Ann Bauer Forgiveness 4 You: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9781468312621

Forgiveness 4 You: A Novel

3.53 avg rating
( 243 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781468312621: Forgiveness 4 You: A Novel
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The remarkable novel now in paperback by the author of The Forever Marriage.

Forgiveness 4 You is a startlingly contemporary novel about faith and religion in an America addicted to quick fixes and instant gratification.

Gabriel McKenna is an ex-Catholic priest, and with his quiet job at a quiet bookstore, he is―slowly―rebuilding his life. But even at the bookstore, people from all walks of life find their way to him and feel compelled to share their stories and reveal to him their deepest, guiltiest secrets.

One of these people is Madeline Murray, a high-powered advertising executive, who, hours after her weepy confession, has a revelation: If she felt so comforted by this stranger, perhaps there’s something remunerative to his consoling abilities. Madeline has a vision: a business that will offer a secu­lar form of confession and forgiveness―the comforts of religion, without the religion. Without knowing exactly how it happened (and whether any of it is morally sound) Gabriel is transformed by Madeline and her colleagues into the centerpiece of the forgiveness brand. And so a therapeutic revolution unleashes itself on America―or is about to, until a terrible secret threatens to torpedo the business and the man at the middle of it. Which would all be bad enough, were it not for temptation―in the form of Madeline herself.

In Forgiveness 4 You, Ann Bauer combines her gift for characterization with a broad American canvas to dazzling effect. Written with verve and confidence, Forgiveness 4 You is an unusually ambitious novel that blends cutting-edge satire with a serious mediation on faith in the twenty-first century.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Ann Bauer is author of two previous novels, The Forever Marriage and A Wild Ride Up the Cupboards, and co-author of the culinary memoir, Damn Good Food. Her essays have appeared in The New York Times, The Washington Post, and Elle. She lives in Minneapolis.

Review:

"An intelligent, thought-provoking and quietly unnerving work" —The Wall Street Journal

"Humorously, compassionately and cynically, forgiveness becomes a business in this compelling novel" —The Minneapolis Star Tribune

"This novel is fresh and original, and the wholly satisfying ending doesn’t at all take the easy way out." —Library Journal Review

"But who’s offering absolution in a secular age? Ann Bauer’s warmly satirical novel Forgiveness 4 You offers an answer from a neoliberal dystopia: the marketplace." —Slate

“I love all of Ann Bauer's writing, but what makes this book so special is how wonderfully humane it is. It's a rare thing for a story to be so sharp and yet so compassionate, but Forgiveness 4 You manages to send up craven ad execs and make your heart hurt for them at the same time. It might even make you be a little kinder to yourself about your own past transgressions, which speaks to the depth and soul of this brilliant novel.”-- Jessica Grose, author of Sad Desk Salad
 
Forgiveness 4 You is probing, startlingly honest, and remarkably empathic. Ann Bauer’s scrutiny of hunger for absolution crossing into the fearsome unbounded web, where religion goes online, and advertisers attempt to monetize the process, provides strong answers suffused with compassion. This story is as captivating and strikingly written as it is provocative. I inhaled this novel.”--Randy Susan Meyers, author of The Murderer’s Daughters, The Comfort of Lies & Accidents of Marriage

“In this engrossing novel, Ann Bauer turns her sharp and empathetic eye on a cast of broken people trying to find meaning in an increasingly cynical world. In the tradition of George Saunders, Forgiveness 4 You imagines a near future where everything--even grace--can be commodified, but where our better angels still wield surprising power.”--Christopher Castellani, author of All This Talk of Love

“At turns touching, insightful, and deliciously cynical, FORGIVENESS 4 YOU is a rare novel, indeed. Its premise is wholly original, and it addresses both profound human struggles and current popular culture with humor and compassion. Terrific for book clubs, it’s sure to spark plenty of laughter and debate.”--Susan Jane Gilman, bestselling author of Hypocrite in a Pouffy White Dress and The Ice Cream Queen of Orchard Street
 
“A poignant and very funny story about the advertising of redemption and, yes, the redemption of advertising. And like all good ex-Catholic priests, Gabriel McKenna bears a secret in his soul. Amen, I say. FORGIVENESS 4 YOU is Graham Greene for the Age of Twitter.”--Martin Kihn, Author of House of Lies and Bad Dog (A Love Story)

"Bauer (The Forever Marriage, 2012, etc.) writes with humor and compassion about a business that is both bizarre and entirely all too real and the flawed and ultimately human characters behind it." —Kirkus

"The author of previous novels, including The Forever Marriage (2012), has crafted an exploration of absolution that manages to be simultaneously irreverent and compassionate." —Booklist

 

 



Praise for The Forever Marriage:

“Funny, surprising and gratifyingly honest, this novel poses unsparing questions about love and betrayal and the reasons we make the choices we do.” —MORE Magazine

“Bauer and The Forever Marriage poignantly and powerfully illustrate the great and often tragic ironies of life.” —Minneapolis Star Tribune

“With lovely prose and fine pacing, Bauer offers a sensitive portrait of a flawed woman coming to terms with a lifetime of regrets.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781468310238: Forgiveness 4 You: A Novel

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1468310232 ISBN 13:  9781468310238
Publisher: The Overlook Press, 2015
Hardcover

9780715650714: Forgiveness 4 You

Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Bauer, Ann
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 1468312626 ISBN 13: 9781468312621
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1468312626 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Seller Inventory # SWATI2132376261

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.90
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Ann Bauer
Published by Overlook Press, United States (2016)
ISBN 10: 1468312626 ISBN 13: 9781468312621
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Overlook Press, United States, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. Forgiveness 4 You is a startlingly contemporary novel about faith and religion in an America addicted to quick fixes and instant gratification. Gabriel McKenna is an ex-Catholic priest, and with his quiet job at a quiet bookstore, he is--slowly--rebuilding his life. But even at the bookstore, people from all walks of life find their way to him and feel compelled to share their stories and reveal to him their deepest, guiltiest secrets. One of these people is Madeline Murray, a high-powered advertising executive, who, hours after her weepy confession, has a revelation: If she felt so comforted by this stranger, perhaps there's something remunerative to his consoling abilities. Madeline has a vision: a business that will offer a secu-lar form of confession and forgiveness--the comforts of religion, without the religion. Without knowing exactly how it happened (and whether any of it is morally sound) Gabriel is transformed by Madeline and her colleagues into the centerpiece of the forgiveness brand. And so a therapeutic revolution unleashes itself on America--or is about to, until a terrible secret threatens to torpedo the business and the man at the middle of it. Which would all be bad enough, were it not for temptation--in the form of Madeline herself. In Forgiveness 4 You, Ann Bauer combines her gift for characterization with a broad American canvas to dazzling effect. Written with verve and confidence, Forgiveness 4 You is an unusually ambitious novel that blends cutting-edge satire with a serious mediation on faith in the twenty-first century. Seller Inventory # BTE9781468312621

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 22.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Ann Bauer
Published by The Overlook Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 1468312626 ISBN 13: 9781468312621
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press, 2016. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1468312626

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 29.87
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Bauer, Ann
Published by Overlook Pr (2016)
ISBN 10: 1468312626 ISBN 13: 9781468312621
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Overlook Pr, 2016. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. reprint edition. 307 pages. 8.25x5.50x1.00 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # 1468312626

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 31.67
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.49
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Bauer, Ann
Published by The Overlook Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 1468312626 ISBN 13: 9781468312621
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P111468312626

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 48.90
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Ann Bauer
Published by The Overlook Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 1468312626 ISBN 13: 9781468312621
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 1468312626n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 101.66
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds