Eden Gardens: The unputdownable story of love in an Indian summer

3.92 avg rating
( 126 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781472226099: Eden Gardens: The unputdownable story of love in an Indian summer

Eden Gardens, Calcutta, the 1940s. In a ramshackle house, streets away from the grand colonial mansions of the British, live Maisy, her Mam and their ayah, Pushpa. Whiskey-fuelled and poverty-stricken, Mam entertains officers in the night - a disgrace to British India. All hopes are on beautiful Maisy to restore their good fortune.But Maisy's more at home in the city's forbidden alleyways, eating bazaar food and speaking Bengali with Pushpa, than dancing in glittering ballrooms with potential husbands.Then one day Maisy's tutor falls ill. His son stands in. Poetic, handsome and ambitious for an independent India, Sunil Banerjee promises Maisy the world.So begins a love affair that will cast her future, for better and for worse. Just as the Second World War strikes and the empire begins to crumble...This is the other side of British India. A dizzying, scandalous, dangerous world, where race, class and gender divide and rule.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Louise Brown has lived in Nepal and travelled extensively in India, sparking her enduring love of South Asia. She was a Senior Lecturer in Sociology and Asian Studies at the University of Birmingham, where she worked for nearly twenty years. In research for her critically acclaimed non-fiction books she's witnessed revolutions and even stayed in a Lahore brothel with a family of traditional courtesans. Louise has three grown-up children and lives in Birmingham.

Review:

Faithfully researched, colourfully rendered... a vivid and compelling read * Sunday Irish Independent *

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Louise Brown
Published by Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 1472226097 ISBN 13: 9781472226099
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Eden Gardens, Calcutta, the 1940s. In a ramshackle house, streets away from the grand colonial mansions of the British, live Maisy, her Mam and their ayah, Pushpa. Whiskey-fuelled and poverty-stricken, Mam entertains officers in the night - a disgrace to British India. All hopes are on beautiful Maisy to restore their good fortune.But Maisy s more at home in the city s forbidden alleyways, eating bazaar food and speaking Bengali with Pushpa, than dancing in glittering ballrooms with potential husbands.Then one day Maisy s tutor falls ill. His son stands in. Poetic, handsome and ambitious for an independent India, Sunil Banerjee promises Maisy the world.So begins a love affair that will cast her future, for better and for worse. Just as the Second World War strikes and the empire begins to crumble.This is the other side of British India. A dizzying, scandalous, dangerous world, where race, class and gender divide and rule. Bookseller Inventory # AA69781472226099

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Louise Brown
Published by Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 1472226097 ISBN 13: 9781472226099
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Eden Gardens, Calcutta, the 1940s. In a ramshackle house, streets away from the grand colonial mansions of the British, live Maisy, her Mam and their ayah, Pushpa. Whiskey-fuelled and poverty-stricken, Mam entertains officers in the night - a disgrace to British India. All hopes are on beautiful Maisy to restore their good fortune.But Maisy s more at home in the city s forbidden alleyways, eating bazaar food and speaking Bengali with Pushpa, than dancing in glittering ballrooms with potential husbands.Then one day Maisy s tutor falls ill. His son stands in. Poetic, handsome and ambitious for an independent India, Sunil Banerjee promises Maisy the world.So begins a love affair that will cast her future, for better and for worse. Just as the Second World War strikes and the empire begins to crumble.This is the other side of British India. A dizzying, scandalous, dangerous world, where race, class and gender divide and rule. Bookseller Inventory # AA69781472226099

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Brown, Louise
ISBN 10: 1472226097 ISBN 13: 9781472226099
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 24187078-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Brown, Louise
Published by Headline Publishing Group (2015)
ISBN 10: 1472226097 ISBN 13: 9781472226099
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline Publishing Group, 2015. Book Condition: New. British India. The heart of Calcutta. Two women searching for freedom. For fans of Dinah Jeffries and Victoria Hislop. Num Pages: 352 pages. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 234 x 153. . . 2015. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9781472226099

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Brown, Louise
Published by Headline Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 1472226097 ISBN 13: 9781472226099
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline Publishing Group. Book Condition: New. British India. The heart of Calcutta. Two women searching for freedom. For fans of Dinah Jeffries and Victoria Hislop. Num Pages: 352 pages. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 234 x 153. . . 2015. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9781472226099

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Louise Brown
Published by Headline Review (2015)
ISBN 10: 1472226097 ISBN 13: 9781472226099
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline Review, 2015. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9781472226099

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.51
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Louise Brown
Published by Headline Review
ISBN 10: 1472226097 ISBN 13: 9781472226099
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline Review. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9781472226099

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.24
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Louise Brown
ISBN 10: 1472226097 ISBN 13: 9781472226099
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; Eden Gardens, Calcutta, the 1940s. In a ramshackle house, streets away from the grand colonial mansions of the British, live Maisy, her Mam and their ayah, Pushpa. Whiskey-fuelled and poverty-stricken, Mam entertains officers in the night - a disgrace to British India. All hopes are on beautiful Mai. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9781472226099_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.17
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Brown, Louise
Published by Headline Publishing Group (2015)
ISBN 10: 1472226097 ISBN 13: 9781472226099
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline Publishing Group, 2015. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # GB-9781472226099

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

NA
ISBN 10: 1472226097 ISBN 13: 9781472226099
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST1472226097. Bookseller Inventory # ST1472226097

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 26.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book