Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir

3.93 avg rating
( 72 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781476761329: Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir

David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it’s like to report a war up close.

Reporter David Greenway was at the White House the day Kennedy was assassinated. He was in the jungles of Vietnam in that war’s most dangerous days, and left Saigon by helicopter from the American embassy as the city was falling. He was with Sean Flynn when Flynn decided to get an entire New Guinea village high on hash, and with him hours before he disappeared in Cambodia. He escorted John le Carre around South East Asia as he researched The Honourable Schoolboy. He was wounded in Vietnam and awarded a Bronze Star for rescuing a Marine. He was with Sidney Schanberg and Dith Pran in Phnom Penh before the city descended into the killing fields of the Khmer Rouge. Greenway covered Sadat in Jerusalem, civil war and bombing in Lebanon, ethnic cleansing and genocide the Balkans, the Gulf Wars (both), and reported from Afghanistan and Iraq as they collapsed into civil war.

This is a great adventure story—the life of a war correspondent on the front lines for five decades, eye-witness to come of the most violent and heroic scenes in recent history.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

H.D.S. Greenway has reported from 96 countries, and covered conflicts in Pakistan, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Lebanon, Israel, Iraq, Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, and the former Yugoslavia. He has been a contributing columnist for The Boston Globe, The International Herald Tribune, and Global Post, and has been a foreign correspondent for The Washington Post and Time magazine. He lives with his wife, JB Greenway, in Needham, Massachusetts. 

Review:

“An excellent primer to America's history . . . it's also guaranteed to whet any budding, young journalist's desire to cover war in far-flung places.” (Associated Press)

“Passages such as that one—and there are indeed others—are what elevate ‘Foreign Correspondent’ well above the run of the journalistic mill. It’s easy for journalism to turn one into a cynic, but Greenway seems not to have succumbed.” (Jonathan Yardley the Washington Post)

“Greenway’s firsthand experiences add gravitas to his common-sense take on foreign policy. The real strengths of the book, however, are the vivid descriptions of life during wartime.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Greenway tells his story with freshness and color, and becoming touches of humility.” (Columbia Journalism Review)

“With an astute sense of the broader history behind conflicts, Greenway explores the harrowing process of shaking off colonial European powers and fighting for freedom and independence. ... [A] fascinating look at one man’s career and 50 years of war, violence, and adventure.” (Booklist)

“Greenway provides fascinating detail on the day-to-day travails of the foreign correspondent... Frank, seasoned, expert observations on the folly of U.S. military intervention.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“[Greenway] doesn’t just tell war stories (of which he has a million), but he observes the world and analyzes the way it has changed, and continues to change. All of this is delivered in the steady, clear prose of a veteran writer for the Boston Globe and Washington Post. It’s a book to make you fall in love with newspapers all over again.” (Minneapolis Star-Tribune)

“...should be read by journalism students everywhere....Greenway gives a sense of reporting in an era when journalists were truly ‘correspondents,’ sending dispatches to bridge a gap in distance and time. He attentively distinguishes the various cultures of Southeast Asia—Thailand, Laos, Cambodia and, of course, Vietnam. He stayed there until the final day.” (The Wall Street Journal)

“Now we have a memoir that takes the title of Hitchcock’s film and provides a thought-provoking counterpoint to it...Greenway’s memoir is liberally peppered with happy recollections of comradery with fellow correspondents, to whom he throws many bouquets. If these enliven the story, the book’s chief virtue lies in being a succinct primer on post-World War II American foreign policy.” (Boston Globe)

“Greenway has taken a second crack at a ‘first draft of history’ and given us a riveting, smart memoir filled with anecdotes and observations that come from years of reflection. He lets us in on the great secret of a war correspondent. A story is always more devious and complicated than the one written on deadline. Greenway now gives us the real scoop with humor and intelligence; a perspective that comes from mining his dog-eared reporter’s notebooks, some still flecked with dried blood and sweat. He has found remarkable stories. In the White House on the day of the Kennedy assassination, on the last flight out of Vietnam from the roof of the US embassy, Greenway was an eye-witness to momentous events. Fast-forward to Kabul and Baghdad where he observed the chaos of capitals collapsing into civil war. Greenway expands on the skills of a gifted war correspondent to write his personal account of remarkable history.” (Deborah Amos, author of Eclipse of the Sunnis)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Greenway, H.D.S.
ISBN 10: 1476761329 ISBN 13: 9781476761329
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Brand New! Multiple Copies Available! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EY86F00H59W

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Greenway, H.D.S.
Published by Simon & Schuster
ISBN 10: 1476761329 ISBN 13: 9781476761329
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Orion Tech
(Grand Prairie, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1476761329 . Bookseller Inventory # Z1476761329ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Greenway, H.D.S.
Published by Simon & Schuster 2014-08-19 (2014)
ISBN 10: 1476761329 ISBN 13: 9781476761329
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
ThriftTaco
(INDIAN TRAIL, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster 2014-08-19, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1476761329 Brand new and ships pronto! 100% guarantee. Multiple quantites available. Bookseller Inventory # BOOKS66-9781476761329-11-2225

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Greenway, H.D.S.
Published by Simon & Schuster 2014-08-19 (2014)
ISBN 10: 1476761329 ISBN 13: 9781476761329
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftTaco
(INDIAN TRAIL, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster 2014-08-19, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1476761329 Brand new and ships pronto! Multiple quantities available. Bookseller Inventory # B104-9781476761329-11-14091

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Greenway, H.D.S.
Published by Simon & Schuster 2014-08-19 (2014)
ISBN 10: 1476761329 ISBN 13: 9781476761329
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftTaco
(INDIAN TRAIL, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster 2014-08-19, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1476761329 Brand new and ships pronto! 100% Guarantee. Bookseller Inventory # BOOKS35-9781476761329-11-9201

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

H.D.S. Greenway
Published by Simon and Schuster
ISBN 10: 1476761329 ISBN 13: 9781476761329
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon and Schuster. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 1476761329

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Greenway, H. D. S.
ISBN 10: 1476761329 ISBN 13: 9781476761329
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VS-9781476761329

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Greenway, H. D. S.
ISBN 10: 1476761329 ISBN 13: 9781476761329
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9781476761329

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Greenway, H.D.S.
Published by Simon & Schuster
ISBN 10: 1476761329 ISBN 13: 9781476761329
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1476761329 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # NATARAJB1FI770878

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Greenway, H.D.S.
Published by Simon & Schuster (2014)
ISBN 10: 1476761329 ISBN 13: 9781476761329
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 1476761329

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book