Everything That Rises Must Converge

4.27 avg rating
( 16,263 ratings by Goodreads )
9781441753793: Everything That Rises Must Converge
View all copies of this ISBN edition:

This collection of nine short stories by Flannery O'Connor was published posthumously in 1965. The flawed characters of each story are fully revealed in apocalyptic moments of conflict and violence that are presented with comic detachment. The title story is a tragicomedy about social pride, racial bigotry, generational conflict, false liberalism, and filial dependence. The protagonist, Julian Chestny, is hypocritically disdainful of his mother's prejudices, but his smug selfishness is replaced with childish fear when she suffers a fatal stroke after being struck by a black woman she has insulted out of oblivious ignorance rather than malice. Similarly, ''The Comforts of Home'' is about an intellectual son with an Oedipus complex. Driven by the voice of his dead father, the son accidentally kills his sentimental mother in an attempt to murder a harlot. The other stories are ''A View of the Woods,'' ''Parker's Back,'' ''The Enduring Chill,'' ''Greenleaf,'' ''The Lame Shall Enter First,'' ''Revelation,'' and ''Judgment Day.''

Flannery O'Connor was working on Everything That Rises Must Converge at the time of her death. This collection is an exquisite legacy from a genius of the American short story, in which she scrutinizes territory familiar to her readers: race, faith, and morality. The stories encompass the comic and the tragic, the beautiful and the grotesque; each carries her highly individual stamp and could have been written by no one else.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

FLANNERY O'CONNOR was born in Savannah, Georgia, in 1925. When she died at the age of thirty-nine, America lost one of its most gifted writers at the height of her powers. She is also the author of The Violent Bear It Away and Wise Blood. The first fiction writer born in the twentieth century to have her works collected and published by the Library of America, O'Connor is a member of the Georgia Writers Hall of Fame and won the Rinehart-Iowa Fiction Award for a first novel.


The current volume of posthumous stories is the work of a master, a writer's writer -- but a reader's too -- an incomparable craftsman who wrote, let it be said, some of the finest stories in our language. --Newsweek

All in all they comprise the best collection of shorter fiction to have been published in America during the past twenty years. --Book Week

When I read Flannery O'Connor, I do not think of Hemingway, or Katherine Anne Porter, or Sartre, but rather of someone like Sophocles. What more can you say for a writer? I write her name with honor, for all the truth and all the craft with which she shows man's fall and his dishonor. --Thomas Merton

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:

Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780374504649: Everything That Rises Must Converge: Stories (FSG Classics)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0374504644 ISBN 13:  9780374504649
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1965

9780374150129: Everything That Rises Must Converge

Farrar..., 1965

9780451031778: Everything That Rises Must Converge

Signet, 1967

9780571066049: Every Thing That Rises Must Converge

Farrar..., 1965

9780140028362: Everything That Rises Must Converge

Farra,..., 1975