The Dead Lands

ISBN 13: 9781444770032

The Dead Lands

3.44 avg rating
( 2,573 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781444770032: The Dead Lands

Like Stephen King's The Stand before it, THE DEAD LANDS is an incredible novel set across the sprawling landscape of a nightmarish post-apocalyptic American West. The world we know is gone, destroyed by a virus that wiped out nearly every human on the planet. Some few survivors built walled cities, fortresses to keep themselves safe from those the virus didn't kill...but did change. Sanctuary. A citadel in the heart of the former United States of America. Hundreds of miles in every direction beyond its walls lies nothing but death and devastation. Everyone who lives in the safety Sanctuary provides knows that. Until the day a stranger appears. She speaks of a green and fertile land far to the west, a land of promise and plenty, safe from the ruin the virus has wreaked. She has come to lead the survivors away from Sanctuary, to the promise of a new life without walls. But those who follow her will discover that not everything she says is true.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Benjamin Percy is the award-winning author of the novel, The Wilding (forthcoming from Graywolf, September 28, 2010), as well as two books of short stories, Refresh, Refresh (Graywolf, 2007) and The Language of Elk (Carnegie Mellon, 2006). Publishers Weekly gave The Wilding a starred review, saying "Percy's excellent debut novel...digs into the ambiguous American attitude toward nature as it oscillates between Thoreau's romantic appreciation and sheer gothic horror... It's as close as you can get to a contemporary Deliverance." Percy's honors include a Whiting Writers Award, the Plimpton Prize, the Pushcart Prize, and inclusion in Best American Short Stories. His fiction and nonfiction appear in Esquire (where he is a regular contributor), Outside, Men's Journal, the Paris Review, Orion, Tin House, Ploughshares, Glimmer Train, and many other magazines and journals. He teaches in the MFA program at Iowa State and can be found online at benjaminpercy.com.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Benjamin Percy
Published by Hodder Stoughton General Division, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 1444770039 ISBN 13: 9781444770032
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Stoughton General Division, United Kingdom, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Like Stephen King s The Stand before it, THE DEAD LANDS is an incredible novel set across the sprawling landscape of a nightmarish post-apocalyptic American West.The world we know is gone, destroyed by a virus that wiped out nearly every human on the planet. Some few survivors built walled cities, fortresses to keep themselves safe from those the virus didn t kill. but did change.Sanctuary. A citadel in the heart of the former United States of America. Hundreds of miles in every direction beyond its walls lies nothing but death and devastation. Everyone who lives in the safety Sanctuary provides knows that. Until the day a stranger appears. She speaks of a green and fertile land far to the west, a land of promise and plenty, safe from the ruin the virus has wreaked. She has come to lead the survivors away from Sanctuary, to the promise of a new life without walls.But those who follow her will discover that not everything she says is true. Bookseller Inventory # KNV9781444770032

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Percy, Benjamin
Published by Hodder & Stoughton (2015)
ISBN 10: 1444770039 ISBN 13: 9781444770032
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
cbs distribution ltd
(Brecon, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder & Stoughton, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. . ***. Bookseller Inventory # ABC669650

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.70
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Benjamin Percy
Published by Hodder Stoughton General Division, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 1444770039 ISBN 13: 9781444770032
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Stoughton General Division, United Kingdom, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Like Stephen King s The Stand before it, THE DEAD LANDS is an incredible novel set across the sprawling landscape of a nightmarish post-apocalyptic American West.The world we know is gone, destroyed by a virus that wiped out nearly every human on the planet. Some few survivors built walled cities, fortresses to keep themselves safe from those the virus didn t kill. but did change.Sanctuary. A citadel in the heart of the former United States of America. Hundreds of miles in every direction beyond its walls lies nothing but death and devastation. Everyone who lives in the safety Sanctuary provides knows that. Until the day a stranger appears. She speaks of a green and fertile land far to the west, a land of promise and plenty, safe from the ruin the virus has wreaked. She has come to lead the survivors away from Sanctuary, to the promise of a new life without walls.But those who follow her will discover that not everything she says is true. Bookseller Inventory # KNV9781444770032

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Percy, Benjamin
ISBN 10: 1444770039 ISBN 13: 9781444770032
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Publisher/Verlag: Hodder & Stoughton | Benjamin Percy's epic novel is the unputdownable story of an impossibly dangerous journey of hope taken at the end of the world, perfect for fans of Stephen King and Cormac McCarthy. | Like Stephen King's The Stand before it, THE DEAD LANDS is an incredible novel set across the sprawling landscape of a nightmarish post-apocalyptic American West.The world we know is gone, destroyed by a virus that wiped out nearly every human on the planet. Some few survivors built walled cities, fortresses to keep themselves safe from those the virus didn't kill. but did change.Sanctuary. A citadel in the heart of the former United States of America. Hundreds of miles in every direction beyond its walls lies nothing but death and devastation. Everyone who lives in the safety Sanctuary provides knows that.Until the day a stranger appears. She speaks of a green and fertile land far to the west, a land of promise and plenty, safe from the ruin the virus has wreaked. She has come to lead the survivors away from Sanctuary, to the promise of a new life without walls.But those who follow her will discover that not everything she says is true. | Format: Hardback | Language/Sprache: english | 680 gr | 242x162x33 mm | 416 pp. Bookseller Inventory # K9781444770032

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.52
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Percy, Benjamin
Published by Hodder & Stoughton (2015)
ISBN 10: 1444770039 ISBN 13: 9781444770032
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
AMM Books
(Gillingham, KENT, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder & Stoughton, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. In stock ready to dispatch from the UK. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000151195

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.04
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Percy, Benjamin
Published by Hodder & Stoughton (2015)
ISBN 10: 1444770039 ISBN 13: 9781444770032
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
smeikalbooks
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder & Stoughton, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Brand new book. Fast shipping form our UK warehouse in eco-friendly packaging. Fast, efficient and friendly customer service. Bookseller Inventory # 9781444770032N

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.40
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Benjamin Percy
Published by Hodder & Stoughton Ltd (2015)
ISBN 10: 1444770039 ISBN 13: 9781444770032
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder & Stoughton Ltd, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M1444770039

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 35.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Benjamin Percy
Published by Hodder & Stoughton Ltd (2015)
ISBN 10: 1444770039 ISBN 13: 9781444770032
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder & Stoughton Ltd, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P111444770039

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 37.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds