Items related to The Nest

Oppel, Kenneth The Nest

ISBN 13: 9781443438629

The Nest

3.74 avg rating
( 10,168 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781443438629: The Nest
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Kenneth Oppel’s most haunting story yet . . .

She was very blurry, not at all human looking. There were huge dark eyes, and a kind of mane made of light, and when she spoke, I couldn't see a mouth moving, but I felt her words, like a breeze against my face, and I understood her completely.

"We've come because of the baby," she said. "We've come to help."

In this beautiful, menacing novel, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Coraline, an anxious boy becomes convinced that angels will save his sick baby brother. But these are creatures of a very different kind, and their plan for the baby has a twist. Layer by layer, he unravels the truth about his new friends as the time remaining to save his brother ticks down.

With evocative and disquieting illustrations by Caldecott Medal– and Governor General’s Award–winning artist Jon Klassen, The Nest is an unforgettable journey into one boy’s deepest insecurities and darkest fears.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

KENNETH OPPEL wrote his first novel at age fourteen and hasn’t looked back. His books include the Silverwing series, which has sold over a million copies around the world; Airborn, winner of a Governor General’s Award and the Michael L. Printz Award; and his latest, Inkling, which the New York Times called “astonishing.” Ken Oppel lives with his family in Toronto. You can find him online at kennethoppel.ca and on Twitter at @kennethoppel.

 



Jon Klassen grew up in Niagara Falls, Canada, and now lives in Los Angeles, California. He is the Caldecott Award-winning author and illustrator of I Want My Hat Back and This Is Not My Hat, as well as the illustrator of Sam and Dave Dig a Hole and Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett; The Dark by Lemony Snicket; House Held Up by Trees by Ted Kooser; Cats' Night Out by Caroline Stutson; and the first three books in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place series.

Excerpt. Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved.:
The Nest


THE FIRST TIME I SAW them, I thought they were angels. What else could they be, with their pale gossamer wings and the music that came off them, and the light that haloed them? Right away there was this feeling they’d been watching and waiting, that they knew me. They appeared in my dreams the tenth night after the baby was born.

Everything was a bit out of focus. I was standing in some kind of beautiful cave, with shimmering walls like white fabric, lit from outside. The angels were all peering down at me, floating in the air. Only one came close, so luminous and white. I don’t know how, but I knew it was a she. Light flowed from her. She was very blurry, not at all human-looking. There were huge dark eyes, and a kind of mane made of light, and when she spoke, I couldn’t see a mouth moving, but I felt her words, like a breeze against my face, and I understood her completely.

“We’ve come because of the baby,” she said. “We’ve come to help.”

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy Used
Condition: Very Good
Light rubbing wear to cover, spine... Learn more about this copy

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781481432337: The Nest

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  ISBN 13:  9781481432337
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Y..., 2016
Softcover

9781481432320: The Nest

Simon ..., 2015
Hardcover

9781910200872: The Nest

David ..., 2017
Softcover

9781910200865: The Nest

David ...
Hardcover

9781443438636: The Nest

Harper..., 2016
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Kenneth Oppel
Published by HarperCollins (2015)
ISBN 10: 1443438626 ISBN 13: 9781443438629
Used Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Discover Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: VERY GOOD. Klassen, Jon (illustrator). Light rubbing wear to cover, spine and page edges. Very minimal writing or notations in margins not affecting the text. Possible clean ex-library copy, with their stickers and or stamp(s). Seller Inventory # 3422197773

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Kenneth Oppel
Published by HarperCollins (2015)
ISBN 10: 1443438626 ISBN 13: 9781443438629
Used Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Bayside Books
(Ogden, UT, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: VERY GOOD. Klassen, Jon (illustrator). Light rubbing wear to cover, spine and page edges. Very minimal writing or notations in margins not affecting the text. Possible clean ex-library copy, with their stickers and or stamp(s). Seller Inventory # 3642535706

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Oppel, Kenneth
Published by HarperCollins (2015)
ISBN 10: 1443438626 ISBN 13: 9781443438629
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity: 1
Seller:
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: Good. Klassen, Jon (illustrator). 1St Edition. Used book that is in clean, average condition without any missing pages. Seller Inventory # 9040067-75

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Oppel, Kenneth
Published by HarperCollins (2015)
ISBN 10: 1443438626 ISBN 13: 9781443438629
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity: 1
Seller:
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: As New. Klassen, Jon (illustrator). 1St Edition. Used book that is in almost brand-new condition. Seller Inventory # 16005068-75

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Oppel, Kenneth
Published by HarperCollins (2015)
ISBN 10: 1443438626 ISBN 13: 9781443438629
Used Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks-Atlanta
(AUSTELL, GA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: Good. No Jacket. Klassen, Jon (illustrator). Pages can have notes/highlighting. Spine may show signs of wear. ~ ThriftBooks: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G1443438626I3N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 8.57
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Oppel, Kenneth
Published by HarperCollins (2015)
ISBN 10: 1443438626 ISBN 13: 9781443438629
Used Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks-Dallas
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: As New. No Jacket. Klassen, Jon (illustrator). Pages are clean and are not marred by notes or folds of any kind. ~ ThriftBooks: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G1443438626I2N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 8.57
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Oppel, Kenneth; Klassen, Jon (Illus.)
Published by HarperCollinsPublishers (2015)
ISBN 10: 1443438626 ISBN 13: 9781443438629
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity: 3
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)

Book Description Condition: Very Good. Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good. Klassen, Jon (illustrator). First (1st) Canadian Edition, First Printing. Seller Inventory # FORT340296

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 9.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.99
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Oppel, Kenneth; Klassen, Jon (Illus.)
Published by HarperCollinsPublishers (2015)
ISBN 10: 1443438626 ISBN 13: 9781443438629
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity: 4
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)

Book Description Condition: Very Good. Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good. Klassen, Jon (illustrator). In our warehouse First (1st) Canadian Edition, First Printing. Seller Inventory # JAM490680

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 9.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.99
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Kenneth Oppel
Published by Harper/Collins Publishers Toronto (2015)
ISBN 10: 1443438626 ISBN 13: 9781443438629
Used Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity: 1
Seller:
M.A.D. fiction
(Grimsby, ON, Canada)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: As New. Dust Jacket Condition: As New. Klassen, Jon (illustrator). 1st Edition. First Canadian edition stated second printing of an as new hardcover in an as new acetate dustjacket. Featuring Steve whose newborn baby brother is sick and worrisome. He takes his anxiety to bed and a mysterious wasp queen invades his dreams offering to fix the baby and the adventure begins. This copy is inscribed and signed by the author on the title page. Young adult fiction. Inscribed by Author. Seller Inventory # 729

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 35.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 18.95
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds