Kate Hawks Watch by Moonlight

ISBN 13: 9781470891121

Watch by Moonlight

3.48 avg rating
( 64 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781470891121: Watch by Moonlight

On a storm-tossed British night in 1763, a fine gentleman rides up to an old inn and requests shelter. His name, he tells Bess, the innkeeper's beautiful daughter, is Jason Quick, a man of wealth and honor. But there is blood on his sleeve. And his appearance is followed soon after by the arrival of the king's redcoats on the trail of a notorious bandit known as the Golden Fleecer.There is much about this bold, enigmatic stranger that frightens Bess, but there is something that draws her to him as well. And Quick himself is undone by the exquisite loveliness of this dark-eyed miss whose lustrous black hair cascades well past her waist. Soon there are no secrets between them, as Jason reveals the truth to the lady who has, in an instant, become his eternal love. It is he whom the redcoats seek, the daring highwayman, the most wanted man in Dorset.For Bess -- who long ago resigned herself to a life of toil and drudgery yet has never strayed from respectability -- the shock of Jason's revelations cannot dampen the fire that now burns in her breast. There is a tender heart within him, and a nobility to his criminal purpose. And no love in history has ever been more fated...or more dangerous.One more brazen robbery and Jason Quick can fulfill the sworn duty that has determined the course of his life. Then he and his lady can begin anew together in the far colonies, across a vast ocean. But treachery breeds in unexpected corners and dastardly traps are set in the shadows -- even as the highwayman sits astride his stallion beneath his true love's window and vows, "I'll come to thee by moonlight, though hell should bar the way."Kate Hawks, a stunning new voice in historical fiction, renders a tale rich in atmosphere, passion, adventure, and intense emotion -- a magnificent, heartfelt retelling of one of the most enduring love stories of all time.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

In the tradition of Sharon Kay Penman, Kate Hawks, a stunning new voice in historical fiction, weaves a "beautifully rendered tale of bittersweet romance, triumph, and tragedy set against the shadowy backdrop of 18th-century England" (Susan Wiggs, author of The Firebrand and The Mistress).

Dorset, England, 1763. Bess Whately, daughter of the landlord of the King's Shilling, has little to look forward to except a life of drudgery, until the night that dashing young Jason Quick appears at the inn. Soon the two fall in love, and it is then that Jason shares his secret with Bess: he is the notorious highwayman menacing the countryside, robbing travelers under cloak of night. His life of crime is fueled by one ambition: to buy his father out of indentured servitude and start life anew. And now that dream is threatened, as the manhunt for Jason comes ever closer.

Rich in atmosphere, from details of daily life to the passions of the human heart, Watch by Moonlight vividly depicts a world of drama, adventure, and undying love.

About the Author:

Kate Hawks is the author of the historical novel The Lovers: The Legend of Trystan and Yseult. She lives in Lincoln, California.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hawks, Kate
Published by Blackstone Audiobooks, U.S.A. (2013)
ISBN 10: 1470891123 ISBN 13: 9781470891121
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Yard Sale Store
(Narrowsburg, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blackstone Audiobooks, U.S.A., 2013. Audio CD. Book Condition: Very Good. 8 BRAND NEW AUDIO CDs. NEW CDS SEALED in the shrink wrap. Just a bit of shelf wear. Enjoy this NEW AUDIO CD performance GIFT QUALITY for your home and library. Audio Book. Bookseller Inventory # 101517140817746

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 10.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Kate Hawks
Published by Blackstone Audio Inc (2013)
ISBN 10: 1470891123 ISBN 13: 9781470891121
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blackstone Audio Inc, 2013. Audio CD. Book Condition: Good. Unabridged. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. May be ex-library. Shipping & Handling by region. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Bookseller Inventory # 1470891123

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 88.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds