Claire Legrand Foxheart

ISBN 13: 9781441740632

Foxheart

3.9 avg rating
( 297 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781441740632: Foxheart

Foxheart is a classic fantasy-adventure about the danger of lies and the power of truth, the strength found in friendship, and the value of loving and being loved even if it means risking your heart. Full of magic, adventure, and an original and compelling cast of characters, Foxheart is a fast-paced fantasy reminiscent of Howl's Moving Castle.

Orphan. Thief. Witch. Twelve-year-old Quicksilver lives as a thief in the sleepy town of Willow-on-the-River. Her only companions are her faithful dog and partner in crime, Fox -- and Sly Boots, the shy boy who lets her live in his attic when it's too cold to sleep on the rooftops. It's a lonesome life, but Quicksilver is used to being alone. When you are alone, no one can hurt you. No one can abandon you. Then one day Quicksilver discovers that she can perform magic. Real magic. The kind that isn't supposed to exist anymore. Magic is forbidden, but Quicksilver nevertheless wants to learn more. With real magic, she could become the greatest thief who ever lived. She could maybe even find her parents. What she does find, however, is much more complicated and surprising

Acclaimed author Claire Legrand's stunning and original novel will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Claire Legrand's first novel was The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, a New York Public Library Best Book for Children in 2012. She is also the author of The Year of Shadows and Winterspell, a young adult retelling of The Nutcracker. She is one of the four authors behind The Cabinet of Curiosities anthology, a Junior Library Guild selection and a NYPL Best Book for Children in 2014.

Review:

“Heart-pounding adventure, a commitment to remaining true to oneself, and deft storytelling distinguish Legrand’s epic action-fantasy. ...Legrand digs deeply into the need for (and power inherent in) connection and the friendships forged by shared adversity.” (Publishers Weekly (starred review))

“Claire Legrand’s fantastically spooky The Year of Shadows will keep you turning its pages well into the night, even though the floorboards are creaking and funny shapes lurk in the corner of your eye.” (Anne Ursu, author of Breadcrumbs)

“Charming and creepy... An enormously fun-and shivery-read.” (Sarah Prineas, author of The Magic Thief)

“Insidiously creepy, searingly sinister, and spine-tinglingly fun, this book also presents a powerful message about friendship and the value of individuality.” (School Library Journal)

THE YEAR OF SHADOWS: “Legrand has created a horror-tinged tale of triumph over loss and the destructive nature of hopelessness, that is full of well-rounded characters, a spooky gothic mood, and eerie glimpses into the past lives of the ghosts.” (ALA Booklist)

“Snappy dialogue and creative fantasy elements-bloodthirsty unicorns, a dragon who collects teapots and is scared of ghosts-will delight seasoned fantasy readers, while the power of friendship between Girl and Fox gives the story depth.” (The Horn Book)

“The beating heart of the story...is the bond between Quicksilver and Fox...Those touched by the girl/wolf story in Rundell’s The Wolf Wilder will be drawn to the theme and find a similarly strange but successful mix of wit, pathos, and action here.” (Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books)

“Legrand fills her story with magic, danger, and suspense, and places two fiery female protagonists at its helm. ...Give to readers looking to go on a fantastic adventure.” (Booklist)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 39.99
US$ 28.81

Convert Currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Claire Legrand
Published by Greenwillow Books (2016)
ISBN 10: 1441740635 ISBN 13: 9781441740632
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Greenwillow Books, 2016. CD-Audio. Book Condition: New. Unabridged. Language: English . Brand New. Foxheart is a classic fantasy-adventure about the danger of lies and the power of truth, the strength found in friendship, and the value of loving and being loved . even if it means risking your heart. Full of magic, adventure, and an original and compelling cast of characters, Foxheart is a fast-paced fantasy reminiscent of Howl s Moving Castle.Orphan. Thief. Witch. Twelve-year-old Quicksilver lives as a thief in the sleepy town of Willow-on-the-River. Her only companions are her faithful dog and partner in crime, Fox--and Sly Boots, the shy boy who lets her live in his attic when it s too cold to sleep on the rooftops. It s a lonesome life, but Quicksilver is used to being alone. When you are alone, no one can hurt you. No one can abandon you. Then one day Quicksilver discovers that she can perform magic. Real magic. The kind that isn t supposed to exist anymore. Magic is forbidden, but Quicksilver nevertheless wants to learn more. With real magic, she could become the greatest thief who ever lived. She could maybe even find her parents. What she does find, however, is much more complicated and surprising .Acclaimed author Claire Legrand s stunning and original novel will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9781441740632

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 28.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Legrand, Claire
Published by Blackstone Pub (2016)
ISBN 10: 1441740635 ISBN 13: 9781441740632
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blackstone Pub, 2016. CMD. Book Condition: New. New Audiobook. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # KA-9781441740632

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Claire Legrand
Published by Greenwillow Books (2016)
ISBN 10: 1441740635 ISBN 13: 9781441740632
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Greenwillow Books, 2016. CD-Audio. Book Condition: New. Unabridged. Language: English . Brand New. Foxheart is a classic fantasy-adventure about the danger of lies and the power of truth, the strength found in friendship, and the value of loving and being loved . even if it means risking your heart. Full of magic, adventure, and an original and compelling cast of characters, Foxheart is a fast-paced fantasy reminiscent of Howl s Moving Castle.Orphan. Thief. Witch. Twelve-year-old Quicksilver lives as a thief in the sleepy town of Willow-on-the-River. Her only companions are her faithful dog and partner in crime, Fox--and Sly Boots, the shy boy who lets her live in his attic when it s too cold to sleep on the rooftops. It s a lonesome life, but Quicksilver is used to being alone. When you are alone, no one can hurt you. No one can abandon you. Then one day Quicksilver discovers that she can perform magic. Real magic. The kind that isn t supposed to exist anymore. Magic is forbidden, but Quicksilver nevertheless wants to learn more. With real magic, she could become the greatest thief who ever lived. She could maybe even find her parents. What she does find, however, is much more complicated and surprising .Acclaimed author Claire Legrand s stunning and original novel will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9781441740632

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 34.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Claire Legrand
Published by Greenwillow Books 2016-10-04 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1441740635 ISBN 13: 9781441740632
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Greenwillow Books 2016-10-04, 2016. audio CD. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9781441740632

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 34.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.03
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Claire Legrand
Published by Greenwillow Books (2016)
ISBN 10: 1441740635 ISBN 13: 9781441740632
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Greenwillow Books, 2016. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # TH9781441740632

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 39.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.52
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Legrand, Claire
Published by Blackstone Audio Inc (2016)
ISBN 10: 1441740635 ISBN 13: 9781441740632
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blackstone Audio Inc, 2016. Audio CD. Book Condition: Brand New. unabridged audio edition. 1 pages. 5.75x5.25x0.75 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # z-1441740635

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 56.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.03
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds