Book Lust to Go: Recommended Reading for Travelers, Vagabonds, and Dreamers

3.81 avg rating
( 748 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781459607538: Book Lust to Go: Recommended Reading for Travelers, Vagabonds, and Dreamers
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Nancy Pearl sells books; hers and those of the authors she recommends. Book Lust To Go is 120 places to read about before you go. Consider the entry ''Indicative of Indonesia,'' in which Nancy Pearl urges travelers to read V.S. Naipaul's Among the Believers and Christopher J. Koch's The Year of Living Dangerously. Wanderlust-y reading for prospective travelers to Ireland begins with the cheeky; ''Let's not start with James Joyce and just say we did, okay?'' then goes on to recommend such gems as Nuala O'Faollin's Are you Somebody? and J. P. Dunleavy's Ireland In All Her Sins and Some of Her Graces. This enthusiastic literary globetrotting includes stops in Korea, Sweden, Afghanistan, Albania, Parma, Patagonia, Texas, and Timbuktu. But Nancy Pearl is a reader and a librarian, not a travel agent, so she can't resist recommending reading for ''Travel to Imaginary Places'' (including Ursula K. LeGuin's The Wizard of Earthsea and Michael Chabon's The Yiddish Policeman's Union) and stories of chucking it all and moving to Spain or Greece under the heading ''So We/I Bought (or Built) a House In . . . '' Book Lust To Go brings Pearl's amazing ability to summon the perfect book to connect with a particular interest with the art of having an adventure - whether it requires a passport or just an armchair.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Nancy Pearl, author of Book Lust, is America’s favorite librarian. She regularly discusses and recommends books on NPR’s Morning Edition and lectures widely on the topics of books and reading. She is librarian-at-large with the King County Library System

From Publishers Weekly:

With the holidays just around the corner, Nancy Pearl's little gem will please many a traveler (or dreamer) who loves to read about faraway places but doesn't know where to start. With fanciful alliteration, Pearl lists titles under topics arranged from "A is for Adventure" to "Zipping through Zimbabwe." Recommendations are accompanied by brief critiques and insights. In an entry for "Las Vegas," for example, Pearl recommends Chris Ewan's novel, The Good Thief's Guide to Vegas, for fans of Hiaassen and Westlake, capers that use various cities of the world for their settings. Pearl classifies her recommendations well enough so that readers can take or leave her advice. In "Africa," for instance, she includes the classic Cry the Beloved Country as well as contemporary mysteries such as Wife of the Gods. It might have been easy to stick with the country structure for a book like this, but Pearl mixed it up, to good effect, with chapters like "So We/I Bought (or Built) A House In..." which includes books about homes in Morocco, Mexico, France, Brazil, and Ireland. Pearl has produced a winner and the perfect bedside companion. (Oct.)
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy Used View Book
List Price: US$ 21.99
US$ 18.00

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781570616501: Book Lust To Go: Recommended Reading for Travelers, Vagabonds, and Dreamers

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1570616507 ISBN 13:  9781570616501
Publisher: Sasquatch Books, 2010
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Nancy Pearl
Published by ReadHowYouWant (2011)
ISBN 10: 1459607538 ISBN 13: 9781459607538
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ReadHowYouWant, 2011. Paperback. Condition: Used: Good. Large Print 16 pt. Seller Inventory # SONG1459607538

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 18.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds