Marie Parsons The Devil's Back

ISBN 13: 9781478742616

The Devil's Back

 
9781478742616: The Devil's Back
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Set in Eastern Kentucky a few years after the infamous Hatfield-McCoy feud, The Devil's Back appeals to a variety of readers. Romantics will find its May-December love story irresistible. Thrill-seekers will delight in its depiction of a daring steamboat race, a home invasion, and a hanging. And linguists will find its use of the Appalachian dialect authentic, charming, and rich in imaginative figures of speech like "cold as a cow's tit in an ice storm." This novel has a number of lovable characters, among them, the protagonists, Adam and Laurey, as well as characters the reader will love to hate, such as Josh Liggins and Claude Thurston. But there are no stereotypical characters in the cast - - all are very human, partaking of good and bad qualities to varying degrees. In the tradition of Lee Smith and Robert Morgan, Parsons has added another gem to Appalachian literature.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

A Kentuckian, born and bred, Marie Parsons knows the Appalachian region of which she writes quite well. She spent most of her college teaching career in her home state. A few years after retiring, she started writing short stories, and soon these stories morphed into a novel, The Devil's Back.

Review:

In her first novel, THE DEVIL'S BACK, Marie Parsons grabs our attention, as she explores the compelling story of Adam and Laurey Moore's May-December marriage.  With spirited comedy, gentle humor, and poignant reflection, the author's roller coaster narrative whips us through a wide range of human experience, and we -- as readers -- emerge enlightened and delighted, as a result.  A moving tale, fueled by a vivid imagination, THE DEVIL'S BACK, is a "must read" for all.

              -- Gwyn Hyman Rubio, author of ICY SPARKS and LOVE AND ORDINARY           
                  CREATURES

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 15.95
US$ 17.36

Convert currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781478740629: The Devil's Back

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1478740620 ISBN 13:  9781478740629
Publisher: Outskirts Press, 2015
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Marie Parsons
Published by Outskirts Press, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 1478742615 ISBN 13: 9781478742616
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Outskirts Press, United States, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.Set in Eastern Kentucky a few years after the infamous Hatfield-McCoy feud, The Devil s Back appeals to a variety of readers. Romantics will find its May-December love story irresistible. Thrill-seekers will delight in its depiction of a daring steamboat race, a home invasion, and a hanging. And linguists will find its use of the Appalachian dialect authentic, charming, and rich in imaginative figures of speech like cold as a cow s tit in an ice storm. This novel has a number of lovable characters, among them, the protagonists, Adam and Laurey, as well as characters the reader will love to hate, such as Josh Liggins and Claude Thurston. But there are no stereotypical characters in the cast - - all are very human, partaking of good and bad qualities to varying degrees. In the tradition of Lee Smith and Robert Morgan, Parsons has added another gem to Appalachian literature. Seller Inventory # AAV9781478742616

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.36
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Marie Parsons
Published by Outskirts Press, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 1478742615 ISBN 13: 9781478742616
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Outskirts Press, United States, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. Set in Eastern Kentucky a few years after the infamous Hatfield-McCoy feud, The Devil s Back appeals to a variety of readers. Romantics will find its May-December love story irresistible. Thrill-seekers will delight in its depiction of a daring steamboat race, a home invasion, and a hanging. And linguists will find its use of the Appalachian dialect authentic, charming, and rich in imaginative figures of speech like cold as a cow s tit in an ice storm. This novel has a number of lovable characters, among them, the protagonists, Adam and Laurey, as well as characters the reader will love to hate, such as Josh Liggins and Claude Thurston. But there are no stereotypical characters in the cast - - all are very human, partaking of good and bad qualities to varying degrees. In the tradition of Lee Smith and Robert Morgan, Parsons has added another gem to Appalachian literature. Seller Inventory # AAV9781478742616

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Parsons, Marie
Published by Outskirts Press (2015)
ISBN 10: 1478742615 ISBN 13: 9781478742616
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Outskirts Press, 2015. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9781478742616

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Parsons, Marie
Published by Outskirts Press 1/27/2015 (2015)
ISBN 10: 1478742615 ISBN 13: 9781478742616
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Outskirts Press 1/27/2015, 2015. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. The Devil's Back. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9781478742616

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.54
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Marie Parsons
ISBN 10: 1478742615 ISBN 13: 9781478742616
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
ReadWhiz
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # ria9781478742616_ing

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.93
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Parsons, Marie
Published by Outskirts Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 1478742615 ISBN 13: 9781478742616
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Print on Demand
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Outskirts Press, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. PRINT ON DEMAND Book; New; Publication Year 2016; Not Signed; Fast Shipping from the UK. No. book. Seller Inventory # ria9781478742616_lsuk

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.33
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.93
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Marie Parsons
Published by Outskirts Press
ISBN 10: 1478742615 ISBN 13: 9781478742616
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Outskirts Press. Paperback. Condition: New. 296 pages. Dimensions: 8.9in. x 6.0in. x 0.9in.Set in Eastern Kentucky a few years after the infamous Hatfield-McCoy feud, The Devils Back appeals to a variety of readers. Romantics will find its May-December love story irresistible. Thrill-seekers will delight in its depiction of a daring steamboat race, a home invasion, and a hanging. And linguists will find its use of the Appalachian dialect authentic, charming, and rich in imaginative figures of speech like cold as a cows tit in an ice storm. This novel has a number of lovable characters, among them, the protagonists, Adam and Laurey, as well as characters the reader will love to hate, such as Josh Liggins and Claude Thurston. But there are no stereotypical characters in the cast - - all are very human, partaking of good and bad qualities to varying degrees. In the tradition of Lee Smith and Robert Morgan, Parsons has added another gem to Appalachian literature. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Seller Inventory # 9781478742616

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.42
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Marie Parsons
Published by Outskirts Press (2015)
ISBN 10: 1478742615 ISBN 13: 9781478742616
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Outskirts Press, 2015. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1478742615

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.42
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Marie Parsons
Published by Outskirts Press (2015)
ISBN 10: 1478742615 ISBN 13: 9781478742616
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Outskirts Press, 2015. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 4 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9781478742616

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.04
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.47
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Parsons, Marie
Published by Outskirts Press
ISBN 10: 1478742615 ISBN 13: 9781478742616
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Outskirts Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1478742615 Special order direct from the distributor. Seller Inventory # ING9781478742616

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book