Jason Rapczynski MFA: The Novel

ISBN 13: 9781479145027

MFA: The Novel

4.6 avg rating
( 5 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781479145027: MFA: The Novel

John is an alcoholic writer who drinks to keep writing and writes to keep drinking. While studying for his MFA at Emerson College, he records his day-to-day existence in the city of Boston, writes about his experiences in workshops and dive bars, and reads literary biographies. Of the seven American-born writers awarded the Nobel Prize, five were alcoholics, and he follows their staggered footsteps into a cycle of recurring situations, volatile relationships, and similarly disturbing encounters that threatens to push him over the edge. He might be gathering a wealth of material for his autobiographical thesis—but will he survive to actually complete the program? Full of seedy sex scenes, rebellion, dysfunction, dark humor and self-destruction, MFA is a defining installment in the gritty genre of transgressive fiction. “Rapczynski does it again with MFA: plunges us into the seedy underbelly—this time in the form of a young alcoholic whose drinking, sex life, and ambitions are equally promiscuous. In the tradition of Charles Bukowski, Jack Kerouac, and William Burroughs, in MFA the narrator rises above his narrative—sharp, witty, sad, and grimily real—so we can’t help but like and feel for him. Read it and weep.” —Elizabeth Inness-Brown, author of Burning Marguerite

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Jason Rapczynski is a writer, rare book dealer, and one-time radio copywriter living near New Haven, Connecticut. He graduated from Saint Michael's College in 2001, earned his MFA in creative writing from Emerson College in 2005, and is a member of the Delta Sigma Epsilon National Scholastic Honor Society. He was born in 1978, and this is his first novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Rapczynski, Jason
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publis (2017)
ISBN 10: 1479145025 ISBN 13: 9781479145027
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publis, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Bookseller Inventory # 1479145025

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Rapczynski, Jason; Lassen, Jennifer L. [Illustrator]
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (2012)
ISBN 10: 1479145025 ISBN 13: 9781479145027
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # INGM9781479145027

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Rapczynski, Jason
ISBN 10: 1479145025 ISBN 13: 9781479145027
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days.THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IP-9781479145027

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Jason Rapczynski
Published by Createspace, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 1479145025 ISBN 13: 9781479145027
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Createspace, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Jennifer L Lassen (illustrator). Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. John is an alcoholic writer who drinks to keep writing and writes to keep drinking. While studying for his MFA at Emerson College, he records his day-to-day existence in the city of Boston, writes about his experiences in workshops and dive bars, and reads literary biographies. Of the seven American-born writers awarded the Nobel Prize, five were alcoholics, and he follows their staggered footsteps into a cycle of recurring situations, volatile relationships, and similarly disturbing encounters that threatens to push him over the edge. He might be gathering a wealth of material for his autobiographical thesis-but will he survive to actually complete the program? Full of seedy sex scenes, rebellion, dysfunction, dark humor and self-destruction, MFA is a defining installment in the gritty genre of transgressive fiction. Rapczynski does it again with MFA: plunges us into the seedy underbelly-this time in the form of a young alcoholic whose drinking, sex life, and ambitions are equally promiscuous. In the tradition of Charles Bukowski, Jack Kerouac, and William Burroughs, in MFA the narrator rises above his narrative-sharp, witty, sad, and grimily real-so we can t help but like and feel for him. Read it and weep. -Elizabeth Inness-Brown, author of Burning Marguerite. Bookseller Inventory # APC9781479145027

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 26.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Jason Rapczynski
Published by Createspace, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 1479145025 ISBN 13: 9781479145027
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Createspace, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Jennifer L Lassen (illustrator). Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.John is an alcoholic writer who drinks to keep writing and writes to keep drinking. While studying for his MFA at Emerson College, he records his day-to-day existence in the city of Boston, writes about his experiences in workshops and dive bars, and reads literary biographies. Of the seven American-born writers awarded the Nobel Prize, five were alcoholics, and he follows their staggered footsteps into a cycle of recurring situations, volatile relationships, and similarly disturbing encounters that threatens to push him over the edge. He might be gathering a wealth of material for his autobiographical thesis-but will he survive to actually complete the program? Full of seedy sex scenes, rebellion, dysfunction, dark humor and self-destruction, MFA is a defining installment in the gritty genre of transgressive fiction. Rapczynski does it again with MFA: plunges us into the seedy underbelly-this time in the form of a young alcoholic whose drinking, sex life, and ambitions are equally promiscuous. In the tradition of Charles Bukowski, Jack Kerouac, and William Burroughs, in MFA the narrator rises above his narrative-sharp, witty, sad, and grimily real-so we can t help but like and feel for him. Read it and weep. -Elizabeth Inness-Brown, author of Burning Marguerite. Bookseller Inventory # APC9781479145027

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 27.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Rapczynski, Jason
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN 10: 1479145025 ISBN 13: 9781479145027
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1479145025 Special order direct from the distributor. Bookseller Inventory # ING9781479145027

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Rapczynski, Jason
ISBN 10: 1479145025 ISBN 13: 9781479145027
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our US warehouse in 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND.Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IP-9781479145027

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Jason Rapczynski
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN 10: 1479145025 ISBN 13: 9781479145027
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Jennifer L. Lassen (illustrator). This item is printed on demand. 592 pages. Dimensions: 9.0in. x 6.0in. x 1.3in.John is an alcoholic writer who drinks to keep writing and writes to keep drinking. While studying for his MFA at Emerson College, he records his day-to-day existence in the city of Boston, writes about his experiences in workshops and dive bars, and reads literary biographies. Of the seven American-born writers awarded the Nobel Prize, five were alcoholics, and he follows their staggered footsteps into a cycle of recurring situations, volatile relationships, and similarly disturbing encounters that threatens to push him over the edge. He might be gathering a wealth of material for his autobiographical thesisbut will he survive to actually complete the program Full of seedy sex scenes, rebellion, dysfunction, dark humor and self-destruction, MFA is a defining installment in the gritty genre of transgressive fiction. Rapczynski does it again with MFA: plunges us into the seedy underbellythis time in the form of a young alcoholic whose drinking, sex life, and ambitions are equally promiscuous. In the tradition of Charles Bukowski, Jack Kerouac, and William Burroughs, in MFA the narrator rises above his narrativesharp, witty, sad, and grimily realso we cant help but like and feel for him. Read it and weep. Elizabeth Inness-Brown, author of Burning Marguerite This item ships from La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Bookseller Inventory # 9781479145027

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 35.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Rapczynski, Jason
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publis (2017)
ISBN 10: 1479145025 ISBN 13: 9781479145027
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Print on Demand
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publis, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Bookseller Inventory # P111479145025

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 46.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds