Dandy Gilver and The Reek of Red Herrings

3.64 avg rating
( 255 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781444785524: Dandy Gilver and The Reek of Red Herrings
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie. On the rain-drenched, wave-lashed, wind-battered Banffshire coast, tiny fishing villages perch on ledges which would make a seagull think twice and crumbly mansions cling to crumblier cliff tops while, out in the bay, the herring drifters brave the storms to catch their silver darlings. It's nowhere for a child of gentle Northamptonshire to spend Christmas. But when odd things start to turn up in barrels of fish - with a strong whiff of murder most foul - that's exactly where Dandy Gilver finds herself. Enlisted to investigate, she and her trusty cohort Alec Osborne are soon swept up in the fisherfolk's wedding season as well as the mystery. Between age-old traditions and brand-new horrors, Dandy must think the unthinkable to solve her grisliest case yet. Catriona McPherson's latest novel in the series, Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble is now available for pre-order.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Catriona McPherson was born in the village of Queensferry in south-east Scotland in 1965 and educated at Edinburgh University. She left with a PhD in Linguistics and spent a few years as a university lecturer before beginning to write fiction. The first Dandy Gilver novel was short-listed for the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger 2005 and the second was long-listed for the Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year Award 2007. In 2012 DANDY GILVER AND THE PROPER TREATMENT OF BLOODSTAINS was nominated for a Historical Macavity Award. Catriona writes full-time and divides her time between southern Scotland and northern California. www.dandygilver.com www.catrionamcpherson.com www.twitter.com/CatrionaMcP

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781444785517: Dandy Gilver and The Reek of Red Herrings

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1444785516 ISBN 13:  9781444785517
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton, 2014
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Catriona McPherson
Published by Hodder Stoughton General Division, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 1444785524 ISBN 13: 9781444785524
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Stoughton General Division, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie.On the rain-drenched, wave-lashed, wind-battered Banffshire coast, tiny fishing villages perch on ledges which would make a seagull think twice and crumbly mansions cling to crumblier cliff tops while, out in the bay, the herring drifters brave the storms to catch their silver darlings. It s nowhere for a child of gentle Northamptonshire to spend Christmas.But when odd things start to turn up in barrels of fish - with a strong whiff of murder most foul - that s exactly where Dandy Gilver finds herself. Enlisted to investigate, she and her trusty cohort Alec Osborne are soon swept up in the fisherfolk s wedding season as well as the mystery. Between age-old traditions and brand-new horrors, Dandy must think the unthinkable to solve her grisliest case yet.Catriona McPherson s latest novel in the series, Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble is now available for pre-order. Seller Inventory # AA69781444785524

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.60
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Catriona McPherson
Published by Hodder & Stoughton General Division, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 1444785524 ISBN 13: 9781444785524
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder & Stoughton General Division, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie.On the rain-drenched, wave-lashed, wind-battered Banffshire coast, tiny fishing villages perch on ledges which would make a seagull think twice and crumbly mansions cling to crumblier cliff tops while, out in the bay, the herring drifters brave the storms to catch their silver darlings. It's nowhere for a child of gentle Northamptonshire to spend Christmas.But when odd things start to turn up in barrels of fish - with a strong whiff of murder most foul - that's exactly where Dandy Gilver finds herself. Enlisted to investigate, she and her trusty cohort Alec Osborne are soon swept up in the fisherfolk's wedding season as well as the mystery. Between age-old traditions and brand-new horrors, Dandy must think the unthinkable to solve her grisliest case yet.Catriona McPherson's latest novel in the series, Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble is now available for pre-order. Seller Inventory # AA69781444785524

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.71
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Catriona McPherson
Published by Hodder & Stoughton General Division (2015)
ISBN 10: 1444785524 ISBN 13: 9781444785524
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder & Stoughton General Division, 2015. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # GH9781444785524

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.37
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.43
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

McPherson, Catriona
Published by Hodder Paperbacks (2015)
ISBN 10: 1444785524 ISBN 13: 9781444785524
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Paperbacks, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0001413743

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.97
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

McPherson, Catriona
Published by Hodder Paperbacks (2015)
ISBN 10: 1444785524 ISBN 13: 9781444785524
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Paperbacks, 2015. Condition: New. A delightful Dandy Gilver mystery by Catriona McPherson, set in early 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie. Num Pages: 320 pages. BIC Classification: FFH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade); (J) Children / Juvenile. Dimension: 200 x 129 x 21. Weight in Grams: 232. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9781444785524

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.21
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

McPherson, Catriona
Published by Hodder Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 1444785524 ISBN 13: 9781444785524
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Paperbacks. Condition: New. A delightful Dandy Gilver mystery by Catriona McPherson, set in early 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie. Num Pages: 320 pages. BIC Classification: FFH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade); (J) Children / Juvenile. Dimension: 200 x 129 x 21. Weight in Grams: 232. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9781444785524

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.23
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Catriona McPherson
Published by Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN 10: 1444785524 ISBN 13: 9781444785524
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder & Stoughton General Division. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9781444785524

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.22
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.04
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Catriona McPherson
Published by Hodder Paperbacks (2015)
ISBN 10: 1444785524 ISBN 13: 9781444785524
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Paperbacks, 2015. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # ria9781444785524_rkm

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.36
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.04
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Catriona McPherson
ISBN 10: 1444785524 ISBN 13: 9781444785524
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST1444785524. Seller Inventory # ST1444785524

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

McPherson, Catriona
Published by Hodder Paperbacks (2015)
ISBN 10: 1444785524 ISBN 13: 9781444785524
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Learnearly Books
(Doncaster, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Paperbacks, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Rapidly dispatched worldwide from our clean, automated UK warehouse within 1-2 working days. Seller Inventory # mon0000113511

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 5.91
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.71
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book