This Thing of Darkness: Fiona Griffiths Crime Thriller Series Book 4

4.29 avg rating
( 1,074 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781409152712: This Thing of Darkness: Fiona Griffiths Crime Thriller Series Book 4
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A hanged man, a stolen painting, an impossible crime A marine engineer is found hanged in a locked apartment. Some artwork is stolen, then mysteriously returned. A security guard is found dead at the base of a Welsh cliff. When Fiona Griffiths is tasked to look through a stackload of cold cases, her bosses don't expect her to find anything of interest. But then she finds that an impossible robbery really happened. That a nailed-on suicide was anything but. That the dead security guard was almost certainly murdered. Before long, Fiona is embroiled in what will become the toughest case of her career so far - one that forces her to enter the heart of darkness, and a journey that will test her mental toughness to its very limits. This international hit series is ideal for fans of Stieg Larsson, Gillian Flynn, Jo Nesbo ...and for anyone at all who loves their crime noir and their female protagonists strong, brave and smart. Watch out for more titles in the Fiona Griffiths crime thriller series When Fiona is called out to attend an incident in a remote country churchyard, she finds the corpse of a young woman, reverentially laid out in a howling October night. She suspects murder ...but the truth is far worse. THE DEAD HOUSE. Coming 2016. Don't miss it!

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Harry Bingham is a successful author as well as running The Writers' Workshop, an editorial consultancy for first-time writers, and organising the York Festival of Writing. He lives near Oxford. To find out more about Harry, visit: www.harrybingham.com www.writersworkshop.com www.agenthunter.co.uk

Review:

Exceptional ... Absorbing ... Fiona's narrative sears the pages. Kirkus Reviews Very exciting ... well informed and well written. Read this novel. Literary Review Bingham's novels always contain something unexpected. This fast-moving novel contains some of the most ingenious murder methods in modern crime fiction. The Sunday Times Gritty, compelling ... a [police] procedural unlike any other you are likely to read this year. USA Today With Detective Constable Fiona 'Fi' Griffiths, Harry Bingham ... finds a sweet spot in crime fiction ... think Stieg Larsson's Lisbeth Salander ... Denise Mina's 'Paddy' Meehan [or] Lee Child's Jack Reacher ... The writing is terrific. Boston Globe Fiona Griffiths may be the most fascinating protagonist in fiction. She is similar to Lisbeth Salander, an intelligent but profoundly damaged young woman, but Fiona is less hostile and more curious, sort of a good guy sociopath. I couldn't put it down. This is definitely one of my very favorite thriller series. I love this character and I hope I have the chance to read many more. Harry Bingham is a genius and one hell of a writer. Audrey, Top 500 Reviewer A stunner with precision plotting, an unusual setting, and a deeply complex protagonist ... We have the welcome promise of more books to come. The Seattle Times A dark delight, and I look forward to Fiona's future struggles with criminals, her demons and the mysteries of her past. Washington Post The easiest five stars I've ever award a book. Fiona Griffiths is by far the most original detective I've come across ... [the book] made me feel breathless with worry, concern and eventually fear for Fiona. Loretta Milan An even more intense plot and richer character study than his first ... Fiona's past mental problems and unconventional personality make her a distinctive lead. Publishers Weekly, (starred review) Some of the most memorably staccato narration in the genre ... [Bingham's] remote, unquenchable heroine makes her stand apart from every one of her procedural brothers and sisters. Kirkus Reviews Compelling ... a new crime talent to treasure. Daily Mail

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781409152729: This Thing of Darkness: Fiona Griffiths Crime Thriller Series Book 4

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1409152723 ISBN 13:  9781409152729
Publisher: Orion, 2016
Softcover

9781515292340: This Thing of Darkness (Fiona Griffiths Crime Thriller Series) (Volume 4)

Create..., 2015
Softcover

9781409152705: This Thing of Darkness

Orion, 2015
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Bingham, Harry
Published by Orion (2015)
ISBN 10: 1409152715 ISBN 13: 9781409152712
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Goldstone Books
(Llandybie, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion, 2015. Paperback. Condition: Good. All orders are dispatched the following working day from our UK warehouse. Established in 2004, we have over 500,000 books in stock. No quibble refund if not completely satisfied. Seller Inventory # mon0002168176

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 10.81
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.96
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Bingham, Harry
Published by Orion (2015)
ISBN 10: 1409152715 ISBN 13: 9781409152712
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
WeBuyBooks
(Rossendale, LANCS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion, 2015. Paperback. Condition: Good. Ex Library Book with usual stamps and stickers. Slight tan to the page edges. Good condition is defined as: a copy that has been read but remains in clean condition. All of the pages are intact and the cover is intact and the spine may show signs of wear. The book may have minor markings which are not specifically mentioned. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day. Seller Inventory # mon0009785992

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 10.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Bingham, Harry
ISBN 10: 1409152715 ISBN 13: 9781409152712
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Seller Inventory # GOR006957506

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 10.77
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Bingham, Harry
ISBN 10: 1409152715 ISBN 13: 9781409152712
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Good. The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine. Seller Inventory # GOR007071397

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 10.77
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Bingham, Harry
Published by Orion (2015)
ISBN 10: 1409152715 ISBN 13: 9781409152712
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion, 2015. Paperback. Condition: Good. USED BUT OTHERWISE OF GOOD QUALITY ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0003760068

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 10.78
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Bingham, Harry
Published by Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) (2015)
ISBN 10: 1409152715 ISBN 13: 9781409152712
Used Quantity Available: 6
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ), 2015. Condition: Good. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP85649691

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 12.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.42
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Bingham, Harry
Published by Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) (2015)
ISBN 10: 1409152715 ISBN 13: 9781409152712
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ), 2015. Condition: Good. Ships from the UK. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP93821780

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 12.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.42
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Bingham, Harry
Published by Orion (2015)
ISBN 10: 1409152715 ISBN 13: 9781409152712
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Greener Books
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion, 2015. Paperback. Condition: Used; Good. ex library copy, **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!. Seller Inventory # 3347501

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 14.30
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Published by Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
ISBN 10: 1409152715 ISBN 13: 9781409152712
Used PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ). PAPERBACK. Condition: Very Good. 1409152715 Ships promptly from Texas. Seller Inventory # Z1409152715Z2

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 37.62
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Published by Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
ISBN 10: 1409152715 ISBN 13: 9781409152712
Used PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ). PAPERBACK. Condition: Fair. 1409152715 Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Seller Inventory # POXM-1409152715

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 33.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book