Liza Klaussmann Villa America

ISBN 13: 9781447212096

Villa America

3.6 avg rating
( 2,730 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781447212096: Villa America
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A dazzling and spellbinding novel about art, love and marriage--in the tradition of The Paris Wife and Above All Things.
     Sara and Gerald Murphy's good looks, talent for living and perfectly successful marriage breed both devotion and jealousy amongst their friends. But when Owen Chambers, an American aviator, arrives in their lives, the deep emotional fissures in Sara and Gerald's marriage reveal themselves and their lives change forever.
    Villa America is a fictional imagining of the real lives of Americans Sara and Gerald Murphy who, in the heady years of 1920s France, presided over a group of expatriate writers, painters, singers and dancers--including Pablo Picasso and Cole Porter, Ernest Hemingway, John Dos Passos and F. Scott Fitzgerald. This dazzling cast of characters gathered together in the Murphy home in Cap d'Antibe, as both Sara and Gerald cast their elusive magic over all of them.
     Spanning 1890s New York, the battlefields of WWI, the birth of aviation, the artistic explosion of 1920s France, the Depression and the rise of fascism, Villa America charts the beautiful and tragic course of three intertwined lives to create a vivid portrait of a gilded age that couldn't last.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

LIZA KLAUSSMANN is the author of Tigers in Red Weather, a Sunday Times Bestseller for which she won a British National Book Award, the Elle Grand Prix for Fiction and was named Amazon UK's Rising Star of the Year in 2012. A former journalist, Klaussmann was born in Brooklyn, New York, and spent ten years living in Paris. She currently lives in North London. Villa America is her second novel.

Review:

"Klaussmann is a nimble, clever writer who has managed to deliver a weighty story about art, love and the terrible fragility of dreams." —The Globe and Mail

"A luscious, jazz-era read about the real-life, art-commune couple who were the inspiration for F. Scott Fitzgerald's classic Tender Is the Night." ―Toronto Star

"Another sensitive fictional portrait of a complicated marriage from the author of Tigers in Red Weather. . . . Beautifully written and surprisingly fresh."
Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"[Klaussmann] entwines her fact and fiction with a smooth, near seamless stitch, and the end result makes for exhilarating and moving reading."
The Observer (UK)

"Brilliant . . . In [Klaussmann's] skilful hands what could have been a clichéd love triangle becomes something much more complex, subtle and moving. . . . How vividly and freshly she renders even the most familiar stories, especially when it comes to the Fitzgeralds. . . . Her Scott and Zelda feel like real people, not jazz age caricatures. . . . A deeply moving portrait of a marriage and of a world." ―Irish Times (Ireland)

"An enticing world, with its jazz-age parties, avant-garde bathing costumes and sexual freedom. . . . Klaussmann's compelling book does justice to this material."
The Guardian (UK)

"Villa America ranks as one of the summer's loveliest reads." —New York Daily News

"[An] empathetic, beautifully written novel." —The Washington Post

"As a direct descendant of Herman Melville, Liza Klaussmann has classic American literature in her blood. . . . Klaussmann's jazz age repartee is as fizzy as the cocktails and the Murphys' tragic denouement is affecting."
The Independent (UK)
From the Hardcover edition.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Liza Klaussmann
Published by Pan MacMillan, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 1447212096 ISBN 13: 9781447212096
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan MacMillan, United Kingdom, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. Main Market Ed.. Language: English . Brand New Book. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald, Pablo Picasso, Cole and Linda Porter, Ernest Hemingway, John Dos Passos - all are summer guests of Gerald and Sara Murphy. Visionary, misunderstood, and from vastly different backgrounds, the Murphys met and married young, and set forth to create a beautiful world. They alight on Villa America: their coastal oasis of artistic genius, debauched parties, impeccable style and flamboyant imagination. But before long, a stranger enters into their relationship, and their marriage must accommodate an intensity that neither had forseen. When tragedy strikes, their friends reach out to them, but the golden bowl is shattered, and neither Gerald nor Sara will ever be the same.Ravishing, heart-breaking, and written with enviable poise, Villa America delivers on all the promise of Liza Klaussmann s bestselling debut, Tigers in Red Weather. It is an overwhelming, unforgettable novel. Seller Inventory # AA79781447212096

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 10.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Liza Klaussmann
Published by Pan MacMillan, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 1447212096 ISBN 13: 9781447212096
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan MacMillan, United Kingdom, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. Main Market Ed.. Language: English . Brand New Book. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald, Pablo Picasso, Cole and Linda Porter, Ernest Hemingway, John Dos Passos - all are summer guests of Gerald and Sara Murphy. Visionary, misunderstood, and from vastly different backgrounds, the Murphys met and married young, and set forth to create a beautiful world. They alight on Villa America: their coastal oasis of artistic genius, debauched parties, impeccable style and flamboyant imagination. But before long, a stranger enters into their relationship, and their marriage must accommodate an intensity that neither had forseen. When tragedy strikes, their friends reach out to them, but the golden bowl is shattered, and neither Gerald nor Sara will ever be the same.Ravishing, heart-breaking, and written with enviable poise, Villa America delivers on all the promise of Liza Klaussmann s bestselling debut, Tigers in Red Weather. It is an overwhelming, unforgettable novel. Seller Inventory # AA79781447212096

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 13.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Klaussmann, Liza
Published by Macmillan
ISBN 10: 1447212096 ISBN 13: 9781447212096
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Macmillan. Condition: New. Num Pages: 480 pages. BIC Classification: 3JJG; FA; FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 130. . . 2016. Main Market Ed. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9781447212096

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 14.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Klaussmann, Liza
Published by Picador (2016)
ISBN 10: 1447212096 ISBN 13: 9781447212096
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0001995861

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 11.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.76
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Klaussmann, Liza
Published by Macmillan (2016)
ISBN 10: 1447212096 ISBN 13: 9781447212096
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Rating
[?]

Book Description Macmillan, 2016. Condition: New. Num Pages: 480 pages. BIC Classification: 3JJG; FA; FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 130. . . 2016. Main Market Ed. Paperback. . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9781447212096

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 14.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Liza Klaussmann
ISBN 10: 1447212096 ISBN 13: 9781447212096
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Seller Inventory # 97814472120960000000

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 14.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Liza Klaussmann
Published by Picador
ISBN 10: 1447212096 ISBN 13: 9781447212096
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9781447212096

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 6.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.64
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Liza Klaussmann
Published by Picador (2016)
ISBN 10: 1447212096 ISBN 13: 9781447212096
New Softcover Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador, 2016. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # ria9781447212096_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 11.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.38
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Klaussmann Liza
Published by Pan Macmillan Paperbacks 2016-01-21 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1447212096 ISBN 13: 9781447212096
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Macmillan Paperbacks 2016-01-21, 2016. Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Seller Inventory # NU-GRD-05237019

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 11.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.54
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Klaussmann Liza
Published by Picador (2016)
ISBN 10: 1447212096 ISBN 13: 9781447212096
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador, 2016. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 480 pages. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __1447212096

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 9.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.33
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book