Jo Chumas The Hidden

ISBN 13: 9781477848197

The Hidden

3.25 avg rating
( 309 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781477848197: The Hidden

2013 Winner — Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award — Mystery & Thriller

A university professor is brutally murdered in Egypt’s Sinai desert in 1940, leaving behind his new bride, the beautiful young Aimee Ibrahim. As Aimee tries to unravel the web of lies and secrets surrounding her husband’s death, she unwittingly becomes a pawn in a revolutionary plot against Egypt’s king. With the discovery of a twenty-year-old diary, the mystery only deepens. As Aimee gets ever closer to the truth, she discovers startling parallels between her own life and that of the mother she never knew.

Unfolding in the city’s brothels, hashish cafes, and jasmine-scented colonial mansions, The Hidden is a gritty, sensual tale of revolution, betrayal, and the lengths we will go to for love—and truth.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Jo Chumas is a British writer living in Barcelona, Spain. She grew up in Belgium and England, and spent her childhood holidays exploring Europe and North Africa with her parents. She worked for many years as a journalist in Australia, the United Arab Emirates, and the UK while also writing fiction. A profound fascination with early twentieth-century Egyptian political and cultural history led her to write The Hidden.

From Booklist:

Egyptian-history buffs will love this complex story, set in 1940 Cairo, of love, betrayal, and political machinations. A young professor is murdered, and his wife, Aimee, is determined to find out why. Upon cleaning out her husband’s desk at the university, she finds her mother’s diary. Aimee never knew her mother and can’t understand why her husband had the diary. Aimee’s mother, we learn, as the story moves back and forth between the 1940 murder and 1919, the period covered in the diary, was the daughter of Egyptian royalty, forced into an arranged marriage when she was 11 years old. Meanwhile, in the present, there is a political uprising planned to overthrow King Faruk, and spies are everywhere. Both mother and daughter experience violence and political unrest in their lives, as well as love, and their intertwining stories make fascinating reading. Fans of Elizabeth Peters and Wilbur Smith will find much to enjoy here. This novel won the 2013 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award in the Mystery/Thriller category.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Chumas, Jo
Published by Thomas & Mercer
ISBN 10: 1477848193 ISBN 13: 9781477848197
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thomas & Mercer. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1477848193 Ships promptly. Bookseller Inventory # HCI6273KAGG060217H0424

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Chumas, Jo
Published by Thomas & Mercer 2013-10-22 (2013)
ISBN 10: 1477848193 ISBN 13: 9781477848197
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thomas & Mercer 2013-10-22, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 1477848193 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-1477848193

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jo Chumas
Published by Thomas & Mercer (2013)
ISBN 10: 1477848193 ISBN 13: 9781477848197
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thomas & Mercer, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M1477848193

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Chumas, Jo
Published by Thomas & Mercer (2013)
ISBN 10: 1477848193 ISBN 13: 9781477848197
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thomas & Mercer, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 437 pages. 8.00x5.50x1.25 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # 1477848193

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.91
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Chumas, Jo
Published by Thomas & Mercer (2013)
ISBN 10: 1477848193 ISBN 13: 9781477848197
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thomas & Mercer, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P111477848193

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 30.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds