Lynn Maddalena Menna Piece of My Heart

ISBN 13: 9781440561054

Piece of My Heart

3.26 avg rating
( 74 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781440561054: Piece of My Heart

Still in high school, Marisol Reyes gets the chance of a lifetime to be a real singer, and she leaps at it. After all, this is the dream she held on to, all the days and nights she spent growing up on means streets of East Harlem. Marisol never gave in--no matter what her boyfriend or her best friend had to say. Who cares if only one in a hundred pretty, talented girls make it? She will be the one. In her rush to fame, Marisol tramples on the heart of her loyal best friend, and Julian, the boy she loves. But will it be worth it?

One night at a private gig in the Hamptons, the little Latino girl with the big voice from East Harlem gets a severe reality check. A famous rapper who claims to be interested in her talents turns out to be interested in something else, threatening not only Marisol's dreams but her body and soul. Will the realities of the gritty New York music scene put out the stars in Marisol's eyes forever?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Lynn Maddalena Mena, a former teacher, saw the beauty, talent, and radiant hopes of so many students like her character Marisol, and was inspired by wondering where those hopes would go in ten years. A magazine journalist and essayist, she lives in New Jersey with her husband, Prospero. Piece of My Heart is her first novel.

Review:

"Menna's first novel is an optimistic story about preserving one's identity and morals amid the engulfing world of celebrity. Fashionistas and pop-culture junkies should enjoy the lavish descriptions of New York City's rich and famous." --Publishers Weekly

"Piece of My Heart is about having to balance who you're becoming with who you've always been. It's easier said than done! Those sappy backstories on The Voice and American Idol get you every time. You'll be rooting for Marisol every step of the way." --Seventeen.com

Piece of My Heart is perfect for YA audiences. I feel that many young girls will be able to identify to Marisol and the struggles she faces to becoming a successful singer. Over all, enjoyable read." --Kawehi's Book Blog

"This story is a key-hole view into the life of an upcoming musical artist. Unlike most novels I've read in the past couple of months, I find myself actually liking the main character. Marisol had spunk and fire. But she wasn't so hot-blooded as to run into a situation without her head on her shoulders. Lynn Menna really makes her characters so believable that I felt a deeper understanding of each character. In all, Piece of My Heart was a rather energetic read and shows that as long as you put the elbow grease in, anything is attainable." --The Young Folks

"The book . . . has a positive and uplifting feel to it. I could recommend it for a younger audience." --Ellie Reads Fiction blog

"I found this book to be a really quick read. The author does . . . give a nice quick look into what a raising star has to endure to make their dreams come true. Overall this was a good book. A nice showing for new author, Lynn Maddalena Menna." --Cheryl's Book Nook

"I found Piece of My Heart captivating. I really like that the story lets the main character learn some life lessons. Not everything can be learned at school." --Barefoot Dokusha

"I cannot wait to read more from Menna. She captured everyone's voices perfectly." --Book Whirlwind

"I always love a sassy protagonist . . . I was immediately intrigued with her story. Entertaining, juicy, and full of the drama reminiscent of reality television. If you like dramatic situations, then you might like this one." --Confessions of a Book Addict

"This was a great book and a great story and obviously I loved that it revolved around music." --Concert Katie

"This book was an easy read with a good story line." -Just Us Girls

"Fans of Jessica Alba's Honey and Channing Tatum's Step Up will love this story." --Justine Magazine

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 17.95
US$ 5.99

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Menna, Lynn Maddalena
Published by F+W Media, Inc. 2013-06-18 (2013)
ISBN 10: 1440561052 ISBN 13: 9781440561054
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 17
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description F+W Media, Inc. 2013-06-18, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9781440561054B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Lynn Maddalena Menna
Published by Simon and Schuster
ISBN 10: 1440561052 ISBN 13: 9781440561054
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon and Schuster. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 1440561052

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Menna, Lynn Maddalena
Published by Simon Pulse
ISBN 10: 1440561052 ISBN 13: 9781440561054
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon Pulse. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1440561052 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # NATARAJB1FI928034

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Lynn Madelenna Menna
Published by Adams Media Corporation, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 1440561052 ISBN 13: 9781440561054
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Adams Media Corporation, United States, 2013. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Still in high school, Marisol Reyes gets the chance of a lifetime to be a real singer, and she leaps at it. After all, this is the dream she held on to, all the days and nights she spent growing up on means streets of East Harlem. Marisol never gave in--no matter what her boyfriend or her best friend had to say. Who cares if only one in a hundred pretty, talented girls make it? She will be the one. In her rush to fame, Marisol tramples on the heart of her loyal best friend, and Julian, the boy she loves. But will it be worth it?One night at a private gig in the Hamptons, the little Latino girl with the big voice from East Harlem gets a severe reality check. A famous rapper who claims to be interested in her talents turns out to be interested in something else, threatening not only Marisol s dreams but her body and soul. Will the realities of the gritty New York music scene put out the stars in Marisol s eyes forever?. Bookseller Inventory # BZV9781440561054

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Lynn Madelenna Menna
Published by Adams Media Corporation, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 1440561052 ISBN 13: 9781440561054
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Adams Media Corporation, United States, 2013. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Still in high school, Marisol Reyes gets the chance of a lifetime to be a real singer, and she leaps at it. After all, this is the dream she held on to, all the days and nights she spent growing up on means streets of East Harlem. Marisol never gave in--no matter what her boyfriend or her best friend had to say. Who cares if only one in a hundred pretty, talented girls make it? She will be the one. In her rush to fame, Marisol tramples on the heart of her loyal best friend, and Julian, the boy she loves. But will it be worth it?One night at a private gig in the Hamptons, the little Latino girl with the big voice from East Harlem gets a severe reality check. A famous rapper who claims to be interested in her talents turns out to be interested in something else, threatening not only Marisol s dreams but her body and soul. Will the realities of the gritty New York music scene put out the stars in Marisol s eyes forever?. Bookseller Inventory # BZV9781440561054

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Lynn Maddalena Menna
Published by Simon Pulse (2013)
ISBN 10: 1440561052 ISBN 13: 9781440561054
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon Pulse, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M1440561052

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Menna, Lynn Maddalena
Published by Simon Pulse
ISBN 10: 1440561052 ISBN 13: 9781440561054
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ohmsoft LLC
(Lake Forest, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon Pulse. Book Condition: New. Worldwide shipping. FREE fast shipping inside USA (express 2-day delivery also available). Tracking service included. Ships from United States of America. Bookseller Inventory # 1440561052

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Menna, Lynn Maddalena
Published by Merit Pr (2013)
ISBN 10: 1440561052 ISBN 13: 9781440561054
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Merit Pr, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. 239 pages. 9.00x6.00x0.75 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # 1440561052

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 36.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.05
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Lynn Madelenna Menna
ISBN 10: 1440561052 ISBN 13: 9781440561054
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover. Still in high school, Marisol Reyes gets the chance of a lifetime to be a real singer, and she leaps at it. After all, this is the dream she held on to, all the days and night.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 240 pages. 0.431. Bookseller Inventory # 9781440561054

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 37.00
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds