Laurel Saville Henry and Rachel

ISBN 13: 9781480516519

Henry and Rachel

3.29 avg rating
( 233 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781480516519: Henry and Rachel

Sent to live with a wealthy family on a West Indies plantation, Rachel carries with her a past shrouded in mystery. Drawn to her grit and fortitude, charming widower and fanciful inventor Henry is willing to overlook the vague explanations about her history. But after years of marriage, Rachel leaves Henry and their oldest son without explanation and sets off for New York City with their other four children. Is her flight the ultimate act of betrayal or one of extraordinary courage? Using real family letters, Laurel Saville reconstructs the secrets, tensions, and longings surrounding Rachel in this densely layered, poignant novel.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Laurel Saville is an award-winning author of numerous books, articles, essays, and short fiction. Her work has appeared in the LA Times Magazine, The Bark, NYTimes.com, Good Housekeeping, The Bennington Review, Ellipses, House Beautiful, POL/Oxygen, Room, Seven Days, and other publications. She holds an MFA from The Bennington Writer's Seminars and lives and writes near Seattle. She is also a corporate communications consultant, has taught at the College of St. Rose and Western Connecticut State University, and spoken at a variety of colleges and writing conferences including AWP, Pacific Northwest Writers Association, and the Whidbey Writers Conference. 

Her memoir of her mother's colorful life in the midst of LA's arts and hippie heyday and her tragic decline to a murdered street person, "Unraveling Anne," won the memoir category of the Indie Book Awards and was a runner-up to the Grand Prize winner at the Hollywood Book Festival.



Joyce Bean is an accomplished audiobook narrator and director. In addition to being an AudioFile Earphones Award winner, she has been nominated multiple times for a prestigious Audie Award. Equally adept at narrating fiction and nonfiction, her titles include Blue Diary by Alice Hoffman, Blue Smoke by Nora Roberts, and several Jayne Ann Krentz novels. Joyce lives in West Michigan.

From Booklist:

Henry never expected to fall in love again after his wife died in childbirth. Their courtship, marriage, and honeymoon all passed in the blink of an eye, and his heart still ached for her. Still, the West Indies was full of eligible women, and Henry dutifully attended a variety of social events. It wasn’t until he laid eyes on Rachel, the mysterious girl employed by Mr. George, that he believed his heart could be full again. Years later, when Rachel and their children flee the home they shared, Henry is forced to pick up the pieces of his life and finally discover the truth about Rachel. Saville used primary sources found in old letters to flesh out Henry and Rachel, the touching story of a couple’s shared betrayals, discoveries, and reconnections. Saville allows readers to gradually piece together Rachel’s history by breaking up the chronology of the story through flashbacks and alternate narrators. Fans of Anita Shreve and Gaynor Arnold will enjoy Saville’s poetic, lyrical voice, and the lush West Indies provide a gorgeous setting for this tender, poignant debut novel. —Stephanie Turza

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book

Shipping: US$ 7.89
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Saville, Laurel
Published by Brilliance Audio (2013)
ISBN 10: 1480516511 ISBN 13: 9781480516519
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Brilliance Audio, 2013. Compact Disc. Book Condition: Brand New. mp3 una edition. 7.50x5.37x0.50 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # 1480516511

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 42.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.89
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds