Items related to The Nest

Oppel, Kenneth The Nest

ISBN 13: 9781443438636

The Nest

3.74 avg rating
( 10,168 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781443438636: The Nest
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A New York Times Editor’s Choice and a Best Book of the Year in the Globe and Mail, Publishers Weekly, Horn Book, School Library Journal and The Wall Street Journal, called “a masterpiece” (Globe and Mail) and now in paperback

She was very blurry, not at all human looking. There were huge dark eyes, and a kind of mane made of light, and when she spoke, I couldn’t see a mouth moving, but I felt her words, like a breeze against my face, and I understood her completely.

”We’ve come because of the baby,” she said. “We’ve come to help.”

In this beautiful, menacing novel, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Coraline, an anxious boy becomes convinced that angels will save his sick baby brother. But these are creatures of a very different kind, and their plan for the baby has a twist. Layer by layer, the boy unravels the truth about his new friends as the time remaining to save his brother ticks down.

With evocative and disquieting illustrations by Caldecott Medal– and Governor General’s Award–winning artist Jon Klassen, The Nest is an unforgettable journey into one boy’s deepest insecurities and darkest fears.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

KENNETH OPPEL wrote his first novel at age fourteen and hasn’t looked back. His books include the Silverwing series, which has sold over a million copies around the world; Airborn, winner of a Governor General’s Award and the Michael L. Printz Award; and his latest, Inkling, which the New York Times called “astonishing.” Ken Oppel lives with his family in Toronto. You can find him online at kennethoppel.ca and on Twitter at @kennethoppel.

 



Jon Klassen grew up in Niagara Falls, Canada, and now lives in Los Angeles, California. He is the Caldecott Award-winning author and illustrator of I Want My Hat Back and This Is Not My Hat, as well as the illustrator of Sam and Dave Dig a Hole and Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett; The Dark by Lemony Snicket; House Held Up by Trees by Ted Kooser; Cats' Night Out by Caroline Stutson; and the first three books in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place series.

Excerpt. Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved.:
The Nest


THE FIRST TIME I SAW them, I thought they were angels. What else could they be, with their pale gossamer wings and the music that came off them, and the light that haloed them? Right away there was this feeling they’d been watching and waiting, that they knew me. They appeared in my dreams the tenth night after the baby was born.

Everything was a bit out of focus. I was standing in some kind of beautiful cave, with shimmering walls like white fabric, lit from outside. The angels were all peering down at me, floating in the air. Only one came close, so luminous and white. I don’t know how, but I knew it was a she. Light flowed from her. She was very blurry, not at all human-looking. There were huge dark eyes, and a kind of mane made of light, and when she spoke, I couldn’t see a mouth moving, but I felt her words, like a breeze against my face, and I understood her completely.

“We’ve come because of the baby,” she said. “We’ve come to help.”

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy Used
Condition: Very Good
May have limited writing in cover... Learn more about this copy

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781481432337: The Nest

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  ISBN 13:  9781481432337
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Y..., 2016
Softcover

9781481432320: The Nest

Simon ..., 2015
Hardcover

9781910200872: The Nest

David ..., 2017
Softcover

9781910200865: The Nest

David ...
Hardcover

9781443438629: The Nest

Harper..., 2015
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Oppel, Kenneth
Published by HarperTrophy (2016)
ISBN 10: 1443438634 ISBN 13: 9781443438636
Used Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks-Atlanta
(AUSTELL, GA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Very Good. No Jacket. Klassen, Jon (illustrator). May have limited writing in cover pages. Pages are unmarked. ~ ThriftBooks: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G1443438634I4N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 9.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Oppel, Kenneth
Published by HarperTrophy (2016)
ISBN 10: 1443438634 ISBN 13: 9781443438636
Used Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks-Atlanta
(AUSTELL, GA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: As New. No Jacket. Klassen, Jon (illustrator). Pages are clean and are not marred by notes or folds of any kind. ~ ThriftBooks: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G1443438634I2N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 9.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Oppel, Kenneth
Published by Harpertrophy, Toronto (2016)
ISBN 10: 1443438634 ISBN 13: 9781443438636
Used Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
BISON BOOKS - ABAC/ILAB
(Winnipeg, MB, Canada)

Book Description Paperback. Klassen, Jon (illustrator). pp. 244. 8vo. Black & white illustrations. Light shelfwear; very good+. Seller Inventory # 077025

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 7.50
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.99
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds