Overlay - A Tale of One Girl's Life in 1970s Las Vegas: Memoirs of Marlayna Glynn Brown (Volume 1)

4.02 avg rating
( 1,180 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781475200355: Overlay - A Tale of One Girl's Life in 1970s Las Vegas: Memoirs of Marlayna Glynn Brown (Volume 1)

*2013 Winner of a Next Generation Indie Book Award*
*#1 on Amazon's Highest Rated Memoirs of Authors*


Fans of The Glass Castle, The Liar's Club and Angela's Ashes will appreciate this award-winning true tale of survival and resilience recorded in spare and convincing prose. This memoir describes Marlayna Glynn Brown's turbulent 1970s Las Vegas childhood in a haunting voice of youthful perception.

Born into an ongoing cycle of alcoholism and abandonment amidst fallen adults, Glynn Brown develops a powerful sense of self-preservation in contrast to the people entrusted with her care. Her profound story explores the characters and events populating her life as she moves from home to home, parent to parent, family to family, ultimately becoming homeless at the age of fourteen.

Out of the resources of her remarkable childhood emerges an inner strength that will charm and captivate readers and remain in their consciousness long after the last page of her story has been turned.


"The language of gambling makes an interesting and recurrent motif throughout this memoir, asserting that it is only by chance that any one of us could have traveled this very same road. Decks are shuffled, hands are played. An ultimately uplifting, beautifully written, and inspiring memoir." - Fiona Edmonds

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

**Over 1000 reviews on Goodreads!**

In the bestselling vein of memoirists Jeanette Walls and Frank McCourt, the award-winning author delivers her addicting breakout novel - a mesmerizing memoir epic destined to become a classic.

Set in transient 1970s Las Vegas, OVERLAY is the fighting-to-come-of-age story of a resilient child born into a cycle of alcoholism and abandonment. The author develops a powerful sense of self-preservation in contrast to the fallen adults entrusted with her care. Her profound story explores the characters and events populating her life as she moves from home to home, parent to parent, family to family, ultimately becoming homeless at the age of fourteen.

Out of the resources of her remarkable childhood emerges a gripping inner strength that will charm and captivate readers and remain in their consciousness long after the last page of her story has been turned.

The Glass Castle meets Angela's Ashes meets The Liars' Club in this enlightening tale that has it all: a heartbreaking story, troubled characters, and redemption, making OVERLAY the ultimate memoir of our time.

*2013 Winner of a Next Generation Indie Book Award*

Product Description:

Readers: Please note that the memoir, The Trilogy, contains all three of the author's memoirs: Overlay, City of Angeles and Big as All Hell and Half of Texas.

Set in glamorous 1970s Las Vegas, OVERLAY is the fighting-to-come-of-age story of a resilient child born into an ongoing cycle of alcoholism and abandonment. Marlayna develops a powerful sense of self-preservation in contrast to the fallen adults entrusted with her care. Her profound story explores the characters and events populating her life as she moves from home to home, parent to parent, family to family, ultimately becoming homeless at the age of fourteen. 

Out of the resources of her remarkable childhood emerges an inner strength that will charm and captivate readers and remain in their consciousness long after the last page of her story has been turned.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Marlayna Brown
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN 10: 1475200358 ISBN 13: 9781475200355
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Free State Books
(Halethorpe, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Book shows minor use. Cover and Binding have minimal wear, and the pages have only minimal creases. Bookseller Inventory # G1475200358I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Marlayna Brown
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN 10: 1475200358 ISBN 13: 9781475200355
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blue Cloud Books
(Phoenix, AZ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. Paperback. Book Condition: As New. This book is almost new and shows only very slight signs of wear. Bookseller Inventory # G1475200358I2N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Brown, Marlayna Glynn
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN 10: 1475200358 ISBN 13: 9781475200355
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. Book Condition: Good. Paperback This item shows wear from consistent use but remains in good readable condition. It may have marks on or in it, and may show other signs of previous use or shelf wear. May have minor creases or signs of wear on dust jacket. Packed with care, shipped promptly. Bookseller Inventory # X-015-0244

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 2.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Marlayna Brown
ISBN 10: 1475200358 ISBN 13: 9781475200355
Used Quantity Available: 1
Print on Demand
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Good. * This item is printed on demand * Book Condition: Good. Bookseller Inventory # 97814752003554.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 10.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Brown, Marlayna Glynn
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (2012)
ISBN 10: 1475200358 ISBN 13: 9781475200355
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Nearfine Books
(Brooklyn, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2012. Book Condition: good. A good reading copy. May contain markings or be a withdrawn library copy. Expect delivery in 2-3 weeks. Bookseller Inventory # 9781475200355-4

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 16.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds