Further Chronicles of Avonlea

9781420939149: Further Chronicles of Avonlea
View all copies of this ISBN edition:

Lucy Maud Montgomery is best known for her "Anne" series, starting with "Anne of Green Gables". A lifelong writer, Montgomery wrote her first poem at nine years old. Many of her stories, and the characters within them, were written from an autobiographical stance. "Further Chronicles of Avonlea", published in 1920, is a sequel to her "Chronicles of Avonlea". This sequel created a great deal of controversy as it was published without the consent of the author, and led to a nine-year-long legal battle between Montgomery and her publishers, L. C. Page & Co., from which Montgomery won $18,000. This collection includes: "Aunt Cynthia's Persian Cat," "The Materializing of Cecil," "Her Father's Daughter," "Jane's Baby," "The Dream-Child," "The Brother Who Failed," "The Return of Hester," "The Little Brown Book of Miss Emily," "Sara's Way," "The Son of his Mother," "The Education of Betty," "In Her Selfless Mood," "The Conscience Case of David Bell," "Only a Common Fellow," and "Tannis of the Flats."

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Publisher:

Nestled between the ocean and the hills of Prince Edward Island is a road that leads to the house where a girl named Anne grew up, Green Gables, and to the wonderful place called Avonlea. In this second volume of heartwarming tales a Persian cat plays an astonishing part in a marriage proposal . . . a ghostly appearance in a garden leads a woman to the fulfillment of her youthful dreams . . . a young girl risks losing her mother to find the father she never knew . . . and a foolish lie threatens to make an unattached woman the town's laughingstock when an imaginary lover comes to town for real! Filled with warmth, humor, and mystery, these unforgettable stories re-create the enchanting world of Avonlea.

About the Author:

Lucy Maud Montgomery (November 30, 1874 – April 24, 1942) was a Canadian author best known for a series of novels beginning in 1908 with Anne of Green Gables. The book was an immediate success. The central character, Anne Shirley, an orphaned girl, made Montgomery famous in her lifetime and gave her an international following. The first novel was followed by a series of sequels with Anne as the central character. Montgomery went on to publish 20 novels as well as 530 short stories, 500 poems, and 30 essays. Most of the novels were set in Prince Edward Island, and locations within Canada's smallest province became a literary landmark and popular tourist site—namely Green Gables farm, the genesis of Prince Edward Island National Park. She was made an officer of the Order of the British Empire in 1935.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:

Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780553213812: Further Chronicles of Avonlea (L.M. Montgomery Books)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0553213814 ISBN 13:  9780553213812
Publisher: Starfire, 1989

9781547044931: Further Chronicles of Avonlea (Chronicles of Avonlea (Anne of Green Gables)) (Volume 2)

Create..., 2017

9781617200151: Further Chronicles of Avonlea

SMK Books, 2014

9780848811006: Further Chronicles of Avonlea

Amereo..., 2001

9780259316411: Further Chronicles of Avonlea: Which Have to Do With Many Personalities and Events in and About Avonlea, the Home of the Heroine of Queen Gables (Classic Reprint)

Forgot..., 2018