Terrorist Next Door, The: A David Gold Novel (David Gold Mysteries)

3.91 avg rating
( 736 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781464201653: Terrorist Next Door, The: A David Gold Novel (David Gold Mysteries)

Meet Detective David Gold. He's a third generation native of hardscrabble South Chicago. He's also one of Chicago's most decorated homicide detectives.
Meet Gold's new partner, Detective A.C. Battle. He's a native of Mississippi whose family moved to Chicago to escape the Jim Crow South. He grew up in the Robert Taylor Homes, the penal colony of high rises across the Dan Ryan Expressway from Mayor Daley's house and Comiskey Park.
Here's their first challenge. More than a decade after 9/11, someone is setting off fire bombs in Chicago using untraceable cell phones. An unknown group takes credit for the bombings and demands the release of Hassan Al-Shahid, a University of Chicago graduate student whose plan to set off a bomb at the Art Institute was thwarted at the last minute by Gold and his long-time partner, Paul Liszewski. Their heroic efforts had cost Liszewski his life and put Gold in the hospital.
Shocked and grieving, Gold rallies to receive a Medal of Valor on the steps of that same Art Institute. During the ceremony, a car bomb explodes across the street and moment later Gold receives a text: ""It isn't over.""
The FBI and Homeland Security believe the new bomber is a ""lone wolf' –a freelancer who operates off the grid. That makes him even more dangerous. More car bombs are detonated at the Wrigley Field El station, Millennium Park, the Museum of Science and Industry, O'Hare Airport, the Hyde Park train station, and the upscale Rush Street area near North Michigan Avenue. The bomber has shut down a major US city. Just to free Al-Shahid?
Gold and Battle hunt him across Chicago's colorful neighborhoods: from the high rises of the Magnificent Mile to century-old churches where mass is still celebrated in Polish to the ivy-covered buildings at the University of Chicago to crumbling old synagogues and gritty seafood shacks next to the ghostly expanses of vacant land where the steel mills once stood. A third-generation native of Chicago's Southeast side, bestselling author Sheldon Siegel starts a new series with The Terrorist Next Door sure to appeal to readers of Michael Connelly, John Sandford, and Sara Paretsky.


"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Sheldon Siegel is the New York Times best selling author of seven critically acclaimed legal thrillers featuring San Franicsco criminal defense attorneys Mike Daley and Rosie Fernandez, two of the most beloved characters in contemporary crime fiction. A third-generation native of Chicago’s Southeast Side, Sheldon earned his undergraduate degree from the University of Illinois in Champaign in 1980, and his law degree from Boalt Law School at the University of California-Berkeley in 1983. He has been in private practice in San Francisco since then, and he specializes in corporate and securities law with the San Francisco office of the international law firm of Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP.
 
Sheldon began writing his first book, Special Circumstances, on a laptop computer during his daily commute on the ferry from Marin County to San Francisco. A frequent speaker and sought-after teacher, Sheldon is a San Francisco Library Literary Laureate, a member of the Board of Directors of the Northern California Chapter of the Mystery Writers of America, and an active member of the International Thriller Writers and Sisters in Crime. His work has been displayed at the Doe Library at the University of California at Berkeley, and he has been recognized as a Distinguished Alumnus of the University of Illinois and a Northern California Super Lawyer. THE TERRORIST NEXT DOOR is Sheldon’s first novel set in his hometown and featuring South Chicago homicide detectives David Gold and A.C. Battle. He is a lifelong fan of the Chicago Bears, White Sox, Bulls, and Blackhawks. He lives in the San Francisco area with his wife, Linda, and their twin sons, Alan and Stephen. He is currently working on his ninth novel. 

Review:

“Action packed from beginning to end. THE TERRORIST NEXT DOOR is a ‘can’t put it down’ novel. Read it for the suspense, but also read it for the introduction of a new fascinating hero.”--Huffington Post.

""Siegel, who hails from Chicago, makes the most of the setting.... Put this one on your Windy City crime-fiction list."" --Booklist

“Chicago Detectives David Gold and A.C. Battle are strong entries in the police-thriller sweepstakes, with Sheldon Siegel’s new THE TERRORIST NEXT DOOR, a smart, surprising and bloody take on the world of Islamic terror. As a crazed bomber threatens to shut down America’s third-largest city, the Chicago cops, the FBI, Homeland Security and even the military desperately sift through every available clue to the bomber’s identity, reaching for a climax that is both shocking and credible. New York Times bestselling author Siegel tells a story that is fast and furious and authentic.”--John Sandford. New York Times Best Selling Author of STOLEN PREY and the Lucas Davenport Prey Series.

“Sheldon Siegel’s THE TERRORIST NEXT DOORhas all the indicators of a bestselling thriller –  fast action, characters you think you’ve met in real life, bold storytelling and clever plotting.  The great city of Chicago comes alive under his spell, and the woes of that city in THE TERRORIST NEXT DOORturn out to be the woes of our republic.  Excellent.”--T. Jefferson Parker. New York Times Best Selling Author of THE JAGUAR and THE BORDER LORDS.

“Sheldon Siegel blows the doors off with his excellent new thriller, THE TERRORIST NEXT DOOR. Bombs, car chases, the shutdown of Chicago, plus Siegel’s winning touch with character makes this one not to be missed!”--John Lescroart. New York Times Best Selling Author of THE HUNTER.

“Sheldon Siegel knows how to make us root for the good guys in this heartstopping terrorist thriller, and police detectives David Gold and A.C. Battle are a pair of very good guys. We’d like to see them again.”--Thomas Perry. New York Times Best Selling Author of POISON FLOWER.

“Sheldon Siegel has outdone himself in this, his first true thriller. The rough underbelly of Chicago is evoked and comes to life as poetically and profoundly as in Carl Sandburg’s insider view. THE TERRORIST NEXT DOOR will go down as the scariest, most chilling portrayal of what can happen to life in a normal Midwestern city if one small cog goes haywire. A real power play.”--Katherine Neville. New York Times and International Best Selling Author of THE EIGHT and THE FIRE.

“THE TERRORIST NEXT DOOR is a terrific, old-fashioned thriller. Sheldon Siegel again demonstrates why he is considered a master story teller with the likes of John Sanford and Scott Turow. THE TERRORIST NEXT DOOR is a taught, tense, action-packed thrill ride that starts on page one and puts a stranglehold on the reader to the explosive end.The tension is palpable as Detective David Gold races through the streets of Chicago to stop an unknown terrorist before the next bomb detonates. I love Siegel’s Mike Daley series, and David Gold is destined to be just as addictive. I’m already waiting for the next book in the series!”--Robert Dugoni. New York Times Best Selling Author of THE CONVICTION.

“Sheldon Siegel’s tale of cataclysmic terrorism is so realistic, well-drawn and deliciously chilling, I wanted to send the book to all my friends—especially those who work in Homeland Security. Women will lose their hearts to Detective David Gold. THE TERRORIST NEXT DOOR kept me up late into the night, frantically turning the pages to get to the dramatic conclusion. A terrific thriller by a master of the craft.”--Allison Leotta. Best Selling Author of LAW OF ATTRACTION.

“I hate Sheldon Siegel. He makes it look so easy. Deftly turning his attention from courtroom battles to terrorist plots, he delivers a page turner with a heart, and the love affair is with the great city of Chicago and the people who call it home. Great fun and a terrific read, THE TERRORIST NEXT DOOR  delivers a killer story at a breakneck pace with characters you won’t forget. How does Siegel get away with it? Seriously, I hate the guy.”--David Corbett. Award-winning author of THE DEVIL’S REDHEAD.

“From the first page—when the blind, smelly, homeless man turns out to be a young, physically fit terrorist who is determined to blow up Chicago—I was hooked. THE TERRORIST NEXT DOOR moves through Chicago at a fast pace. Now I happen to love Chicago, and I thought I knew it, but as I joined Detective David Gold in the chase, I got to look behind the facades into the soul of the Windy City.Gold is a marvelous character. He’s smart, brave, and conflicted. But Chicago is also a major character and as the action moves from The Art Institute to the South Side, from the cop cars to the churches, from the smallest take out joint to the fanciest spots, the terrorist keeps taunting Gold and the reader.I can’t wait to start telling my customers about this gem. It will keep you up nights and keep you thinking about David Gold, Chicago, and THE TERRORIST NEXT DOOR all day long.”--Elaine Petrocelli. Book Passage. Corte Madera, California.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 22.95
US$ 40.46

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 7.92
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Siegel, Sheldon
Published by Poisoned Pen Pr (2013)
ISBN 10: 146420165X ISBN 13: 9781464201653
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Poisoned Pen Pr, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. large print edition. 250 pages. 8.75x6.00x1.00 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk146420165X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 40.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.92
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Siegel, Sheldon
Published by Poisoned Pen Press (2013)
ISBN 10: 146420165X ISBN 13: 9781464201653
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Poisoned Pen Press, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P11146420165X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 68.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds