Julie Sarkissian Dear Lucy: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9781451625721

Dear Lucy: A Novel

3.35 avg rating
( 409 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781451625721: Dear Lucy: A Novel
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

An enchanting narrator propels this unique first novel that will appeal to fans of Room and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time.

I go down the stairs quiet like I am something without any weight. I open the door in the dark and the cold sucks my skin towards it. It is the morning but there is no sun yet, just white light around the edges. It is the time to get the eggs. Time for my best thing. The eggs they shine with their white and I do not need the light to find them. The foxes need no light either. I am a little like the fox, he is a little like me.

Lucy is a young woman with an uncommon voice and an unusual way of looking at the world. She doesn’t understand why her mother has sent her to live with old Mister and Missus on their farm, but she knows she must never leave or her mother won’t be able to find her again.

Also living at the farm is a pregnant teenager named Samantha who tells conflicting stories about her past and quickly becomes Lucy’s only friend. When Samantha gives birth and her baby disappears, Lucy arms herself with Samantha’s diary—as well as a pet chicken named Jennifer—and embarks on a dangerous and exhilarating journey to reunite mother and child. With Dear Lucy, Julie Sarkissian has created an unforgettable new heroine of contemporary fiction whose original voice, exuberance, and bravery linger long after the final page.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Julie Sarkissian is a graduate of Princeton University, where she won the Francis Leon Paige Award for creative writing, and holds an MFA in Creative Writing from The New School. She lives in New York City.

Review:

Dear Lucy introduces a young writer with a most original voice and a tenderly eccentric vision. Julie Sarkissian has created a boldly lyrical, suspenseful, and mysterious fictional world in this striking debut novel.” (Joyce Carol Oates)

“[A] captivating debut . . . a distinct voice that will hold up to the inevitable comparisons to Room and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time.” (PublishersWeekly.com)

"A childlike female narrator—strange but full of naïve wonder . . . comes of age in a timeless story of motherhood, family, and loss in rural America. . . . Heightened realism that mingles easily with flights of occasional fantasy." (WMagazine.com)

"A quirky but captivating debut." (Good Housekeeping)

“Sarkissian is a fine prose stylist, and the three voices in the novel are distinct. Her writing manages to be poetic without ever veering off into preciousness.” (AVClub.com)

“Every once and a while a new voice comes along that is so beautifully different from anything you've read before that it is hard to even dream up where it came from. Such is the voice of Lucy the title character in Julie Sarkissian's debut novel, Dear Lucy . . . Written in poetic prose, the novel's language sweeps you up from the first pages . . . Mysterious and haunting.” (PolicyMic.com)

An ambitious debut expresses different versions of maternal need through three female voices . . . a struggle for comprehension, memory and expression, lit with shafts of insight and fantasy. (Kirkus Reviews)

“Sarkissian’s bold debut novel features a unique protagonist . . . [her] dazzling stream of consciousness is heightened with elements of fantasy—she is accompanied and guided by a talking pet chicken—while Sarkissian tenderly depicts her characters’ frailties, fears, and desires.” (Booklist)

“An ambitious, complex novel offering themes about the fragility of life, love and being loved.” (ShelfAwareness.com)

“Julie Sarkissian has written the most original and stunning debut novel I have read in a long time. Dear Lucy is one of those rare delights that you cannot put down, and once you do, you can’t forget.” (Ann Hood New York Times bestselling author of The Red Thread and The Knitting Circle)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781451625738: Dear Lucy: A Novel

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1451625731 ISBN 13:  9781451625738
Publisher: Simon & Schuster, 2014
Softcover

9781444767599: Dear Lucy

Hodder..., 2013
Softcover

9781444767605: Dear Lucy

Hodder...
Softcover

9781444767582: Dear Lucy

Hodder...
Hardcover

9781444767612: Dear Lucy

Hodder, 2013
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Sarkissian, Julie
Published by Simon & Schuster
ISBN 10: 1451625723 ISBN 13: 9781451625721
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 19
Seller:
Nye Discount Books, Inc.
(Venice, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1451625723 Brand New, Unread Copy, may have remainder ID. Excellent Customer Service! Ships Quickly!. Seller Inventory # 010482

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 1.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Sarkissian, Julie
Published by Simon & Schuster
ISBN 10: 1451625723 ISBN 13: 9781451625721
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1451625723. Seller Inventory # Z1451625723ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Sarkissian, Julie
Published by Simon & Schuster
ISBN 10: 1451625723 ISBN 13: 9781451625721
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1451625723. Seller Inventory # Z1451625723ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Sarkissian, Julie
Published by Simon & Schuster
ISBN 10: 1451625723 ISBN 13: 9781451625721
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1451625723. Seller Inventory # Z1451625723ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Sarkissian, Julie
Published by Simon & Schuster
ISBN 10: 1451625723 ISBN 13: 9781451625721
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1451625723. Seller Inventory # Z1451625723ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Sarkissian, Julie
Published by Simon & Schuster
ISBN 10: 1451625723 ISBN 13: 9781451625721
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1451625723. Seller Inventory # Z1451625723ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Sarkissian, Julie
Published by Simon & Schuster
ISBN 10: 1451625723 ISBN 13: 9781451625721
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1451625723. Seller Inventory # Z1451625723ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Sarkissian, Julie
Published by Simon & Schuster
ISBN 10: 1451625723 ISBN 13: 9781451625721
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1451625723. Seller Inventory # Z1451625723ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Sarkissian, Julie
Published by Simon & Schuster 2013-04-23 (2013)
ISBN 10: 1451625723 ISBN 13: 9781451625721
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster 2013-04-23, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1451625723. Seller Inventory # Z1451625723ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Sarkissian, Julie
Published by Simon & Schuster
ISBN 10: 1451625723 ISBN 13: 9781451625721
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Wit's End Books
(Berkeley, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1451625723 NEW: Packaged Carefully & Shipped Promptly. 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed!. Seller Inventory # SKU022052

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book