Roz Morris My Memories of a Future Life

ISBN 13: 9781463784904

My Memories of a Future Life

3.91 avg rating
( 148 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781463784904: My Memories of a Future Life
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

'Genius premise ... characters you won't want to leave behind'

If your life is another person's past...

What echoes do you leave in their soul?
Could they be the answers you need now?

A suspense novel in the vein of Life After Life. It’s the story of Carol, a musician who finds herself living another haunting life in the future. She’s a gifted pianist who has never needed anything but her talent – until a mysterious injury forces her to stop playing and she has to confront an empty existence. Enter her next incarnation, Andreq. Is he really her future? And can he help Carol learn to live now?
‘Reminded me of The End of Mr Y by Scarlett Thomas (one of my Top Shelf Authors = I Want To Write Like That.)’

‘Reminded me of Doris Lessing--though Morris is much more readable.’

‘The ideas are fresh, the plot unpredictable, the characters interesting; I was entirely engaged and convinced. I liked the writing very much, with its story within a story having echoes of Atwood's 'Blind Assassin'.

‘Distinct voice reminded me of Atwood's Handmaid's Tale.’

‘Having read Hilary Mantel's Beyond Black, which also explores the murky lives of charlatans, I was intrigued by the subject. What I got was a first class page-turner.’

‘I was reminded of Iain Banks; London is a gritty, grave place, where to step off the treadmill can leave one on the outside.’

‘Reminded me at first of The Time Traveller's wife; strong imagery and layers of story within a story. However it grew into something quite different.’

‘Gave me the creepy feeling of Rosemary's Baby or the Wicker Man’

‘Like John Fowles's The Magus ... the sort of literature I enjoy reading .. an unsettling plot with hints of more beyond. Not the depressing realism of your typical Booker novelist or the light fluffiness of middle class city life.’

‘Like Murakami's Hard-Boiled Wonderland, although this book uses its double narrative in a more straightforward fashion (which I appreciate).’

‘I have had to wrestle with monsters of professional jealousy to review this book. It is SO good.’

‘Reminds me of the canny cultural observations of Barbara Pym or Penelope Fitzgerald. Prepare to be surprised, mystified, and sorry it ends.’

‘Not easily categorised. Should I call it a literary novel? Science Fiction? Romance? You could make a case for any one.’

‘Excellent. Will read it again soon.’

'I was always fascinated by tales of regression to past lives,' says the author Roz Morris. ‘I thought, what if instead of going to the past, someone went to a future life? Who would do that? Why? What would they find?

‘Another longtime interest was the world of the classical musician. Musical scores are exacting and dictatorial - you play a note for perhaps a sixth of a second and not only that, there are instructions for how to feel - expressivo, amoroso. It's as if you don't play a piece of classical music; you channel the spirit of the composer.

‘I became fascinated by a character who routinely opened her entire soul to the most emotional communications of classical composers. And I thought, what if she couldn’t do it any more? And then, what if I threw her together with someone who could trap the part of her that responded so completely to music?’

My Memories of a Future Life is a new addition to the great tradition of the 'who was I' tale for readers of Cloud Atlas, Somewhere In Time, Vertigo, Lady of Hay and The Blind Assassin.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Roz Morris's fiction has sold more than 4 million copies worldwide, although you won't have seen her name on the covers as she ghostwrote for high-profile authors. She is now writing acclaimed fiction under her own name. She is a writer, journalist, fiction editor and the author of the Nail Your Novel series for writers. She teaches creative writing masterclasses for The Guardian newspaper in London.
My Memories of a Future Life is her first novel writing as herself. Her second is Lifeform Three.

Review:

'As a bookseller I have to read 100s of books. Rarely do I read books more than once for pleasure - this book is one of them... Roz's books .. are so good that I just leave copies on the counter, talk about them a bit and let them sell themselves.' Peter Snell, Barton's Bookshop, Leatherhead, Surrey

'A strange and stubborn book, visual and visceral, original and odd... will stay with you long after finishing its final pages' - For Books' Sake

'Classy, stylish writing, a profound tale in page-turning fashion. Unreservedly recommended.' John Whitbourn, Victor Gollancz award winner.

'I was seriously impressed by a writer of such skill and confidence. She dances between plausible reality and the shadowy realm of interpretation, underpinned by evident intelligence. A real corker, in fact.' Jill Marsh, Words With Jam

'Fine writing, skilled storytelling, excellent pacing, twists, turns, and a story that both entertains and informs. What a welcome relief spending time under the spell of such a skilled artist. Amazingly different.' Maryann Madsen

'I am seconding the reviewer who said "I want to talk to someone about this book!" It's a born book club selection with a maze of ideas, questions and themes to discuss. I'm always on the lookout for fiction that takes creative risks, draws me in with a compelling voice and shows a real mastery of the craft of writing. This book does all that and more. My Memories of a Future Life delivers on a genius premise with grace and storytelling skill. The plot points have been covered here already (a little too well in a few cases), and really, a synopsis of the book doesn't address what (for me) it's really about: the endless slipstream of possibilities of human existence. The author takes control of what could be a tangle of threads in less skilled hands. She makes it accessible, charms us with characters we don't want to leave behind and challenges us with a complex idea we couldn't leave behind if we wanted to. A thoroughly entertaining, thought-provoking, wonderfully moving verismo of a novel.' Joni Rodgers, League of Extraordinary Authors

'Sinister elements reminiscent of The League of Gentlemen and The Prisoner ... balance between intrigue, mild terror and charlatanism is perfectly maintained ... I need to talk to someone about this book' Ruby Barnes, Build Another Bookshelf

'Like John Fowles's The Magus ... combining an unsettling plot with hints of more beyond. It's not the depressing realism of your typical Booker novelist or the light fluffiness of a slice of middle class city life. Enjoyed it immensely.' Matt Kelland

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 15.75
US$ 24.86

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 8.39
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Roz Morris
Published by Createspace (2011)
ISBN 10: 1463784902 ISBN 13: 9781463784904
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Print on Demand
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Createspace, 2011. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 366 pages. 9.00x6.00x0.92 inches. This item is printed on demand. Seller Inventory # zk1463784902

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 24.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.39
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Roz Morris
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (2011)
ISBN 10: 1463784902 ISBN 13: 9781463784904
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX1463784902

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 28.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Morris, Roz
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publis (2011)
ISBN 10: 1463784902 ISBN 13: 9781463784904
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publis, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P111463784902

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 39.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Morris, Roz
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN 10: 1463784902 ISBN 13: 9781463784904
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1463784902 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.1568486

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds