Georgina Harding Painter of Silence

ISBN 13: 9781445846385

Painter of Silence

3.46 avg rating
( 1,212 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781445846385: Painter of Silence

It is the early 1950s. A nameless man is found on the steps of the hospital in Iasi, Romania. He is deaf and mute, but a young nurse named Safta recognizes him from the past and brings him paper and pencils so that he might draw. Gradually, memories appear on the page: the man is Augustin, the cook's son at the manor house at Poiana, where Safta was the privileged daughter. Born six months apart, they had a connection that bypassed words, but while Augustin's world stayed the same size, Safta's expanded to embrace languages, society, and a fleeting love one long, hot summer. But then came war, and in its wake a brutal Stalinist regime, and nothing would remain the same.

Georgina Harding's kaleidoscopic new novel will appeal to readers of Anne Michaels, Michael Ondaatje, and Sandor Marai. It is as intense and submerging as rain, as steeped in the horrors of our recent history as it is in the intimate passions of the human heart.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Georgina Harding is the author of the novels "The Spy Game" and "The Solitude of Thomas Cave. "She lives in London and the Stour Valley, Essex.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Harding, Georgina
Published by Windsor (2012)
ISBN 10: 1445846381 ISBN 13: 9781445846385
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Windsor, 2012. Book Condition: Good. Large type edition. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP70279350

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.47
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Harding, Georgina
Published by Windsor (2012)
ISBN 10: 1445846381 ISBN 13: 9781445846385
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Windsor, 2012. Book Condition: Very Good. Large type edition. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Bookseller Inventory # GRP86570230

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.47
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds