Overlay - A Tale of One Girl's Life in 1970s Las Vegas: Memoirs of Marlayna Glynn Brown (Volume 1)

4.01 avg rating
( 1,144 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9781475200355: Overlay - A Tale of One Girl's Life in 1970s Las Vegas: Memoirs of Marlayna Glynn Brown (Volume 1)

*2013 Winner of a Next Generation Indie Book Award*
*#1 on Amazon's Highest Rated Memoirs of Authors*


Fans of The Glass Castle, The Liar's Club and Angela's Ashes will appreciate this award-winning true tale of survival and resilience recorded in spare and convincing prose. This memoir describes Marlayna Glynn Brown's turbulent 1970s Las Vegas childhood in a haunting voice of youthful perception.

Born into an ongoing cycle of alcoholism and abandonment amidst fallen adults, Glynn Brown develops a powerful sense of self-preservation in contrast to the people entrusted with her care. Her profound story explores the characters and events populating her life as she moves from home to home, parent to parent, family to family, ultimately becoming homeless at the age of fourteen.

Out of the resources of her remarkable childhood emerges an inner strength that will charm and captivate readers and remain in their consciousness long after the last page of her story has been turned.


"The language of gambling makes an interesting and recurrent motif throughout this memoir, asserting that it is only by chance that any one of us could have traveled this very same road. Decks are shuffled, hands are played. An ultimately uplifting, beautifully written, and inspiring memoir." - Fiona Edmonds

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Readers: Please note that the memoir, The Trilogy, contains all three of the author's memoirs: Overlay, City of Angeles and Big as All Hell and Half of Texas.

Set in glamorous 1970s Las Vegas, OVERLAY is the fighting-to-come-of-age story of a resilient child born into an ongoing cycle of alcoholism and abandonment. Marlayna develops a powerful sense of self-preservation in contrast to the fallen adults entrusted with her care. Her profound story explores the characters and events populating her life as she moves from home to home, parent to parent, family to family, ultimately becoming homeless at the age of fourteen. 

Out of the resources of her remarkable childhood emerges an inner strength that will charm and captivate readers and remain in their consciousness long after the last page of her story has been turned.

Product Description:

Set in glamorous 1970s Las Vegas, OVERLAY is the fighting-to-come-of-age story of a resilient child born into an ongoing cycle of alcoholism and abandonment. Marlayna develops a powerful sense of self-preservation in contrast to the fallen adults entrusted with her care. Her profound story explores the characters and events populating her life as she moves from home to home, parent to parent, family to family, ultimately becoming homeless at the age of fourteen. 

Out of the resources of her remarkable childhood emerges an inner strength that will charm and captivate readers and remain in their consciousness long after the last page of her story has been turned. 
*2013 Winner of a Next Generation Indie Book Award*

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 14.99
US$ 299.63

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Brown, Marlayna Glynn
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (2012)
ISBN 10: 1475200358 ISBN 13: 9781475200355
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX1475200358

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 299.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds