard and Judy, Daily Express

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780751549256: The Cuckoo's Calling

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0751549258 ISBN 13:  9780751549256
Publisher: Sphere, 2014
Softcover

9780316206853: The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike)

Mulhol..., 2014
Softcover

9780316206846: The Cuckoo's Calling (A Cormoran Strike Novel (1))

Mulhol..., 2013
Hardcover

9780751571400: The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike Book 1

Sphere, 2017
Softcover

9780316348645: The Cuckoo's Calling (A Cormoran Strike Novel (1))

Mulhol..., 2015
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Robert Galbraith
Published by Mulholland Books/Little, Brown and Company (2013)
ISBN 10: 1408703998 ISBN 13: 9781408703991
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Mulholland Books/Little, Brown and Company, 2013. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # MB00POFD2EC

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.78
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

J.K.Rowling,Robert Galbraith
Published by Sphere (2013)
ISBN 10: 1408703998 ISBN 13: 9781408703991
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Start At Page 1
(Wisbech, NFK, United Kingdom)

Book Description Sphere, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. Brand new book in pristine condition. Seller Inventory # A1408703998SRH

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 41.12
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

ROBERT GALBRAITH AKA J K ROWLING
Published by SPHERE (2013)
ISBN 10: 1408703998 ISBN 13: 9781408703991
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rosalind Salter
(Penzance, United Kingdom)

Book Description SPHERE, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 2nd Edition. Brand new and unread UK second edition hardback book with an unclipped dustwrapper published in 2013 by Sphere in fine condition. A lovely copy. The second edition status of the book is confirmed by the words Reprinted 2013(twice) on the copyright page. Seller Inventory # ABE-1547124870297

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 32.05
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 15.26
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Robert Galbraith
Published by Sphere (2013)
ISBN 10: 1408703998 ISBN 13: 9781408703991
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
First.Editions1st
(Wolverhampton, United Kingdom)

Book Description Sphere, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First (1st) Edition. Book is Unread . Front/Back: New . Spine: New . 2nd printing (error mistakenly stated 2nd reprint 2013) . Seller Inventory # 1897

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 57.69
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 22.16
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Galbraith, Robert
Published by Sphere (2013)
ISBN 10: 1408703998 ISBN 13: 9781408703991
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Alpha 2 Omega Books BA
(Southampton, HANTS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Sphere, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. Mint condition.Sphere,2013.First UK edition-3rd reprint.Black hardback(gilt lettering to the spine, two small dents on the edges of the cover) with Dj(two small creases and nicks on the edges of the Dj cover,both in mint condition.The book is new.449pp.Price un-clipped.Heavy book. This is another paragraph Book Description: When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger .A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries. Seller Inventory # 7438

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 70.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 16.80
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Robert Galbraith
Published by Sphere (2013)
ISBN 10: 1408703998 ISBN 13: 9781408703991
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
First.Editions1st
(Wolverhampton, United Kingdom)

Book Description Sphere, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First (1st) Edition. Book is Unread . Front/Back: New . Spine: New . 2nd printing (error mistakenly stated 2nd reprint 2013) . Seller Inventory # 1558

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 95.52
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 22.16
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Robert Galbraith
Published by Sphere (2013)
ISBN 10: 1408703998 ISBN 13: 9781408703991
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
First.Editions1st
(Wolverhampton, United Kingdom)

Book Description Sphere, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First (1st) Edition. Book is Unread . Front/Back: New . Spine: New . 2nd printing (error mistakenly stated 2nd reprint 2013) . Seller Inventory # 1557

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 95.52
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 22.16
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

ROBERT GALBRAITH (SIGNED) AKA J K ROWLING
Published by Sphere, LONDON, UK (2013)
ISBN 10: 1408703998 ISBN 13: 9781408703991
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Long Acre Books
(Stevenage, United Kingdom)

Book Description Sphere, LONDON, UK, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. NICE CLEAN AND TIGHT UK FIRST EDITION FIRST PRINT COPIES OF THE CUCKOO'S CALLING AND ALSO THE SECOND BOOK SILWORM BY ROBERT GALBRAITH A PSEUDONYM FOR NONE OTHER THEN J K ROWLING,WHICH HAVE BEEN SIGNED TO THE TITLE PAGE. SILKWORM ALSO HAS THE J K ROWLING HOLOGRAM. BOOKS ARE IN PROTECTIVE CLEAR ACETATE COVERS, ALL BOOKS DESPATCHED WRAPPED IN BUBBLE WRAP AND A CARDBOARD BOX. Signed by Author(s). Seller Inventory # 001089

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4,487.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 21.60
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds