The House at Riverton: A Novel

3.93 avg rating
( 81,379 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781416550532: The House at Riverton: A Novel

The House at Riverton is a gorgeous debut novel set in England between the wars. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it is the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death and a way of life that vanished forever, told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all and kept a secret for decades.

Grace Bradley went to work at Riverton House as a servant when she was just a girl, before the First World War. For years her life was inextricably tied up with the Hartford family, most particularly the two daughters, Hannah and Emmeline.

In the summer of 1924, at a glittering society party held at the house, a young poet shot himself. The only witnesses were Hannah and Emmeline and only they -- and Grace -- know the truth.

In 1999, when Grace is ninety-eight years old and living out her last days in a nursing home, she is visited by a young director who is making a film about the events of that summer. She takes Grace back to Riverton House and reawakens her memories. Told in flashback, this is the story of Grace's youth during the last days of Edwardian aristocratic privilege shattered by war, of the vibrant twenties and the changes she witnessed as an entire way of life vanished forever.

The novel is full of secrets -- some revealed, others hidden forever, reminiscent of the romantic suspense of Daphne du Maurier. It is also a meditation on memory, the devastation of war and a beautifully rendered window into a fascinating time in history.

Originally published to critical acclaim in Australia, already sold in ten countries and a #1 bestseller in England, The House at Riverton is a vivid, page-turning novel of suspense and passion, with characters -- and an ending -- the reader won't soon forget.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Amazon Best of the Month, April 2008: In her cinematic debut novel, Kate Morton immerses readers in the dramas of the Ashbury family at their crumbling English country estate in the years surrounding World War I, an age when Edwardian civility, shaken by war, unravels into the roaring Twenties. Grace came to serve in the house as a girl. She left as a young woman, after the presumed suicide of a famous young poet at the property's lake. Though she has dutifully kept the family's secrets for decades, memories flood back in the twilight of her life when a young filmmaker comes calling with questions about how the poet really died--and why the Ashbury sisters never again spoke to each other afterward. With beautifully crafted prose, Morton methodically reveals how passion and fate transpired that night at the lake, with truly shocking results. Her final revelation at the story's close packs a satisfying (and not overly sentimental) emotional punch. --Mari Malcolm

About the Author:

Kate Morton, a native Australian, holds degrees in dramatic art and English literature. She lives with her family in Brisbane, Australia.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kate Morton
Published by Washington Square Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
pickabook
(San francisco, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Washington Square Press, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000172370

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Morton, Kate
Published by Washington Square Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Dionysos Books
(Arabi, LA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Washington Square Press, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New item. May have light shelf wear. Bookseller Inventory # 170528005

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Morton, Kate
Published by Simon and Schuster
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon and Schuster. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 1416550534

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Morton, Kate
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2009. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VS-9781416550532

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Morton, Kate
Published by Washington Square Press 2009-03-03 (2009)
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Washington Square Press 2009-03-03, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9781416550532B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Morton, Kate
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
New Quantity Available: 18
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2009. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9781416550532

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Morton, Kate
Published by Washington Square Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BegoraBooks
(Aurora, CO, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Washington Square Press, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New paperback. Bookseller Inventory # F9-RK8Q-XI4C

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Morton, Kate
Published by Washington Square Press 3/3/2009 (2009)
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Washington Square Press 3/3/2009, 2009. Paperback or Softback. Book Condition: New. The House at Riverton. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9781416550532

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Morton, Kate
Published by Washington Square Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Washington Square Press, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 1416550534

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Kate Morton
Published by SIMON SCHUSTER, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description SIMON SCHUSTER, United States, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. The House at Riverton is a gorgeous debut novel set in England between the wars. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it is the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death and a way of life that vanished forever, told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all and kept a secret for decades. Grace Bradley went to work at Riverton House as a servant when she was just a girl, before the First World War. For years her life was inextricably tied up with the Hartford family, most particularly the two daughters, Hannah and Emmeline. In the summer of 1924, at a glittering society party held at the house, a young poet shot himself. The only witnesses were Hannah and Emmeline and only they -- and Grace -- know the truth. In 1999, when Grace is ninety-eight years old and living out her last days in a nursing home, she is visited by a young director who is making a film about the events of that summer. She takes Grace back to Riverton House and reawakens her memories. Told in flashback, this is the story of Grace s youth during the last days of Edwardian aristocratic privilege shattered by war, of the vibrant twenties and the changes she witnessed as an entire way of life vanished forever. The novel is full of secrets -- some revealed, others hidden forever, reminiscent of the romantic suspense of Daphne du Maurier. It is also a meditation on memory, the devastation of war and a beautifully rendered window into a fascinating time in history. Originally published to critical acclaim in Australia, already sold in ten countries and a #1 bestseller in England, The House at Riverton is a vivid, page-turning novel of suspense and passion, with characters -- and an ending -- the reader won t soon forget. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9781416550532

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book