Ordinary Grace (Thorndike Press Large Print Mystery)

4.15 avg rating
( 44,222 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781410458223: Ordinary Grace (Thorndike Press Large Print Mystery)

Looking back at a tragic event that occurred during his thirteenth year, Frank Drum explores how a complicated web of secrets, adultery, and betrayal shattered his Methodist family and their small 1961 Minnesota community.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

For the last twenty years, William Kent Krueger has made his home in St. Paul, Minnesota, with his wife and two children. His Cork O’Connor novels, Iron Lake (winner of the 1998 Anthony Award for Best First Novel and the Barry Award), Boundary Waters, Purgatory Ridge, Blood Hollow (winner of the 2004 Anthony Award for Best Novel), and Mercy Falls (winner of the 2005 Anthony Award for Best Novel) - as well as the political thriller The Devil’s Bed - are available from Atria Books.

Review:

“A pitch-perfect, wonderfully evocative examination of violent loss. In Frank Drum's journey away from the shores of childhood—a journey from which he can never return—we recognize the heartbreaking price of adulthood and its 'wisdoms.' I loved this book.” (Dennis Lehane, New York Times bestselling author of Live by Night and The Given Day)

“Krueger’s elegy for innocence is a deeply memorable tale.” (Washington Post)

“A respected mystery writer turns his attention to the biggest mystery of all: God. An award-winning author for his long-running Cork O’ Connor series, Krueger aims higher and hits harder with a standalone novel that shares much with his other work.... 'the awful grace of God,' as it manifests itself within the novel, would try the faith of the most devout believer. Yet, ultimately, the world of this novel is one of redemptive grace and mercy, as well as unidentified corpses and unexplainable tragedy. A novel that transforms narrator and reader alike.” (Kirkus Reviews (starred))

“...elegiac, evocative.... a resonant tale of fury, guilt, and redemption.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Once in a blue moon a book drops down on your desk that demands to be read. You pick it up and read the first page, and then the second, and you are hooked. Such a book is Ordinary Grace...This is a book that makes the reader feel better just by having been exposed to the delights of the story. It will stay with you for quite some time and you will always remember it with a smile.” (Huffington Post)

“One cannot read Ordinary Grace without feeling as if it is destined to be hailed as a classic work of literature. Ordinary Grace is one of those very rare books in which one regrets reaching its end, knowing that the experience of having read it for the first time will never be repeated. Krueger, who is incapable of writing badly, arguably has given us his masterpiece.” (BookReporter.com)

“My best read so far this year.” (ReviewingtheEvidence.com)

“A thoughtful literary mystery that is wholly compelling and will appeal to fans of Dennis Lehane and Tom Franklin. . . Don’t take the title too literally, for Krueger has produced something that is anything but ordinary.” (BookPage)

“Not often does a story feel at once fresh and familiar. But Ordinary Grace, a new novel from William Kent Krueger, is both, and it is affecting.” (Denver Post)

Ordinary Grace is engaging from the first page, a quiet novel that unfurls its sad story slowly, but eloquently, leaving its mark on your heart.” (The Missourian)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Krueger, William Kent
ISBN 10: 1410458229 ISBN 13: 9781410458223
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 19594691-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 26.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Krueger, William Kent
ISBN 10: 1410458229 ISBN 13: 9781410458223
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VD-9781410458223

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 25.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Krueger, William Kent
ISBN 10: 1410458229 ISBN 13: 9781410458223
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 4149495

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 35.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

William Kent Krueger
Published by Thorndike Press, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 1410458229 ISBN 13: 9781410458223
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thorndike Press, United States, 2013. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Large type / large print edition. Language: English . Brand New Book. That was it. That was all of it. A grace so ordinary there was no reason at all to remember it. Yet I have never across the forty years since it was spoken forgotten a single word. New Bremen, Minnesota, 1961. The Twins were playing their debut season, ice-cold root beers were selling out at the soda counter of Halderson s Drugstore, and Hot Stuff comic books were a mainstay on every barbershop magazine rack. It was a time of innocence and hope for a country with a new, young president. But for thirteen-year-old Frank Drum it was a grim summer in which death visited frequently and assumed many forms. Accident. Nature. Suicide. Murder. Frank begins the season preoccupied with the concerns of any teenage boy, but when tragedy unexpectedly strikes his family-- which includes his Methodist minister father; his passionate, artistic mother; Juilliard-bound older sister; and wise-beyond-his-years kid brother-- he finds himself thrust into an adult world full of secrets, lies, adultery, and betrayal, suddenly called upon to demonstrate a maturity and gumption beyond his years. Told from Frank s perspective forty years after that fateful summer, Ordinary Grace is a brilliantly moving account of a boy standing at the door of his young manhood, trying to understand a world that seems to be falling apart around him. It is an unforgettable novel about discovering the terrible price of wisdom and the enduring grace of God. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9781410458223

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 37.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

William Kent Krueger
Published by Thorndike Press, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 1410458229 ISBN 13: 9781410458223
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thorndike Press, United States, 2013. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Large type / large print edition. Language: English . Brand New Book. That was it. That was all of it. A grace so ordinary there was no reason at all to remember it. Yet I have never across the forty years since it was spoken forgotten a single word. New Bremen, Minnesota, 1961. The Twins were playing their debut season, ice-cold root beers were selling out at the soda counter of Halderson s Drugstore, and Hot Stuff comic books were a mainstay on every barbershop magazine rack. It was a time of innocence and hope for a country with a new, young president. But for thirteen-year-old Frank Drum it was a grim summer in which death visited frequently and assumed many forms. Accident. Nature. Suicide. Murder. Frank begins the season preoccupied with the concerns of any teenage boy, but when tragedy unexpectedly strikes his family-- which includes his Methodist minister father; his passionate, artistic mother; Juilliard-bound older sister; and wise-beyond-his-years kid brother-- he finds himself thrust into an adult world full of secrets, lies, adultery, and betrayal, suddenly called upon to demonstrate a maturity and gumption beyond his years. Told from Frank s perspective forty years after that fateful summer, Ordinary Grace is a brilliantly moving account of a boy standing at the door of his young manhood, trying to understand a world that seems to be falling apart around him. It is an unforgettable novel about discovering the terrible price of wisdom and the enduring grace of God. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9781410458223

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 38.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Krueger, William Kent
Published by Thorndike Press (2013)
ISBN 10: 1410458229 ISBN 13: 9781410458223
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thorndike Press, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # BKTY9781410458223

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 34.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

William Kent Krueger
Published by Thorndike Press
ISBN 10: 1410458229 ISBN 13: 9781410458223
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thorndike Press. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9781410458223

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 34.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.29
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Krueger, William Kent
Published by Thorndike Press 2013-06-26 (2013)
ISBN 10: 1410458229 ISBN 13: 9781410458223
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thorndike Press 2013-06-26, 2013. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatched within 2 working days from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-BNT-01215954

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 41.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Krueger, William Kent
Published by Thorndike Pr (2013)
ISBN 10: 1410458229 ISBN 13: 9781410458223
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thorndike Pr, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. large print edition. 497 pages. 8.75x5.75x1.25 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # z-1410458229

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 39.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.03
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

William Kent Krueger
Published by Thorndike Press, Waterville, Maine
ISBN 10: 1410458229 ISBN 13: 9781410458223
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thorndike Press, Waterville, Maine. hardback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9781410458223

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 39.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.03
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book