Minette Walters Cellar, The: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9781443448949

Cellar, The: A Novel

3.4 avg rating
( 1,552 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781443448949: Cellar, The: A Novel

The terrifying new novel from bestselling crime writer Minette Walters, award-winning author of The Chameleon’s Shadow and The Sculptress

“Muna’s fortunes changed for the better on the day that Mr. and Mrs. Songoli’s younger son failed to come home from school.”

Before then her bedroom was a dark windowless cellar, her activities confined to cooking and cleaning. She’d grown used to being mistreated by the Songoli family; to being a slave.

She’s never been outside, doesn’t know how to read or write, and cannot speak English.

At least that’s what the Songolis believe.

But Muna is far smarter—and her plans more terrifying—than the Songolis, or anyone else, could ever imagine. . .

“Walters takes the suspense novel into new territory.” —THE NEW YORK TIMES

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

From internationally bestselling crime writer Minette Walters comes The Cellar—a harrowing and compulsively readable novel about a family of African immigrants and the dark secret they keep hidden in the depths of their seemingly respectable British home.

On the day Mr. and Mrs. Songoli’s ten-year-old son fails to come home from school, fourteen-year-old Muna’s fortunes change for the better. Until then, her bedroom has been a dank, windowless cellar, her activities confined to cooking and cleaning. Over the years, she has grown used to being abused by the Songoli family—physically, emotionally, and even sexually. She has grown used to being their slave.

With the son’s disappearance, Scotland Yard swarms the Songoli home, led by a savvy female inspector who isn’t afraid to ask hard questions. To keep up appearances, Muna is given a real bedroom and real clothing, and she is treated, at least nominally, as a daughter. But when the police leave the premises, she must once again call her captors “Princess” and “Master,” and her world remains confined. She is not allowed to go outside, doesn’t know how to read or write, and cannot speak English. At least that’s what the Songolis believe. Before long, it becomes clear that young Muna is far cleverer—and her plans far more terrifying—than the Songolis, or anyone else, could ever imagine. 

For fans of Ruth Rendell and P. D. James, The Cellar reveals a terrifying world far from the public
eye, and shows what happens when humanity is pushed to its very limit.

About the Author:

Minette Walters is an internationally bestselling author with more than 25 million copies of her books sold worldwide. She is the author of twelve novels, winning the CWA John Creasey Award for The Ice House, the Edgar Allan Poe Award for The Sculptress and two CWA Gold Daggers for The Scold’s Bridle and Fox Evil. She lives in Dorset with her husband. After a break of 10 years, she is bursting on to the literary scene with her first stunning historical novel, The Last Hours.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 16.93
US$ 5.99

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Walters, Minette
Published by HarperCollins Publishers 2016-02-23 (2016)
ISBN 10: 144344894X ISBN 13: 9781443448949
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers 2016-02-23, 2016. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9781443448949B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Minette Walters
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2016)
ISBN 10: 144344894X ISBN 13: 9781443448949
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2016. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M144344894X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 30.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds