Katrina Onstad Everybody Has Everything

ISBN 13: 9781455522927

Everybody Has Everything

3.16 avg rating
( 1,299 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781455522927: Everybody Has Everything
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

After years of unsuccessful attempts at conceiving a child, Ana and James become parents overnight, when a terrible accident makes them guardians to 2 ¿ year-old Finn. Suddenly, two people who were struggling to come to terms with childlessness are thrust into the opposite situation-responsible for a small toddler whose mother's survival is in question.

Finn's crash-landing in their tidy, urban lives throws into high relief some troubling truths about their deepest selves, both separately and as a couple. Several chaotic, poignant, and life-changing weeks as a most unusual family give rise to an often unasked question: Can everyone be a parent?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Katrina Onstad's award-winning journalism has appeared in the New York Times Magazine, the Guardian, Elle, and Toronto Life. She is currently a culture columnist in The Globe and Mail and lives in Toronto with her family. For more information, please visit Katrina's website: http://katrinaonstad.com/.

Review:

"Onstad's radiant novel is powered by gorgeous writing, a quietly propulsive plot, and an uncannily accurate rendering of the way love, lust, rage, and reconciliation ebb and flow in the life of a couple."―Real Simple

"The unexpected story of a modern relationship that's not a romance at all (except maybe in the abstract), and a story of motherhood that turns expectations of what's 'natural' for women on its head. . . A novel (one of the only contemporary ones I've read) that takes on the very hard question of what it really means to men and women to parent and how that answer is (and shouldn't be) obvious, simple or the same for everyone."―"6 Smart books for summer reading," Mother Nature Network

"With concise, elegant prose, the author presents an audacious look at a question no one is supposed to ask, namely, can everyone be parents? Or, more important, should they? Book clubs will find much to captivate them, as will fans of highbrow issue-driven fiction in the vein of Anita Shreve and Wally Lamb."―Jeanne Bogino, New Lebanon Lib., NY, Library Journal (Starred Review)

"A fine novel about contemporary parenting and relationships."―Kirkus Reviews

"With a keen eye for details of the contemporary good life, Katrina Onstad precisely delineates the crack in the vase of what appears to be a happy marriage. This is a book that challenges conventional wisdom about love and parenting and rising to the occasion in a crisis. And there is no way to predict the next turn of its events, which makes it a delicious read."―Carol Anshaw, bestselling author of Carry the One

"Utterly rich, vivid and filled with urgency. I couldn't take my eyes off of these characters." Kaui Hart Hemmings, bestselling author of The Descendants

"What an interesting, vivid, utterly modern novel Katrina Onstad has written. I love how intelligently and precisely she explores James and Ana's emotions around marriage, love, sex, work, ambition and parenthood. Everybody Has Everything made me both think and feel differently about my own life."―Margot Livesey, author of The Flight of Gemma Hardy and The House on Fortune Street

"Tenderly observed and elegantly drawn, Onstad's characters are true to the deep worries and tangential shifts of fate which often define modern life; they remind us of that life's ability to soothe, to hurt, and to heal."―Vincent Lam, author of The Headmaster's Wager

"Katrina Onstad's beautiful new novel is a clear-eyed look at an ordinary marriage under extraordinary pressure. Everybody Has Everything is about many things - family, friendship, responsibility, loss - but at its heart, it's about what happens when the person you love suddenly veers off in another direction. It is unflinching yet tender, gripping and lyrical and devastating. I can't stop thinking about it."―Lauren Fox, author of Friends Like Us and Still Life with Husband

"I inhaled every page, feeling gut-punched by a writer willing to tackle such taboo subjects as the ambivalence of motherhood, the catalytic nature of children, and the restlessness of marriage. There are no unearned tears, when I laughed or cried it was always for the same reason: painful recognition. I loved this book."―Lisa Gabriele, author of Tempting Faith DiNapoli and The Almost Archer Sisters

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780771068638: Everybody Has Everything

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0771068638 ISBN 13:  9780771068638
Publisher: Emblem Editions, 2013
Softcover

9780771068980: Everybody Has Everything

Emblem..., 2012
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Onstad, Katrina
Published by Hachette Book Group
ISBN 10: 1455522929 ISBN 13: 9781455522927
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hachette Book Group. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 1455522929

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.84
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Onstad, Katrina
ISBN 10: 1455522929 ISBN 13: 9781455522927
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # VH-9781455522927

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.93
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Katrina Onstad
Published by Little, Brown Company, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 1455522929 ISBN 13: 9781455522927
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Company, United States, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. After years of unsuccessful attempts at conceiving a child, Ana and James become parents overnight, when a terrible accident makes them guardians to 2 1/2 year-old Finn. Suddenly, two people who were struggling to come to terms with childlessness are thrust into the opposite situation - responsible for a small toddler whose mother s survival is in question. Finn s crash-landing in their tidy, urban lives throws into high relief some troubling truths about their deepest selves, both separately and as a couple. Several chaotic, poignant, and life-changing weeks as a most unusual family give rise to an often unasked question: Can everyone be a parent?. Seller Inventory # BZE9781455522927

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.96
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Katrina Onstad
Published by Grand Central Publishing (2013)
ISBN 10: 1455522929 ISBN 13: 9781455522927
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grand Central Publishing, 2013. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1455522929

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.21
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Onstad, Katrina
Published by Grand Central Publishing (2013)
ISBN 10: 1455522929 ISBN 13: 9781455522927
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grand Central Publishing, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P111455522929

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 40.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Katrina Onstad
Published by Grand Central Publishing (2013)
ISBN 10: 1455522929 ISBN 13: 9781455522927
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grand Central Publishing, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 1455522929n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 100.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds