Dead Men Don't Cry: Science Fiction by Nancy Fulda

3.81 avg rating
( 21 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781460953624: Dead Men Don't Cry: Science Fiction by Nancy Fulda
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

First Edition.
This collection includes eleven stories by award winning author Nancy Fulda, including Phobos Award winning story "The Man Who Murdered Himself" and "Backlash" from Tangent Online's 2010 Recommended Reading List.
From computers that invent God to minds that travel through time, electronic ghosts to enigmatic extraterrestrials, these stories will jump-start your imagination and leave you awestruck at the boundless possibilities of our universe.

50,000 words or about 250 pages. Fans of Orson Scott Card, Lois McMaster Bujold and Timothy Zahn are likely to enjoy this book.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Author:

It's said that writer's stories are like a mother's children. She loves them, not merely despite their flaws, but also because of them.

Presented here is a collection of my writings over the past ten years. Within these pages you will find tales of computers that invent God, minds that travel through time, electronic ghosts, and deceased extraterrestrials. Some of these stories have received more professional acclaim than others, but in my eyes, all are beloved.

The opening story, "Let There Be Write", is technically nonfiction. It appeared in Strange Horizons as a mini-article and is arguably my most popular creation. Certainly a number of people have told me it made them laugh.

"Pastry Run" was written in a single afternoon while trailing my then-two-year-old son around the house. It was so thoroughly disliked by my critique group that I nearly shelved it. I'm now glad I didn't, because it became my second professional-level sale.

"Dead Men Don't Cry", the title story of this anthology, was written with an eye toward plot. I sought to keep the action lively and the tension high. For the most part I succeeded, but if I were rewriting it today I'd get rid of the white-room staff meeting in the opening.

"Blue Ink" was written for a high school writing contest, and won. I expanded the story a few years later. I still love it even though the subject matter is hopelessly cliche.

"Backlash" grew out of my experience watching a friend struggle with post-traumatic stress syndrome. I feel a bit sorry for everything I put Eugene through during this story. He's a good guy, and deserves better.

"Monument" may be my most jaded creation. It asks the question: "How would humanity really react to extraterrestrial visitors?"

"All Praise to the Dreamer" was commissioned for Apex Books' Aegri Somnia anthology, and is one of those rare stories that took me places I never anticipated going. Tangent Online called it "as engrossing and brief and clever as a Twilight Zone episode" and reported that "Fulda's story hooks your attention from the first sentence and stays with you long past the startling, yet fitting, end."

"The Breath of Heaven" grew out of a concept that's enthralled me since high school: a reversal of the Evil Robot trope in which a computer is stalked by a human. Sacia is one of my favorite fictional creations. Perhaps I'll tell the rest of her story someday.

"Ghost Chimes" has the distinction of being the first story to prompt my mother to ask whether the antagonist was based on her personality. For the record, no.

"The Man Who Murdered Himself" is one of my earliest stories and, surprisingly, also one of my most successful. It has been reprinted three times and has earned me more money than any other single work of fiction. It was also my first professional-level sale.

"A New Kind of Sunrise" is a personal favorite, and is the basis for my upcoming novel. It's set on a world where nomadic tribes circle the equator, always remaining within the twilight band between Day and Night.

I hope you enjoy reading these stories as much as I enjoyed writing them.  By the time you've finished, perhaps I will have completed a few more.

About the Author:

Nancy Fulda is a Phobos Award winner, a Jim Baen Memorial Award recipient, and a past Hugo and Nebula nominee. During her graduate work at Brigham Young University she studied artificial intelligence, machine learning, and quantum computing. In the years since, she has grappled with the far more complex process of raising three small children. All of these experiences sometimes infiltrate her writing.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Fulda, Nancy
Published by Createspace (2011)
ISBN 10: 1460953622 ISBN 13: 9781460953624
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Createspace, 2011. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9781460953624

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.84
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Nancy Fulda
Published by Createspace, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 1460953622 ISBN 13: 9781460953624
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Createspace, United States, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. A collection of Phobos Award Winner and Vera Hinckley Mayhew Award recipient Nancy Fulda s writings over the past ten years. This book includes tales of computers that invent God, minds that travel through time, electronic ghosts, and deceased extraterrestrials. Some of these stories are award winners. Others are more obscure, but they all share one thing in common: They stem from a love of fiction and a fascination with the endless possibilities of our universe. Seller Inventory # APC9781460953624

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.61
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Nancy Fulda
Published by Createspace, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 1460953622 ISBN 13: 9781460953624
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Createspace, United States, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.A collection of Phobos Award Winner and Vera Hinckley Mayhew Award recipient Nancy Fulda s writings over the past ten years. This book includes tales of computers that invent God, minds that travel through time, electronic ghosts, and deceased extraterrestrials. Some of these stories are award winners. Others are more obscure, but they all share one thing in common: They stem from a love of fiction and a fascination with the endless possibilities of our universe. Seller Inventory # APC9781460953624

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.24
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Nancy Fulda
Published by Createspace
ISBN 10: 1460953622 ISBN 13: 9781460953624
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Createspace. Paperback. Condition: New. This item is printed on demand. 212 pages. Dimensions: 9.0in. x 6.0in. x 0.5in.First Edition. This collection includes eleven stories by award winning author Nancy Fulda, including Phobos Award winning story The Man Who Murdered Himself and Backlash from Tangent Onlines 2010 Recommended Reading List. From computers that invent God to minds that travel through time, electronic ghosts to enigmatic extraterrestrials, these stories will jump-start your imagination and leave you awestruck at the boundless possibilities of our universe. 50, 000 words or about 250 pages. Fans of Orson Scott Card, Lois McMaster Bujold and Timothy Zahn are likely to enjoy this book. This item ships from La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Seller Inventory # 9781460953624

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.45
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Fulda, Nancy
Published by Createspace (2011)
ISBN 10: 1460953622 ISBN 13: 9781460953624
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Createspace, 2011. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 4 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9781460953624

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.44
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Nancy Fulda
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (2011)
ISBN 10: 1460953622 ISBN 13: 9781460953624
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2011. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1460953622

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 27.89
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds